Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent update of a classic series
Have to say some of the reviews of this film posted here so far have been ridiculously wide of the mark - although by no means a stone cold classic this big screen updating of the superb 60's TV series is certainly nowhere as bad as some would have you believe.
In fact it's a pretty decent, if flawed, attempt to take the essence of the Hanna Barbera series and bring...
Published 18 months ago by Tim Fernandez

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Top Cat: The Movie review
The results for remakes are mixed. Some work well and some are poor. Does Top Cat: The Movie work well? Having watched Top Cat, I would say it does not beat the original series of the 1960s. Top Cat holds an iconic place as one of the finest cartoons during the decade. Hanna Barbera is renowned for bringing household cartoons to our screen. I am glad it has remained...
Published 17 months ago by P. DATTA


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Top Cat: The Movie review, 2 Nov 2012
By 
P. DATTA "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Cat: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
The results for remakes are mixed. Some work well and some are poor. Does Top Cat: The Movie work well? Having watched Top Cat, I would say it does not beat the original series of the 1960s. Top Cat holds an iconic place as one of the finest cartoons during the decade. Hanna Barbera is renowned for bringing household cartoons to our screen. I am glad it has remained faithful in retaining the original cartoon style of Top Cat in the 21st century, rather than switching to CGI. It is nice to see the original features included in the updated version of Top Cat. All the original characters are featured. I really love the dialogues and gags between Top Cat's adversary Officer Chief Dibble and the cats in the opening sequences. This is one of my favourite moments of the animation. Top Cat comes across as charming and mischievous. The animation is in line to modern times, as you are about to observe. Depsite a few positves, the storyline let the animation down. It is far too predictable and gets a very boring following a promising start for at least twenty minuites. I do not like the nonsense of the modern gimmicks. It really spoilt the storyline to some extent. Why not stick to the jokes and witty of the original series? To me, the modern version lacks the simplicity and grace as the original series. There is humour, but not on same level as the original series. Today generation of kids would enjoy Top Cat, as it is designed for kids. As a 34 years old brought up with the animation, I am critical about it similiar to other reviewers. There are plus points and flaws with Top Cat; The Movie. On fair reflection, I would reward three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent update of a classic series, 21 Oct 2012
By 
Tim Fernandez (Preston, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Cat: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Have to say some of the reviews of this film posted here so far have been ridiculously wide of the mark - although by no means a stone cold classic this big screen updating of the superb 60's TV series is certainly nowhere as bad as some would have you believe.
In fact it's a pretty decent, if flawed, attempt to take the essence of the Hanna Barbera series and bring it up to date. Not everything works but overall it does manage to capture some of the best elements of the original show. One key area where it does succeed in, for example is with Top Cat himself, which was always going to be vital for the film to work at all. Jason Harris does a pretty decent job in conjuring up both the voice and wise guy persona of the original TC, and the same can be said for the updating of his sidekicks Choo Choo and the unforgettable Benny. To those who have slated the new voices in this film, I'd suggest you check out the original series and you'll find they're a lot closer than you think.
What lets the film down though is the animation, which seems to have fallen between two stools - you can clearly see the filmmakers have tried hard to stay faithful to the two dimensional look of the original series but this approach just ends up jarring with the more modern CGI effects that are thrown in (the opening helicopter sequence demonstrates this clearly for example).
There are some nice touches elsewhere though, such as the return of TC's old canine adversary from the TV series Griswald and the presence of a suitably slimy (and loathsome) villain in Strickland.
It's also worth mentioning that my 7 old son loved the movie when he saw it in the cinema and has since become a big fan of the original TV series - always a sign that a big screen update must have done something right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, 12 Nov 2013
Described by my little girl, 8, as "the worst film ever". We went to the cinema to see this on the Saturday morning kids Club. It was 1 each and I still felt ripped off.
The story is boring and forgetful. Nowhere near as good as the Top Cat original cartoons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars top cat, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
me and the kids were really looking forward to this film, if your like me and remember the cartoon series, well, the film doesn't really cut it, but all in all a fair film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok if you don't mind different voices, 15 Dec 2012
By 
Helena Gray "fun lady" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Cat: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
My grandchildren soon got fed up with it as it doesn't sound the same as the original series on T.V. If you have never seen the original it's ok I suppose but I wasn't that impressed. With respect to the packing/delivery, this was spot on so could recommend supplier for this but not the movie!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you grew up with Top Cat, you may be disappointed, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought that this would be a fun movie, having previously been pleasantly surprised by Yogi Bear. Unfortunately Top Cat just didn't quite cut it. For children who have no idea or experience of the original TV series, they it would probably be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont bother, 19 Jan 2014
By 
Mr G. (Glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
3d what 3d ? characters are 2d flat poor storyline ,very dissappointed.nothing like the original top cat.waste of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Top Cat, 16 Aug 2013
By 
H. Renshaw "Heulwen Renshaw" (Anglesey, North Wales. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Cat: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Years ago I used to think Top Cat was one of the best cartoons on TV, now whether my taste has eccelerated to a faster, or quicker pace, I think it was slow. Now that's just my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish film !, 4 Mar 2013
Wish I hadn't bought it as it was rubbish. Even though I remember the original series I expected the graphics to have advanced . They could have made it so much better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3d topcat, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Helen M. Sullivan "chelseapig" (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent film - took me back to my childhood - 3d not very good - it just consisted of cardboard cutout pictures on top of each other to give a 3d effect - film certainly worth watching though if you want to travel back in time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb08ec9e4)

This product

Top Cat: The Movie [DVD]
Top Cat: The Movie [DVD] by Alberto Mar (DVD - 2012)
3.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews