Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Knight for tv
Dc comics character Green Arrow gets a stylish very impressive debut season. At first i was dissapointed that this wasn't going to be a spin off of Smallville. Green Arrow had previously appeared as a supporting character on the young Superman show and had grown into a fan favourite but Arrow is a very different and darker take on the character. Spoiled playboy Oliver...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not beleiveable enough for me
I kept telling myself it's comics... but still it is too silly for me and I love comics. Nice production and action but not much more.
Published 3 months ago by Nati M.


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Knight for tv, 28 May 2013
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Dc comics character Green Arrow gets a stylish very impressive debut season. At first i was dissapointed that this wasn't going to be a spin off of Smallville. Green Arrow had previously appeared as a supporting character on the young Superman show and had grown into a fan favourite but Arrow is a very different and darker take on the character. Spoiled playboy Oliver Queen returns home to Starling City a hero after surviving a shipwreck and being declared dead for 5 years but is disturbed to find how corrupt his home is. He turns himself into the vigilante Green Arrow using skills he had learned while shipwrecked on a mysterious island after his yacht sinks and goes after the rich, powerful and corrupt people that run the city. A very good cast, Stephen Ammell is good as Oliver Queen who quickly makes both friends and enemies with the police wanting to bring the Green Arrow down and a mysterious Dark Archer wants Green Arrow dead and is just as good and deadly with a bow and arrow as he is. Characters from Dc comics appear in the show, though minor characters that only comic book fans will recognize. A very strong pilot episode gets you hooked and there are twists and turns throughout leading to an excellent and gripping season finale. This is a better show than the fun but flawed Smallville.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, never miss, 22 Jun 2013
I dont know what lured me into the show but this is something that like oliver Queen,you can never miss. Twists and turns; Deep backstories; character revelations, this was just episode one. A must watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrow hits the Target, A superb first series, 28 Sep 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Arrow - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Trivia.
1)Kate Cassidy is the Daughter of Singer/Actor David Cassidy.
2)Kate Cassidy also appeared in the recent A Nightmare On Elm Street Remake.
3)John Barrowman was Captain Jack Harkness in Doctor Who & it's spin off series Torchwood.
4)Kelly Hu first movie appearance was in Friday the 13th Part 8 Jason Takes Manhattan other movie credits are The Scorpion King & X-Men 2 as Lady Deathstrike.

Review.
This series is one of the most entertainingly enjoyable series I've watched in years.

From the opening episode with the rescue of Oliver Queen from a shipwrecked island to him being found & rescued& returned home 5 years later, But was the ship sinking a accident or was somebody behind it?, Is there a mystery to the Queen family???, Whats the mystery with Oliver's dads Robert Queens diary???.

The flashbacks are great they are not confusing & they add a layer of mystery & intrigue to the story's arc, We see a spoilted playboy rich kid over the course of the series left stranded on a island but slowly starts to change his morals & ethics becoming a man whom after 5 years is rescued & returns to Starling City, A man now with a new moral code of ethics & a goal to right his father Robert Queens wrongs, To protect the city as Arrow a Emerald Archer with great skills of archery & athleticism.

The cast are exellent, Stephen Amell is just outstanding & perfect casting as Arrow instantly making the role his own, I like how in flashbacks we see this unlikable character that somehow Amell makes likeable, To the different personality of a changed man with a code of morals & ethics.

Stephen Amell is so good as Oliver Queen that i completely forgot about Justin Hartley's version in Smallville.

Supporting cast do well too, What surprised me the most was how good John Barrowman was in this as Malcom Merlyn he really is quite sinister & mysterious yet likeable & charming, But what hold does he have over the Queen family especially Olivers mother Moira?? Played by Susanna Thompson whom has also appeared in Star Trek Voyager as The Borg Queen.

Colin Salmon does well as Walter, Moiras second husband whom senses all isn't right in the Queen empire & eventually goes missing???.

Willa Holland plays Oliver's troubled vunerble sister Thea, Whom brothers return is a welcome but shocking return for her to cope with.

David Ramsey as bodyguard John Diggle who eventually helps Oliver on his quest is a Alfred type role to Oliver, Diggle the one who can keep him on the right side of wrong who Oliver respects & trusts. Also helping Oliver on his quest is Felicity Smoak played by the beautiful Emily Bett Rickards who's the computer whizz who aids Oliver when Oliver's stepfather Walter disappears.

Rounding out the cast is Kate Cassidy as Laurel Lance, Queens ex girlfriend who blames Oliver for her sisters death as he was having a affair with her sister aboard the ship when it was capsized by a storm (or was it??).

Colin Donnell stars as Tommy Merlyn, Oliver's best friend & son of Malcolm Merlyn, Tommy a bit of a playboy like Oliver was & starts a relationship with Laurel is there a connection between the two familes???.

Paul Blackthorne plays Quentin Lance Laurens father & a detective in Starling City who has issues over his other daughters death Sara & is constantly suspicious of the Queens family's motives.

The episodes expand on character development as the show goes along little by little we learn a bit more backstory or a plot twist in the present yet the storys thread isn't complicated or confusing like Lost was, The flashbacks to the island add to the drama & are crucial to the plot development.o

The action scenes are expertly executed they are on par with any comic book movie you may of seen recently the fight scenes have a brutality to them & many villians get a Arrow though them, Theres no cutaways with the violence the series delivers film quailty production all the way throughout the season.

Another mystery in Arrow is who's the Dark Archer with the same skills as Oliver doing in Starling City & what is his agenda & motives???.

The villians are excellently portrayed nothing is black & white in this series as all the characters seem to have interesting story arcs.

This has become must watch tv for me and yet another example of tv becoming more entertaining than the movies, A superb first season & definitely recommended to fans & non-fans, Great storytelling,Intriguing plot twists & a exellent Stephen Amell in the lead role makes this one the best tv shows I've seen in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest shows...., 18 Feb 2013
By 
Arif Erdogan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arrow - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is one of those rare things, something which is brilliant. Sadly some TV nowadays is rubbish but not Arrow.
I'm a comic book fan however I'm more marvel so when I learned this was months away from airing I had some interest but not too much.
My hopes were crushed however when I learned it would be on at 20:00 on sky which is amidst the soap times, my family favourite. Therefore I couldn't watch it and I daren't ask my mum to record it.
Eventually we got sky on demand and I tried it.
It is great, honestly. The acting feels real and amell is great as both Oliver and the hood. There are other great stars but it is mostly the females who stand up, laurel lance....felicity smoak played by the gorgeous emily brek richarks.
I just love this! The villians are familiar and it isn't slow-paced.

10 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Plot Twists and Action Packed!, 22 Mar 2013
By 
A. C. Benjamin (Amsterdam, NL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arrow - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Unlike many new series, Arrow does not let you down after the pilot, but builds the characters, plot and back story brilliantly. Okay, every now and then there is a cheesy bit, but those bits can be forgiven by the overall quality of the production. Stephen Amell is particularly good and believable, and carries the series well. Many of the cast members are really good quality actors, although a couple of the main character actors I would replace. Particularly the actor who plays the sister of Oliver I find weak, but so far, just a minor annoyance (just as the rat-rug Stephen has to wear in the flashbacks).

Here in Europe, we're further behind in the series than in North America, but I find it so exciting to watch, I can't wait for the next episode so I've been watching bits and pieces on Youtube.
Fortunately, the broadcaster here in the Netherlands sends out each episode twice - first on Sunday evening, and then again late night Wednesday. Second time round you see more of what's going on, because it's so fast paced, somethings get missed the first time.

I'm really looking forward to getting the series on DVD! There is already a second series contracted - yay!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is Arrow Worth Your Time and Money?, 18 May 2013
Yes and yes. This is quite honestly up there with the great shows of the past 10 years. It is gripping and very entertaining, and surprisingly believable which is rare for a comic book TV show. It takes a lot of inspiration from Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy, that being its one hero fighting to save a city full of crime. For the most part there is a new story each week, but most follow the overall story arc of the series, and builds up to a truly epic climax. The first few episodes are enough to keep you entertained but are not enough to keep you wanting more, but that doesn't last long, about 4 episodes in I was eagerly awaiting the next, then the next and so on, and none disappointed me. That's what I want from a TV show and Arrow delivered it perfectly.

My opinion is If you like Batman Begins, The Dark Knight or The Dark Knight Rises you should give Arrow a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some people just don't get the point!, 8 Mar 2013
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Arrow - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I know a few people who look slightly askance when I say how much I like this series and then go through a long list of its supposed drawbacks. Okay, I agree with some; e.g. Oliver Queen looks like he's wearing a Worzel Gummidge wig in the flashbacks and all the women have to be supermodels, even the nerdy geek computer wiz; and the nasty cop is a one-dimensional jerk and the criminal Mr Big is real-life king of cheese John Barrowman! But it is what it is and, as made for TV super hero series goes, it works and delivers the goods. The action is well handled, Star City looks brilliant, and the villains get their just and sometimes quite graphic deserts - what more does anyone want?

Come to think of it Stephen Amell would make a good Bruce Wayne; one that actually looks the part for a change! But, considering Arrow's popularity, a big movie makeover is probably just around the corner, anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story line - 100% Action from the get go, 17 July 2013
This review is from: Arrow - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is probably the only series that got me hooked. This series is packed with twists and action from the start and will not disappoint. The fact that Oliver Queen is every mans role model is a bonus!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic T.V Super Hero Drama, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Ray & Eileen "Ray & Eileen" (Dyserth, North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arrow - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
All episodes have you perched on the edge of your seat and, by the end you have usually fallen off that seat!! I also guarantee you will have chewed your fingernails down to the knuckles !!! Its about "a playboy" Oliver Stone who was marooned on an island for 5 years and had to learn to survive, he has now come back from the island to avenge his father and rid the city of the drug lords and people who have profited from the misery of others. Contains moderate violent scenes BUT is not over the top.
It is simply brilliant !!! You won't be disappointed.
Review written by Ray Morris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dexter + Bat Man = Arrow, 20 July 2014
I'm not a comic-person, so it wasn't until I saw the other reviews after watching the series that I found out it was based on something. Putting that thought to one side for a sec though, as a new comer to this series I thought it was good and I watched them all from start to finish for this first series.

HOWEVER, I feel that boredom will settle in pretty fast for any series after this as we get the idea of who he is and what it's all about, the first series sort of ties up all the story loose ends etc. So from this point as someone says is it just going to be a weak bat-man copy style series rich-guy-has-unlimited-funds to fight crime in his spare time while trying to keep his identity secret from his loved ones etc.

I can also see a lot of Dexter in the story lines too, are they going to find out who he is?, oh no they 'nearly' are!, but wait! someone found out! ...oh they are dead now, he's safe again! (repeat)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arrow - Season 1 [DVD] [2013]
Arrow - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] by Stephen Amell (DVD - 2013)
10.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews