Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter masterpiece
Boardwalk Empire is a true gem, a gift to your senses. Cleverly written, visually stunning, wonderfully acted. It's Scorsese meets HBO, what can only result in a grand production and a superb blu-ray edition.

The seasons 1-3 boxset are presented in separated cases per season and all wrapped in a sleeve box. Each season includes 5 discs in the same high quality...
Published 12 months ago by Alphapanties

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Series, but the dics are faulty.
There is no question that Broadwalk Empire is possibly the greatest series since Band Of Brothers, and I for one am in Awe of how goo it is, However.....

The discs are faulty!
I have been on forums and have found hundreds of people with the same issue, the Chapter Menu does not work, and when selected the dics shuts down and the player freezes.
This...
Published 7 months ago by Leon Saint


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Series, but the dics are faulty., 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is no question that Broadwalk Empire is possibly the greatest series since Band Of Brothers, and I for one am in Awe of how goo it is, However.....

The discs are faulty!
I have been on forums and have found hundreds of people with the same issue, the Chapter Menu does not work, and when selected the dics shuts down and the player freezes.
This is why the set is so cheap?
I am keeping them, as you can skip through the episodes but i have missed and over shot episode 5 because i did no know it was on the disc in the player.
So, brillinat show, horid product, not Amazons fault, but HBO need to be strung up for this really.
discounts on future products maybe??? no, i doubt it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter masterpiece, 10 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Boardwalk Empire is a true gem, a gift to your senses. Cleverly written, visually stunning, wonderfully acted. It's Scorsese meets HBO, what can only result in a grand production and a superb blu-ray edition.

The seasons 1-3 boxset are presented in separated cases per season and all wrapped in a sleeve box. Each season includes 5 discs in the same high quality case with a nice artwork on them.

We really need to praise the work done here, the native 35mm format really brings together the formidable cinematography and the blu-ray transfer is just fantastic. The inmersion in the 1920's Atlantic City is complete.
The staggering photography is presented in a sharp, neat picture. The definition and the colours are just perfect.

In the audio field, the lossless DTS-HD 5.1 mix is what you would expect from an HBO product. Crisp sound, nice panoramics, perfectly matches the visual quality standard of the series.

In addition we find numerous extras, interviews, documentaries and other featurettes, all presented in HD aswell.

Personally, this is one of the best tv productions I've ever seen, and so is the blu-ray edition. Right up there with Band of Brothers, The Pacific and Game Of Thrones. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Godfather Part IV, with Blarney., 10 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is the nearest production we will ever get to match the quality of the Godfather series of films of the 1970's in my view.

The costumes and sets are impeccable,as are the acting,scripts and bursts of action framed around the drama and intrigue of Steve Buscemi's Irish-American gangster kingpin.

On first impression Buscemi seems an odd choice to play the pivotal figure of this series;he is ugly to many,slightly framed (not muscular)and with a face that 'talks' i.e. his face is often expressing his emotions,not stoic.
But he makes his role work wonderfully.Credit to the casting director/producers who realized that this man just has to play himself to make the character larger than life.

Some may have chosen a big star with a big physique to command this central role.But in real life both famous and notorous people can be the opposite:Capone,Napoleon and Churchill were relatively short and stout for example,and certainly Al Pacino and Robert De Nero were not hunks when playing their roles in the Godfather films.

I don't think there was a word of dialogue wasted throughout,and each character was intricately painted by the writers and directors to give this series the highest standards of any of the few quality TV series thrust at us all the time.

There is a lot of dross out there;this is very,very special and I look forward to season 4 as much as I anticipated the next Godfather film(which,sadly,was never made).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked the Sopranos, this is the natural show for you!, 20 May 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Steve Buscemi is a brilliant front man for this show. Set in the days of prohibition, this shows one corrupt mans fall into pure evil. There is too much flesh visible in some episodes but you cannot knock the writing or the directing. This show is simply too much at points, but you cannot help wanting to see the next episode. Can't wait for season 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best box set since The Sopranos, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I had heard so many people talking about this programme but had never heard of it. I decided to buy my husband the box set for Christmas and after watching the whole box set every night for two weeks we were hooked. Steve Buscemi is amazing as Nucky Thompson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another must see box set, 4 Sep 2014
By 
Sandra Bartlett "Sandra" (West Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Excellent drama series. Historically accurate well written, brilliantly acted and directed. We also have the CDs and can't wait to get series 4&5.
We watched it first on Sky Atlantic home of excellent American drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, costumes & scenery, 13 Sep 2014
By 
K. Snowdon "KARL05" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great acting, costumes & scenery. Characterisation of alot of the characters could be better, however this has allowed every facet of Nucky Thompson to be explored in great detail, which is the most important thing to do. Like Sopranos, this series is missing an adversary with equal gravitas to the main character. If they had, then they'd both be 5 stars. Great show. Not many dramas on telly match this series for style & realism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gansters, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent entertainment on each episode of this series one /two/three,plus picture quality is very high definition with great sound quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Brilliant what else is there to say, buy it now, tell your friends and family, I watch lots of stuff this is quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Series, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Boardwalk Empire what a really good series this has been , we looked forward to each episode , more of this series please .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boardwalk Empire - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2013]
Boardwalk Empire - Season 1-3 [DVD] [2013] by Steve Buscemi (DVD - 2013)
£32.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews