Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Limo man
The previous reviewer, and Amazon`s own rundown above, will eloquently tell you the plot of this latest film by Cronenburg - surely one of America`s two or three best contemporary directors now - so I will simply give a personal response to what is a unique and impressive piece of work.
The opening shot is perfect: the radiator grill of an implausibly long white...
Published on 22 Jun. 2012 by GlynLuke

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE URGE TO DESTROY IS A CREATIVE URGE
A film that leaves you feeling, "WTF?" This avant-garde work oozes with symbolism and metaphors. The first one you should pick up on is the rat. The rat symbolizes a universal currency when society is at its lowest point. Toward the end of the film, Eric's barber comments "You're hair is ratty." Investor Eric Packer (Robert Patterson) represents all rich people whose...
Published on 10 May 2013 by THE MOVIE GUY


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars as alienating as it is bewitching, 11 Jan. 2013
By 
Rob Simpson "noframeof" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cosmopolis [DVD] (DVD)
Difficult and demanding patience, no two words sum up Cronenberg's adaptation of Don Delillo's novel Cosmopolis. This film doesn't exactly welcome viewers with open arms. It has a hard, obtuse visage with an otherworldly worldview and language, the first half of Cronenberg's Cosmopolis is horrible. The sort of mess that pleads a finger to hover over the eject button. Then around kicks the second half. We get a fantastically self-destructive performance from Robert Pattinson and that sense of other that permeates the film, so proudly, finally makes sense. The film is viewed from Pattinson's perspective, he is divorced from the real world and the film grows to reflect his alien perspective, echoing Roeg's The Man Who Fell to Earth. By the time Paul Giamatti turns up the film has grown into something quite remarkable. But the point I have to stress is this: beware this film is as alienating as it is bewitching, even hardcore Cronenberg fans have taken badly to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I dont know whats worse..this or Twilight?, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Richards "yourbiteall" (Weston Super Mare) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cosmopolis [DVD] (DVD)
Where do i start with Cronenbergs latest. It would be remiss of me to just dismiss this as an arty piece of pretentious twaddle. but then maybe that is what it is? It didn't seem like a Cronenberg film more like a budding amateur who was trying to emulate the great directors work. Which this is not up there with his finest. Some folk say there is no narrative in films like The Master, etc, but forget that..this has zero narrative.Which then means you have to rely on the flair and the feel and tone of the film and its hinged scenes. extra scrutiny is needed and alas, unless it is beyond this humble viewer, i did not like this movie.
The dialogue should be bristling, informative and vibrant to keep a faint strand of enthusiasm in the viewer but you are left baffled and confused..and most disturbing of all..bored stiff!
There is the occasionally funny line; 'you wreak of sexual discharge' to the just plain weird ' I'm hungry?' which is replied with the not so wry comment of 'then why don't you eat'. There are all types of weird and wonderful films out there which fall short needlessly with some viewer that have not appreciated all the aspects. this falls into a rather strange genre all of its own..Arrogant, boring, mind-numbing, tedious rubbish. The Fly 2 awaits you Mr Cronenberg. oh and Pattinson fans stay clear..this will not convince you hes not just a pretty face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The destructive urge is a creative urge"(Bakunin), 20 Dec. 2012
By 
technoguy "jack" (Rugby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cosmopolis [DVD] (DVD)
In the airless world of speculation capital it's fitting that Wall Street wunderkind /billionaire Eric Packer(Pattinson) uses a stretch limo to exert his power and control,a bullet-proof vacuum tube,a space-ship of venture capitalism.Sealed off from the world outside from impregnation,a world of financial breakdown,civilian chaos. Occupy-style protesters block the streets,spraying graffiti on and rocking the car.The President is visiting town,a rap star's funeral is happening,geysers are flooding the streets.Cronenburg leaves echoes of his other films,Videodrome(here the interface is virtual),like a sequel to A Dangerous Method,another session on the couch, one-to-ones with various friends,visitors.advisors,the perverse numbness of Crash,the otherworldliness of eXistenZ, Packer like an atavar of Allegra Gellar,another creature of hallucinatory numbers,people being both real and embodiments of principles. Pattinson is magnetically credible,vampiric associations utilised.Pasty,weary,washed out.

De Lillo's post-modern reworking of Ulysses,inching through a day in grid-locked midtown Manhattan,Cronenburg transmutes alchemically his source material,stamping it with his own preoccupations in an affect-free world,leeched by a master of the universe,travelling in a chauffeur-driven limo to get a haircut across town.Packer triggers personal and professional disintegration,his isolation is penetrated by sex,by identity and humanity("money has its neurotic quality".."computers are dying".."the urge to destroy is a creative urge").Vija Kinski(Morton)says the markets are unstable and that he's losing all his money.Sloganising becomes oppressive in this coffined space(in a "prousted" car).He meets his new wife across town and they cryptically connect in diners and libraries without consummation using Pintereque dialogue.All characters are lobotomised,cerebral,barely corporeal.

In eerie display screens data maps the world finance market.Eric has over-borrowed in the Chinese Yuan currency, bringing about his own ruin,triggering the collapse of the world's economy.But in Eric's `microtimed'existence this barely registers.Cut off from the world of real economic suffering.Eric living in a world of ghosts,dead.Thepresent has become instantaneously obscolescent for the future.His space is enlivened by Samantha Morton,his articulate theorist,and Juliette Binoche,his art adviser,and his chief of finance,Jane Melman,"who wants to live shamelessly in her body",while he finds out from his doctor his prostate is `asymmetrical'.He also has sex in a hotel with a beautiful security guard,Kendra Hays.However in his downward spiral to self-destruction,Packer's journey has been back in time through layers of strident upward mobility and sophistication to a world ofsimplicity and humour,the family's old barber shop.He has disposed off his security,the car,he has only a gun to meet thebug-eyed Benno Levin(Giamatti),his nemesis, in a dilapidated abandoned warehouse.In this unpredictable world of moral squalor the ex-employee burns with anger spewing like Lee Harvey Oswald,leaving Packer's life dangling, ambiguously.For Cronenburg enthusiasts only,2nd level,uncommercially paring themes treated before more viscerally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's a toughy!, 7 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Cosmopolis [DVD] (DVD)
A typical David Cronenberg film, in that it's pleasingly offbeat but ultimately not particularly satisfying. The DC has made some cracking films, but that was a while ago now. R Patz, acting-wise, isn't bad at all but his boatrace still looks plastered with make-up and I wonder if he'll ever shake off the Twilight thing. The film contains some interesting dialouge but that's about it really. As with alot of Cronenberg films, there is a definate budget feel to the whole thing, though that doesn't particularly matter. I was intrigued by this movie, even after reading the synopsis on the back of the box which made it sound like a bit of a dull affair. I wanted it to deliver but for me - no dice. Perhaps a repeat viewing would reveal more.
Suck it and see; you may like it instantly, or you may be intrigued, like me, and wish there were more to it - go figure! It's a toughy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, at least it's better than 'Holy Motors'!, 3 Dec. 2012
By 
JOHN GREEN (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cosmopolis [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen a couple of films in 2012 where guys run their lives from the backs of stretch limousines - 'Cosmopolis' and 'Holy Motors'. 'Cosmopolis' wins, because it is slightly less ridiculous than 'Holy Motors' and at least tries to make serious points (about capitalism and the gap between rich and poor). On first viewing, it's rather a lifeless affair, but, if you give the dialogue a second chance, it's worth the revisit - I particularly enjoyed Paul Giamatti's "this alone" speech at the end where he gives all the reasons why he must kill Robert Pattinson's uber-rich character. There are also good cameos from two Canadian actors: Patricia McKenzie as the sexy security lady who 'enjoys' Pattinson in a hotel room; and Kevin Durand as the head of security.

Even on a second viewing however, the casting of Pattinson is a mistake - we just cannot believe him as the head of a corporation with a string of older ladies trying to bed him. It needed a slightly older actor with more charisma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Are we there yet?, 20 Nov. 2012
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cosmopolis [DVD] (DVD)
Parents all over the world dream those terrible words coming from the back seat of the car during long distance road trips: "Are we there yet?" Those four little words make every car journey just that little bit longer.

Or at least they used to.

Since David Cronenberg teamed up with Robert Pattinson, a new word has been invented to describe long, tedious, depressing car journeys. And that word is `Cosmopolis.'

Pattinson hangs up his Twilight fangs to spend twenty-four hours in the back of a limousine where he's driven round New York. I didn't time the film, but it certainly felt like I'd been watching it for twenty-four hours (or possibly longer).

Believe it or not, I was looking forward to this film. I'm no fan of vampires who sparkle in sunlight (oh dear), but I do like Cronenberg's work. Or at least I did until I saw Cosmopolis. This is seriously one hell of a misfire. Long, dull, nothing that interesting happens and should be avoided at all costs.

I'm guessing about the only entertaining thing about Cosmopolis would be to invite loads of die hard Twilight fans to watch their immortal, love-sick idol in his latest role, only to laugh at them for being totally disappointed and shocked at how he never looks longingly at any sour-faced pale teenage waif; neither does he wrestle werewolves or run up trees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cosmopolis, 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cosmopolis [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is not for everyone, I loved it, much different to what is shown these days in the cinema, and a welcomed change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cosmopolis (Amazon Instant Video)
As a woman that hates chick flicks with a passion, this is so non girly and totally unlike Twilight (that in itself should make it brilliant) I love it.
It's quite faithful to the book, lots of dialogue, satire, darkness and more than a little sex, Pattinson was great as the self destructive ticking time bomb that is Eric, a role bravely done and with more than a little aplomb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother!, 12 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Cosmopolis [DVD] (DVD)
I was given this as a Christmas present. My boyfriend and I watched the first 15 minutes without either of us having a clue what was going on. I like clever films that you have to concentrate on and think about but this was too confusing and didn't really seem to be making a point about anything. I would go elsewhere for your film entertainment,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cosmollis, 26 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cosmopolis [DVD] (DVD)
Had read the book which was a difficult one to get your head round but this adaptation was excellent and Robert Pattinson nailed it perfectly no wonder film went to Cannes should win an Oscar for this performance alone.Twilight It's not so not every one will like it but what a refreshing change to usual film goers .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cosmopolis [DVD]
Cosmopolis [DVD] by David Cronenberg (DVD - 2012)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews