Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album I have heard for ages.
A friend recommended this Album to me and I owe them a drink! Every track is good and the songwriting is superb. It has a distinct sixties feel to it and makes a refressing change to the usual garbage you hear on the radio. It even has a track featuring Paul Weller on vocals. Would highly recommend this to anyone who likes the Beatles, Kinks, Small Faces, Zombies.
Published on 26 Sept. 2012 by Paulw

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not the best but not the worst
Published 10 months ago by glen c bowler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album I have heard for ages., 26 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
A friend recommended this Album to me and I owe them a drink! Every track is good and the songwriting is superb. It has a distinct sixties feel to it and makes a refressing change to the usual garbage you hear on the radio. It even has a track featuring Paul Weller on vocals. Would highly recommend this to anyone who likes the Beatles, Kinks, Small Faces, Zombies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over the moon with this one!, 31 Dec. 2012
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
This thoroughly enjoyable album, the fruits of Andy Crofts' (better known as Paul Weller's organ/keyboard player) labours, is one of those quintessentially English albums that harks back to the best of our classic pop/rock/mod bands of the last fifty years. Throughout Fables Of History, you can hear The Kinks (Jennifer Sits Alone), The Coral (Lights Out), Dodgy (Revolutionary Lovers) and a run-through of some of the best sounds, grooves and beats our country has had to offer over the last half-decade. The melodies and harmonies of The Beatles, the minor-key masterpieces of The Zombies, you can hear the love of all of these bands in The Moons' music. The best thing about it, is that they manage to keep it fresh, new and without you feeling they've lifted anything lock, stock and barrel from other artists. A really cracking collection of songs and a superb live band to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NME 8/10 MOJO ***, 24 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
NME magazine gave the album 8/10: "The quality of the harmonies, the instrumentation and most importantly the songs - is high, and remains so throughout" Hamish MacBain
Best track: "Jennifer (Sits Alone)"

MOJO *** "Again plundering the 60's talismans of West Coast folk-rock, sunlit psych-pop and British Invasion...their Lennon/Kings-indebted ballads are the real highlights"

The Sun (Single Of The Week) "Jennifer (Sits Alone)": This clanging sixties -inspired track is beautifully poignant and spotlessly arranged. Taken from the band's upcoming second album, which is already causing a heady buzz of excitement"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY album of the year., 27 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
This album blew me away. I have predicted bigger things for this band for some time. Now is their time!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Moons are a must buy for those that like their pop tinged in mod culture!, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
There are many splashes of the sixties here with The Byrds, The Kinks and Small Faces' sounds all identifiable alongside The Jam and dreamy, psychedelic ballads. But this is far from a tribute album to a bygone era, these are tight, well crafted tunes performed by a tight group prompting a very enjoyable listening experience. And the sound still sounds relevant today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best record for years, 24 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
Incredible piece of work. Brilliant band, brilliant sound, brilliant songs, brilliant flow through the album and wonderful production. This is the record the Small Faces, Kinks and Ocean Colour Scene might have come up with if they'd created a supergroup, been fed through a psych/glam/pop filter and had Jimmy Miller sat at the control desk. Sheer joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece!, 18 Sept. 2013
By 
V. Thorn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
An authentic 60s sound with some absolute classics. If you have every thought "why can't people write great songs like the 60s anymore", well Andy Crofts certainly can. Love the whole album, and the track "Jennifer" is an absolute gem. Wake up world - look what you are missing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Moons - Fables of History review, 26 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Of History [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Great album, some cracking songs here, on vinyl you get right back into the music, the album cover is excellently psychadelic and the white vinyl superb. The B side Something Soon is my favourite, listen on :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 19 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
The Moons, Fables of History, a very good album well written very catchy songs very well performed. i have seen The Moons live and they are a class act, i give the album a 5 star ratting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album love it, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Of History (Audio CD)
well written songs
funky tunes sounds great in the car on the beach and anywhere else
keep it going chaps
cant wait for the next work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fables Of History
Fables Of History by The Moons (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews