Customer Reviews


231 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be a better man than your father...
Please note that I won't pretend to be impartial, but this is just my opinion. Personally, I've always loved Fringe, and think this final run has been tremendous, but I know that many haven't been as enamoured. All I can encourage you to do is buy the DVD and try it for yourself. I'll try and give you an idea of what to expect, whilst being as spoiler-free as...
Published on 19 Jan. 2013 by HomicidalZenBuddhist

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars high production drivel
13 episodes instead of the usual 20, and you get the feeling even here they're stretching thin ideas to fill the space. Overall impression is that they're making it up as they go along, so long as it fits with everything that has gone before. We've missed the invasion and skipped 20 years into the future and somehow the "team" has managed to go into hiding and...
Published 3 months ago by F. M. Havicon


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be a better man than your father..., 19 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Fringe: Season 5 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Please note that I won't pretend to be impartial, but this is just my opinion. Personally, I've always loved Fringe, and think this final run has been tremendous, but I know that many haven't been as enamoured. All I can encourage you to do is buy the DVD and try it for yourself. I'll try and give you an idea of what to expect, whilst being as spoiler-free as possible.

To put it delicately, this Final Season of Fringe has proven to be very divisive, the time-jump into the future aside. In opting to focus more on the quiet emotional moments between the main characters, the series' trademark streak of weird and wonderful craziness has been toned down a little, leading many to claim this last 13-episode run has been 'boring'. I respectfully disagree. It's these little moments between characters that have always made Fringe more than just another throwaway sci-fi series. 'Weird science' may be what Fringe started off as being about, but since then it has matured into quite a brilliant family-related drama, and a thought-provoking discussion on the relationship between pure emotion and pure intellect, technology and faith, the old and the new, the unknown and the conventional. But above all it has been about the relationship between father and son, between Walter and Peter, and that is where this Final Season places its focus. It goes for the emotional jugular, without sacrificing its intellectual integrity, and it connects. It provides satisfying answers to long-standing questions without feeling as if the writers are simply painting-by-the-numbers. It's difficult to create an ending that feels fitting both plot-wise and emotionally, but somehow they managed it.

This Season eschews the traditional Monster-of-the-Week format the show has typically followed in favour of telling one long overarching narrative, that starts and ends with a bang. This might be jarring at first, but Fringe never forgets what it is, and the constant callbacks to previous events serve to tie the series' mythology and themes together neatly. This Final Season borrows liberally from classic dystopian science-fiction, with Orwell's '1984' clearly being a very big influence. But it never feels derivative - it takes these ideas and runs with them, and creates something new.

It needs to be said that none of this would have half the impact it does without solid acting behind it. So, this is the part where I say that yes, it is most definitely a pan-universal crime that John Noble has not been awarded the Emmy he deserves. His talent has not only been the anchor to this series, but his performance has created perhaps my favourite fictional character of all time. Walter is funny, heartbreaking, tragic and endearing, and I really don't think anyone else could have pulled off such a character so well for so long, all versions included. And while I single Noble out, all of the cast brought their A-game this year. Such complex material would've been wasted on a lesser cast, and they gave it their all. It speaks for itself.

All in all, a well-crafted, thrilling and fitting ending to a much-beloved, little-known series. Week by week, Fringe has been a quietly intelligent, beautiful science-fiction tale. Yes, there's a little gruesome body horror here and there, but that's more of an extra, isn't it? Long-time fans will find much to love here - this season has really been about them - and even newcomers will be able to enjoy it. This is one to treasure. Fringe has been my "favourite thing". Thank you, to all involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally someone got it right!!!, 27 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Fringe: Season 5 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
One of the best scifi series ever made for tv so naturally I was that much more apprehensive they would mess it up right at the end, like so many of its predecessors, Lost and Battlestar Galactica coming to mind first and foremost, well, my mind anyway. But I didn't have to worry, the creators of Fringe did a wonderful job and gave a great sendoff to the characters that I became so fond of over the years. Like many have already said before me, it does constitute a criminal injustice that John Noble hasn't received just about every tv acting award in existence for an acting performance that has been so consistently fantastic that it would lead me to say the best television acting performance I have ever been lucky enough to have been witness to and I have seen many many tv series the last 40 years.
Not that I won't miss the other regulars as well, I never had the pleasure of loving two characters in one series that were played by the same performer, fantastic job Anna Torv. Joshua Jackson was equally great, this last season no exception, though I was relieved that this season, when there is a major twist to his character, my worries of where the central plot for his character would take him because of it proved unfounded.
The season's final is just perfect, so well balanced in tone, emotion and suspense, I could only give a big sigh at the end of it, both of satisfaction that it was everything and more than I had hoped for as well as sadness that I'd just seen the final moments of a series I had loved so much.
Thank you all involved for these 5 years, you contributed in creating an oasis in the tv landscape desert we find ourselves in so often.
And yes, that includes kudos to Fox for sticking with this series and its fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a perfect ending, 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a perfect way to complete the collection of arguably the best show ever to appear on television. This box set of s5 is the same style as prior seasons. The quality of the presentation, along with HD quality of the episodes is pretty flawless. It now sits snugly in my vast BR collection, under the letter F, side by side with s1-s4. Just a perfect collection if high quality tv , all in the one place, perfect !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent story, but is it Fringe?, 19 Jun. 2013
By 
Squirr-El (The Metropolis, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This seems more like a Fringe spin-off series than Fringe itself. The original Fringe storyline ended with season 3, as the two parallel-universes were closed off and the time line for ‘our’ universe adjusted to delete Peter Bishop. The fourth series featured Peter trying to reintegrate himself into the timeline, which he achieved by the end of the season, with (from memory here) both Olivia and Walter ‘remembering’ the old time-line. The season then ended with a ‘flash-forward’ twenty years to a world invaded and conquered by the Observers, where the original Fringe team had been put in suspended animation in Amber, and who were now rediscovered and released by the ‘Resistance’ movement, specifically by Peter and (the missing) Olivia’s now grown-up daughter.

Season Five tells the story of the Fringe team’s struggle against the Observers, as they hunt for the missing Olivia, and then for the hidden components of Walter’s plan to defeat the invaders. Walter, who has had his missing brain-tissue reinstalled, had worked out a plan with September, the ‘friendly’ Observer back at the time of the invasion, but now can’t remember what it was. Fortunately, he recorded a series of instructions on Betamax tapes…

Familiar characters, though twenty years older make appearances, as the team slowly uncovers the means to overthrow the enemy, though as they do, they suffer a death in the family, which makes them even more determined to win the war. They slowly become the terrorists they originally fought, unleashing the old Fringe technology on the Observers to further their plans, including a trip to the ‘other side’. It may be an deliberate or it may be an unintentional aspect of the story, but they in effect become the equivalent of religious fundamentalists in their belief/faith that achieving ‘the plan’ will solve all the world’s problems and make all the sacrifices and killing worthwhile… Was I the only one to notice this?

Watching the first few episodes, I did start to think that this wasn’t the Fringe that I signed up for, but they gradually won me over to the current series with the strength of the story and character development. I did guess early on what the end of the story would be, even if the mechanics of the resolution were unknown.

SPOILER ZONE
SPOILER ZONE
SPOILER ZONE
In the final scene, with Peter and the white tulip, what did Peter realise? Was it just that Walter must have done something drastic, or was he remembering the whole of the other time-line? It had happened before in season 4, remember. Let’s hope we never find out, as it really was a perfect ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying conclusion to a brilliant series, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fringe: Season 5 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Really satisfying ending for Fringe fans- loads of geeky fan spots to links from past series. Excellent and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Show., 3 Nov. 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fringe: Season 5 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Fringe is an unusual but brilliant Sci-Fi show.
It tells the story of a small unit within the F.B.I called Fringe division.
Here they deal with very rare unexplainable events that stretch the imagination.
Olivia Dunham played by Anna Torv decides to seek help in the form of a disgraced scientist, Walter Bishop who resides in an insane asylum. She can only get his help with the assistance of his son, Peter Bishop and so the team comes together.
They reopen Walter’s old basement laboratory, complete with a cow in the corner.
Fringe has a story running throughout the series as well as individual episodes. The series concludes in the final episode of the last series and completes the show perfectly.
It is weird, with dark comedy, exciting action, and it has a few frightening moments as well.
Great, innovative writing, wonderful acting and a different approach to Sci-fi make this an unbeatable combination.
I doubt you’ll be disappointed.
Fantastic show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fringe Season 5., 31 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Fringe: Season 5 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The final season of Fringe. To bring you upto date, Fringe was co-created by JJ Abrams - who also created Lost. Lost ran for 6 seasons, and Fringe finished after 5. Whilst both shows are quite different, they share the same DNA. A multi-layered look a sci-fi and human relationships - both told with 'I need to see what happens next!' story telling.

Fringe was a beacon of hope during the past few years of throwaway weekly crime schedule fillers - a character driven sci-fi TV show that didn't shy away from high concept lunacy. They were never afraid to stretch the possibilities of science in the name of exciting storytelling. Add to this pop culture references, discussion about morality, faith and ethics and a huge self awareness of its own mythology - you have have a refreshing injection of sci-fi geekery.

To avoid too many spoilers I'll move right onto season 5 and assume you've seen the previous 4 seasons and just want to know if its worth finding out how they wrap things up. In short - if you've watched seasons 1-4 and enjoyed it, season 5 is a no-brainer. You'd be doing a huge injustice to yourself by not completing this season, just for completist reasons.

Did I enjoy it? For the most part yes. There was a turning point for me in the show when they knocked the shine off almost enough to put me off - when they made the show about 'the power of love' and it became about good old humans with their emotions vs emotionless people from the future that have forgotten what it is to 'feel'. They almost lost lost me, but luckily this theme was less and less heavily layered in place of a tale about a dystopian future - and thank God.

As the final season moves on - at a slightly chuggy pace it has to be said, a few things are revealed and questions answered - but for the most part its the plots is way to how to win, what they set up as an unwinnable war. Unlike Lost, that left you knowing, but not knowing - with people still guessing long after it finished, Fringe comes to a close. Personally, I like how Lost ended - it tied in the vibe of the show and fining out what it all REALLY means would feel too much like peeking behind the curtain. For Fringe however, they set the show up in such a way a reliable conclusion is the only way to tie things up.

For me, Fringe has all ways been about Walter. He is the heart of the show, and its always been his story - everyone else is just dressing and helping drive him to the conclusion. And I'm fine with this; a good story is a good story - if it has a large group of characters thats great, if not and it works thats fine. As the final season moves forward - there is less and less Walter, until the final few episodes where he becomes very relevant in bringing everything together.

After 5 seasons the show never outstayed its welcome - they timed it perfectly and wound things up at just the right time. Another season would have never worked, but it would have stretched an already thinning story too much. Where the first 1-3/4 seasons are weekly pieces with an overall arc creeping in, 5 is a complete piece that has to watched in its entirety to be appreciated - you cant just watch it out of order like you possibly could during seasons one and two and its this that makes season 5 satisfying. They shake of the shackles of drawing in a weekly audience and a 'monster of the week' and repay loyal views with a something that can really be enjoyed from start to finish and something to move from the end of an episode into the next. Until it ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fringe: Season 5 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
this is the final series...what will I do without it, it has filled my life with laughter and nonscence for weeks upon weeks I will bw watching this series again and again, Walter Bishop is the best....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Good Things...., 11 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fringe: Season 5 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I love Fringe. It's pretty unique in that in all the weird stuff you grow to love the characters. I can't praise John Noble enough. This is stupid sci fi remember, but he has the power to make you laugh or cry. He is the very human heart at the centre of it all. I'm watching this slowly, and I'll miss it when it's gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wot? No more Fringe?, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
Willy Eckerslike (France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes, indeed, a depressing thought. No more of Walter's antics, forgetting Astrid's name and general bad behaviour. This sombre mood pervades the season where the focus is really on further developing character depth at the cost of the bonkers pseudo-science that ruled the roost in earlier seasons. This season is set in 2036 in the dystopian future first glimpsed in a seemingly out-of-place episode in season four.

Earth is ruled by the no longer benign Observers where humanity is mostly helpless against their super-powers and their ever vigilant human collaborator police force. Walter and the Scooby gang have ambered themselves so that they can be resuscitated in the future by the resistance and the season predicated on the search for a series of Beta-max tapes that Walter and September have left which should eventually piece together to form a plan to defeat the Observers. Unlike earlier seasons where there is a continuing theme and sub-plot behind the nonsense, this season is a coherent whole with each episode propelling the plot towards a crashing conclusion. Along the way there are wormholes, implants, a shocking death, an Observer child, time travel, alternative realities, Walter tripping and all of the usual mind-bending paradoxical jiggery-pokery that has given the whole show its unique identity.

We've been stalwart observers of the Fringe universe since season one first came to DVD and this final season is a fitting end to this intricately plotted and original program. It is nice to see, just for a change, a sci-fi themed show actually finish properly rather than being cancelled by unimaginative ratings-chasing bean-counters. Splendid stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fringe: Season 5 [DVD] [2013]
Fringe: Season 5 [DVD] [2013] by Anna Torv (DVD - 2013)
£11.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews