Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They'll never top this.
This show gave me one of the most satisfying television experiences I've ever encountered. It has action, drama, police procedural, sci-fi, csi type stuff, there's a decent romance in there and bags of fun from the multi-talented John Noble as Dr Walter Bishop. I'm re-watching the show from the beginning and currently at mid season three where Anna Torv as Olivia Dunham...
Published 9 months ago by Steven

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fringe-binge... and make it work
A bit uneven, but a new acting hero for we olders who dream of chewing scenery: John Noble. Alternate timelines and an alternate universe with a series ending which doesn't work at first glance, but look deeper and the answers are there.

It's bordering on criminal that the show only aired in UK behind a paywall, because the creators and participating artists...
Published 5 months ago by Jpofgwynedd


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Show!, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Fringe is an unusual but brilliant Sci-Fi show.
It tells the story of a small unit within the F.B.I called Fringe division.
Here they deal with very rare unexplainable events that stretch the imagination.
Olivia Dunham played by Anna Torv decides to seek help in the form of a disgraced scientist, Walter Bishop who resides in an insane asylum. She can only get his help with the assistance of his son, Peter Bishop and so the team comes together.
They reopen Walter’s old basement laboratory, complete with a cow in the corner.
Fringe has a story running throughout the series as well as individual episodes. The series concludes in the final episode of the last series and completes the show perfectly.
It is weird, with dark comedy, exciting action, and it has a few frightening moments as well.
Great, innovative writing, wonderful acting and a different approach to Sci-fi make this an unbeatable combination.
I doubt you’ll be disappointed.
Fantastic show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Sci-Fi Show of the 21st Century!, 19 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Fringe - The Complete Series [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Where do I even start with a series as good as this?

Fringe started its run on Sky 1 (or Fox if you're in America) about 5 years ago. It has consistently been one of the most highly praised television programmes running to date. Why? Well it's quite simple really, the ingenious writing style and one John Nobel.
It's a show with so much depth and class that one cannot simply ignore to mention its existence. It has the budget value of a modern blockbuster film, but the writing of a well thought out Sci-Fi Thriller. You truly get the best of both worlds with this series, great characters, outstanding acting from everyone involved, brilliant intelligent stories as-well as a dark and fascinating underlying story arch that stretches from the beginning of the show right up until the very final episode.

You have a good 100 episodes to play with here, enjoy it for what it is, let it take you into its world, and most importantly, savour every minute of it!
Fringe...The greatest Sci-Fi Show since Star Trek and The X-Files.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extras and subtitles, 7 May 2013
By 
Adamo Giovanni Alex (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fringe - The Complete Series [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Fringe. What to say? An incredible series. After having started watching Doctor Who after planet of the dead aired in uk I started expanding on scifi series and after a while I stumbled on this one. Started watching on tv I immediatly loved it. The story is amazing. The actors all incredible. Walter Olivia Peter and all the others.. don't even know where to start there is so much to talk. Episode after episodes of incredible cases and misteries, like the bald guys. Who are they? Why are they here? Why are they mentioned in a few frames of the opening titles? You progress through the story and more and more questions gets added till the ending of the series. Every episode is amazing. The past keeps returning. Can't say much to avoid spoilering people reading this but a must buy for scifi lovers like me. A unique package with all the series in dvd/blueray for a cheap price.
Following is the complete list of the Extras, audio and subtitles.

Season 1 to 4

Audio: English
Subtitles: English, English for hearing impaired, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish

Season 5

Audio: English
Subtitles: English, English for hearing impaired

Season 1

Extras:
Fringe: Deciphering the Scene: sidebars on every episode
Dissected files: Unaired scenes
The Massive Undertaking: Docupods on select episodes
Unusual Side Effects: Gag reel
Roberto Orci's Production Diary
Gene the Cow

Blu Ray exclusive (Only BD-Live): Commentary track for the final episode, "There's More than One of Everything," with writers Jeff Pinkner, J.R. Orci, Akiva Goldsman, and Bryan Burk
Blu Ray exclusive: Fringe Pattern Analysis

Season 2

The Unearthed Episode
The Mythology of Fringe
Fringe: Analyzing the scene sidebars on six key episodes
In the lab with John Noble and prop master Rob Smith
Commentary on four episodes by series stars and creative team
Unusual Side Effects: Gag reel
Dissected Files: Unaired scenes

Blu Ray exclusive: none

Season 3

Duality of Worlds: Four featurettes exploring The Other You, Visualizing an Alternate World, A Machine of Destiny and The Psychology of Duality
Animating the "Lysergic Acid Diethylamide" Episode
Constructing an Extrasensory Soundscape
Experience "Os" (Episode 316) in Selectable Maximum Episode Mode with Pop-Up Experience-Enhancing Commentaries and Featurettes
Commentary on "The Plateau" with Monica Owusu-Breen, Jeff Pinkner and Timothy Good
Commentary on "Lysergic Acid Diethylamide" with Jay Worth, Luyen Vu, and Tanya Swerling
Unusual Side Effects: Gag Reel
Trailers

Blu Ray exclusive: Maximum Episode Mode: Glimmer to the Other Side

Season 4

A World Without Peter: Insights into how the absence of Peter Bishop impacts the Fringe world
The Observers: Explore how season 4 goes deeper into the mythology of the mysterious Observers
Beyond the Comic Book: With an introduction by series star Joshua Jackson and Executive Producers J.H Wyman and Jeff Pinkner about the inception of the comic book Beyond the Fringe: Peter and the Machine
Digi comic excerpt from the comic book Beyond the Fringe: Peter and the Machine

Blu Ray exclusive: The Culture of Fringe--A discussion of the science and moral implications of the series
Blu Ray exclusive: Have you seen Walter lately? Favourite Walter moments

Season 5

A Farewell to "Fringe" (Featurette)
"Fringe" Panel at Comic-Con 2012
Digital script of Final Episode
Producer Commentary
Gag Reel
Unaired scenes

Blu Ray exclusive: none known
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best SF television series I have watched since Babylon 5, 15 Mar. 2015
By 
Call me Al (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fringe - The Complete Series [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
After renting four discs of the first season of Fringe, without hesitation I purchased the box set of this brilliant SF television series. The chance to discover such a gem was the prime reason for signing up to LOVEFILM. The overall plotting throughout the five seasons is masterful as each episode contributes to an impressive well thought-out narrative arc. The SF elements and unexpected twists are often jaw dropping as the fringe of science is explored as well as the moral issues associated with expanding our knowledge and understanding of the universe. However, it is the relationships between the main characters which make this programme such a wonderful experience as it teases out what it truly is to be human. Fringe is so addictive and compelling that I will definitely be watching it again before very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great science fiction, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fringe - The Complete Series [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I came across Fringe after it was recommended by the folk on the 'Incomparable' podcast (who have never led me astray).

Season one starts off as an 'X-Files' type cop show, but then it morphs into something far more interesting. A great cast creating some great characters. If you ever had a favourite 'mad scientist' before, be prepared to hand the crown to Walter Bishop.

A little gory in places (frequent body horror) but it's not a splatter-fest.

If you're interested in watching, I'd advise you to be careful in researching the show as most sites devoted to Fringe are spoiler minefields.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They'll never top this., 21 Oct. 2014
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fringe - The Complete Series [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This show gave me one of the most satisfying television experiences I've ever encountered. It has action, drama, police procedural, sci-fi, csi type stuff, there's a decent romance in there and bags of fun from the multi-talented John Noble as Dr Walter Bishop. I'm re-watching the show from the beginning and currently at mid season three where Anna Torv as Olivia Dunham is performing as both herself and her otherworld doppleganger is a real treat. I marvel at the slight differences between her two incarnations, the crooked smile, the sassy walk, just sublime. The sets look great, the individual story's are inventive and the overarching story arc is hugely interesting. I know season five was a rushed effort for the fans and lots of things don't bare close examination, but I'm still looking forward to watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This can be the "Fringe" of something big., 10 Aug. 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I came to this series just looking for a time filler. I found my time filler and more. They hit the deck running and pull no punches so it does not take long to realize if you want to watch the series or not.

We start out with an inexplicable and mysterious problem. The public can never know but there may be some sort of diabolical cabal behind this problem. FBI agent Olivia Dunham (Anna Torv) is recruited to help track down the culprits. She is out of her depth in the science behind the problem and needs the help of an extraordinary institutionalized scientist Dr. Walter Bishop (John Noble) to help decipher the problem. Unfortunately Walter is not allowed to go out by himself so Olivia must also recruit his son Peter Bishop (Joshua Jackson) who also helps her and us interpret Walter's thoughts and fringe technology.

"Fringe" uses the standard go on forever series formula. First there is the immediate episode problem it either starts out at the front end or gets built up very shortly then we have our antagonist(s) usually temporary for this episode. We usually find that he has a good excuse to be a bad guy and we can empathize but they have to clean up the situation and live happily ever after. Laid over this is the extended series problem we get everything from vague hints to gratuitous gore. The antagonists (some likably evil) for the series sections may or may not die can mysteriously be written to come back and whose purposes are never totally explained so that we must watch the rest of the series. The advantage of having a "Fringe" sci-fi theme is that when they paint themselves into a corner the next episode just rewrites from another angle as if the corner never existed; this way we have multiple seasons without any problem of having to tie up loose ends or lose main characters.

You can buy the season separate or in different bundles. Some people worry about the cost of doing it one way or the other. The reality is how fast you are going to look at this. Are you going to have a Fringe marathon till your eyes bug out or use it as an occasional night out? Do the times, do the cost, and do the math.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Series that will be missed!!, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a superb series!!

Loved this from the very first episode....and enjoying again on 'Blu-ray' every night!!

I always wanted to have another show to look forward to each week which was similar to the the 'X Files' but never thought anything would come close. Bring on 'Fringe' from the very first episode I knew this was going to be something special.

It has all the main ingredients from the x files with some great 'monster of the week' episodes like the 'XF' aswell as the ongoing story arc between the 3 main characters to which are all brilliant, especially 'Walter Bishop' who makes the show.
There have been some truly moving episodes throughout the whole series with some fantastic funny moments thrown in especially the interaction between 'Walter/Peter' & the love interest between 'Peter/Olivia' is just fantastic!
'Fringe' got better and better as it went on and luckily was given the opportunity to end properly rather than in mid air like most cancelled U.S shows.

All in all a superb series and one I will miss dearly!

*** Blu Ray quality is great too!! ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 9 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Fringe - The Complete Series [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I have just finished watching the final season it is without doubt one of the best series I have ever watched. I love Walter's quirky character and the way he interacts with Peter and Astrid. Fantastic plots, and twist and turns in every episode. I urge fans of sci fi and any other genre to watch this, you will not be disappointed! I wish it could go on for ever and so sad I have finished it - now where is my series one I am off to watch it all all again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fringeworthy, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fringe - The Complete Series [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
For quite a long time, TV executives had been trying for a while to find a new X-Files, capturing the public's imagination and showing that the truth is out there. Fringe outdoes the X-Files - the truth is WAY out there, in alternate universes.

What starts out as a slightly mutated police procedural with added mad scientist, and "mystery-of-the-week"-style episodes. develops into a seriously convoluted story arc, with the plot flitting between the two main universes and their inhabitants (the same but different). More science fiction than the X-Files, but with plenty to satisfy horror fans; JJ Abrams is a very clever man; he knows what the public wants.

This is a series that rarely hits a bum note, and unlike Lost actually has a satisfactory conclusion,. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fringe - The Complete Series [DVD] [2013]
£44.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews