Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Following - great, but not for everyone
The premise of The Following involves Joe Carroll (James Purefoy), a former university professor with a specialism in, and fanatical adoration of, Edgar Allen Poe who, as the series opens, has just broken out of prison where he was serving a sentence for multiple, gruesome murders. Cue the FBI turning to the man who was responsible for putting him behind bars in the...
Published 12 months ago by Gareth Butler

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Totally overblown
I was given this as a present as I dont have the TV channel. It was intimated to me that this was one of the best series recently - what a massive disappointment. After the promising start in the first couple of episodes, the storyline degenerates into an implausible and incredible set of circumstances. Kevin Bacons character - a former FBI man - seems to have forgotten...
Published 1 month ago by Big Bear


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Following - great, but not for everyone, 14 April 2013
By 
Gareth Butler (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Following - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The premise of The Following involves Joe Carroll (James Purefoy), a former university professor with a specialism in, and fanatical adoration of, Edgar Allen Poe who, as the series opens, has just broken out of prison where he was serving a sentence for multiple, gruesome murders. Cue the FBI turning to the man who was responsible for putting him behind bars in the first place: former agent Ryan Hardy (Kevin Bacon). As a tiny spoiler (the clue, after all, is in the title), it quickly transpires that, during his time in prison, Carroll has succeeded in building up a legion of loyal disciples, all of whom espouse his mantra of death.

The Following could best be described as 24 without the time limit and where terrorists have been replaced with a murderous cult led by a convicted serial killer. The series is utterly captivating whilst being an exercise in frustration; like 24, progress is often one-step-forwards-two-steps-back. Most episodes contain some sort of twist which leaves you constantly guessing, and the anonymity of the cult members leads you to distrust almost all but the best-established characters.

What The Following does well is the depth it gives not only the leading characters, but also a large part of the supporting cast. Unlike 24, the timeline is not completely linear and a lot of the characterisation is built up through flashbacks, which works very effectively. Backstories add to the twists as well as the character development. Bacon is excellent as the troubled hero, dealing with Hardy's physical ailments (a hangover from his first capture of Carroll) and his emotional trauma and deficiencies. Purefoy is also highly convincing as the charming, charismatic, cold-blooded, sadistic killer; you don't struggle to believe that he could inspire the devotion of his army of murderers.

I should say that this may not be a show for everyone. If you're the type of viewer who likes total realism in your tv series then you may need to look elsewhere; whilst I wouldn't describe it as completely far-fetched, it does need to be watched with a partial suspension of disbelief. All too often, in order that the story isn't over after only a few episodes, the main characters appear to have had their commonsense glands temporarily removed. You will find yourself screaming in frustration at the screen when an agent refuses to pull their trigger (well, I was anyway), and shaking your head in disbelief when one or two agents go alone on a mission that requires an army (are we to believe that the FBI, in the hunt for a cult of unknown size, can't spare the manpower?). Equally, this is not for the fainthearted; the gore factor is set to `high' from the outset and the violence is graphic. However, if you can get past these points then I would highly recommend this as a compelling, gripping drama that fans of thrillers and/or 24 should enjoy greatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT WATCHING CAN'T WAIT FOR SEASON 2, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GRIPPING THRILLER, LOTS OF TWISTS, AWESOME WATCHING. I CAN HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ONE. HURRY UP SEASON 2. VERY LIKEABLE CHARACTERS AND UN-LIKEABLE BAD GUYS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Following - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This series is fantastic, edge of the seat stuff, Kevin Bacon and James Purefoy are absolutely amazing!!! If there is one DVD you buy soon, it has to be this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks promising and could run long and well., 30 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Following - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The subject matter of this 1st season,a Hannibal Lecteresque serial killer inspiring a group of potential killers from his prison cell,is the core of the plot;its a simple idea borrowed from the Thomas Harris novel 'Red Dragon' and expanded into several hours of drama,action and killings(mainly by stabbings as noted by many reviewers).

Serial killer James Purefoy does escape,as Lecter did in the Harris novels,and conducts a campaign of revenge against the FBI agent who captured him,Kevin Bacon,and uses his followers as the means to bring him down.

I liked the performance of Purefoy having seen him excel in the excellent 'Rome' and in several poor action movies that didn't help his career.Here he has a meaty role and uses it to create a clever,manipulative 'teacher' who goads his followers to commit the crimes that start the manhunt by law enforcement agencies including the FBI of course.

Bacon becomes instrumental in the hunt for Purefoy and his cult, members of which start comming out of the woodwork;herin lies part of the success of this series:you don't know whom has come under the influence of Purefoy and will 'stab' the good guys in the back as the episodes unravel.

It makes for entertaining viewing if you put aside the stabbings.There has been a good build up of the characters on the FBI side and augers well for season 2 I hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Totally overblown, 3 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Following - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I was given this as a present as I dont have the TV channel. It was intimated to me that this was one of the best series recently - what a massive disappointment. After the promising start in the first couple of episodes, the storyline degenerates into an implausible and incredible set of circumstances. Kevin Bacons character - a former FBI man - seems to have forgotten all he would have been trained in and subsequently does all the wrong things during the action. For me a series must have some credibility to work, and this loses all credibility the more episodes one watches. Holes bigger than the proverbial stagecoach appear and are left unattended, and when the plot looks like providing a sane answer, whoops- lets just invent a new set of circumstances. Sorry but I would have liked this to be a real attention grabbing series - as it is I have asked not to be given the next ones to be released as it just drives you up the wall due to sloppy script writing and ludicrous scenarios that just wouldnt happen. A big no no...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising television, 25 April 2013
This review is from: The Following - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is some of the most amazing, compulsive, jaw-dropping television I've seen in all my considerable years.
The cast are perfection - especially Kevin Bacon - and I hardly manage to breathe for the hour it is on screen.
I truly do not understand some of the previous reviews.
Admittedly it is not suitable viewing for the faint-hearted because of the subject matter, but because of the twists
and turns you never know who will turn out to be a 'Follower', the tension is always building. Brilliant stuff!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Following - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Easily the best show in the last few years. I couldn't wait to watch the next episode.
Without a doubt the best thing Kevin Bacon has done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts Really Well...., 3 May 2013
This review is from: The Following - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I was very excited when I saw the trailer for this series a while back, I love this type of idea / story / TV generally.

Ep 1 was really very good, but I am afraid that if episode 1 was a 10 out of 10 rating, then the following episodes gradually go down in rating until the series reaches a low of around 4 out of 10.

As I said, the opening episode was gripping stuff, graphic, dark and intriguing. The premise of the story was very good idea (you will know the basic story by now) and I was interested to see how it played out. Unfortunately the episodes got clunkier and lost my interest with tedious goings on and some really poor decision making by the FBI (like 1 or 2 people going into situations that surely require a SWAT team!)

I thought Kevin Bacon was the best thing about it. I liked James Purefoy initially but after about 3 or 4 episodes he turns into a lovey actor that is annoying and comical in equal measure. You really needed to find him scary or menacing, but I found him to be neither of these and one of his followers, Emma was probably the scariest person in the show.

It is set up for a second season (aren't they always!) and I would watch it. I just hope its more focused and interested than what is essentially several kidnap stories one after the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Riveting! Compulsive viewing,, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Following - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The reason I gave the Following 5 stars, is because it's gripping and tense from the first moment you start watching it, right to the last disc. It makes you jump out of your seat, its totally unpredictable and the acting is intense. I loved it, it's a bit like an American 'Luther' but much more edgy. I'm very surprised that it only carries a 15 rating, as some of the scenes are extremely graphic and disturbing, bear this in mind if watching with a younger audience. I found it so compulsive, it wasn't unusual for me to watch two or three episodes back to back. Would I recommend it? Most definately, I would and have, to several of my friends, we're all hooked! I'm now eagerly awaiting the release of Season 2 so I can find out what happens next. Enjoy, but have a cushion ready to hide behind, you've been warned ...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Following Season 1, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Following - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Unfortunately not as good as I thought. A bit far fetched. Shame as I do like Kevin Bacon. A disappointment for me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadb8b684)

This product

The Following - Season 1 [DVD] [2013]
The Following - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] by Kevin Bacon (DVD - 2013)
25.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews