Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works really well
Bought this phone to contact my family in Canada as Virginmedia charge a fortune for overseas calls. It was really easy to set up. The build quality is good and it has a rock solid connection to my network. The phone calls are totally clear with no background hiss or time lag. It sounds even better than my standard phone.

I agonized over this purchase for a day...
Published 22 months ago by Alan Spellman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good packaging, was difficult to setup
I received the 4088 today. I was a little apprehensive purchasing the product as the other customer reviews are Very polar (1 stars and 5 stars). People love it or hate it.

Firstly, the packaging and product are very nice, very smart (5 stars). You can see that they have used designers. Ignore all the silly comments about it doesn't sit snug on the base...
Published 13 months ago by Stephen Lawton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works really well, 2 Dec 2012
By 
Alan Spellman "spelly" (Eaglescliffe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX DUALphone 4088 - SkypeTM and landline phone Black Brand New UK Version (Electronics)
Bought this phone to contact my family in Canada as Virginmedia charge a fortune for overseas calls. It was really easy to set up. The build quality is good and it has a rock solid connection to my network. The phone calls are totally clear with no background hiss or time lag. It sounds even better than my standard phone.

I agonized over this purchase for a day or so because it is quite expensive and there are cheaper alternatives. Perhaps you get what you pay for. I am really pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good packaging, was difficult to setup, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Stephen Lawton "thanks" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX DUALphone 4088 - SkypeTM and landline phone Black Brand New UK Version (Electronics)
I received the 4088 today. I was a little apprehensive purchasing the product as the other customer reviews are Very polar (1 stars and 5 stars). People love it or hate it.

Firstly, the packaging and product are very nice, very smart (5 stars). You can see that they have used designers. Ignore all the silly comments about it doesn't sit snug on the base. They are right, it doesn't but when placed on the base it does beep clearly, so you know you've hit the target. Screen size is small, but is of no concern, you can see it clearly.

When I first set it up it took about 30 mins for me to work out the correct procedure - someone's instructions are placed below, follow them to the letter and you'll get the handset registered and working.

There are no instructions provided, except for a quick start guide which shows where the cables are plugged in but doesn't detail how to register the handset with the base.

I just couldn't get the handset to recognise the base and was going to send it back. It is very frustrating and not explanatory, but then found this guide below. Once I got it working I made a few calls and received some calls, I've got a Skype number and that was called and it works.

So, so far so good, we'll have to see how it goes but just beware of allowing the base to get an IP address from the router and the reset button has two modes (1 second press - register handset, 15 second press - full reset)

_________________________________________________________________________

"To anyone with the IP problems not sure if it works on the 3088 but this is the fix for the 4088 phones:

If you could not retrieve the information, please try the following procedures to reset your phone:

Before going to step 1 Reset the Modem...

1) Base: Power on the base station and place network cable in the base

2) Base: Press the reset button for 15 sec. ( LED should flash shortly at 10 sec, but just to be sure press it for 15 sec. )

3) Base: Wait 10 min where the base station lights - yes wait 10 mins!

4) Handset: Reset Handset – Menu –settings – advanced –reset

5) Base: Press the reset button (1 sec) again on the base station to enable registration mode

6) Handset: Place handset in charger, now it starts searching for open base station (if handset still cannot found the base station, please try again on step 4 – 6 and put the handset on charger immediately after base station enter to registration mode on step 5)

7) When base station is found – please follow the instructions described on the screen.

Please now try to log in to Skype.

Note:

Long press “reset” button (around 15 sec) indicates to reset Dualphone but not registering HS to base.

Short press “reset” button (around 1 sec) indicates registering HS to base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Duffer, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX DUALphone 4088 - SkypeTM and landline phone Black Brand New UK Version (Electronics)
The actual unit is alot smaller than expected compared to images as shown on Amazon. Set the unit up and followed instructions to the letter and allowed the batteries a good 12 hour charge. The battery indicator showed full charge, however after a few minutes of use it went red. Obviously got a duffer, but also did not like the small size of the LCD panel and text is very small. Overall this unit has a very cheap feel to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Improved version of 3088, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX DUALphone 4088 - SkypeTM and landline phone Black Brand New UK Version (Electronics)
After years of usage the previous model 3088 had 2 buttons not working. 4088 is an improved version with better quality keys.

The base is smaller and the handset registers with the base straight away. I don't know why some previous reviews mentioned problems. Also, the handset stands well on its base similarly with 3088. As with 3088, a beep indicates that the hanset "sat" well in its base and it is charging, so no problems in misplacing it without charging.

The charge holds well although I used the batteries from the 3088 which I had replaced (after years of usage) with larger capacity ones (1000 mAh) than those provided by the manufacturer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good Skype and landline phone, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX DUALphone 4088 - SkypeTM and landline phone Black Brand New UK Version (Electronics)
I'm so glad I purchased this phone. Call quality is great, both landline and Skype. The phone's range from base is excellent, just like a cordless house phone should be today. I noted comments others made about battery life. I work from home and spend several hours at a stretch on the phone. I noticed that I got around an hour or so before recharging was required. I bought 2x1000mA rechargeable batteries from Amazon for about £2.90 and the problem is fixed. It's easy to speak for a 3 hours or more without recharging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 out 5 for intended purpose, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX DUALphone 4088 - SkypeTM and landline phone Black Brand New UK Version (Electronics)
you have to be a real cry baby to give this phone anything below 4/5 starts. features wise you can set the phone on mute, hold, (hands free) speaker phone which is quiet good & clear. (for some) the down side maybe the buttons which may seem a little stiff at times but that's not a problem (at least for me it isn't). ringtones may also be turn off with a very limited choice, the batteries supplied are crap but i've replaced the them with 1800MaH which makes a huge difference. bare in mind this isn't an ordinary (cordless) home telephone so batteries do drain especially when in use so my advice is put it on charge when not in use. that's all folks all in all it's a really good internet phone especially if you don't want to spend too much money & also if you're constantly travelling or have a a skype landline like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and easy, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX DUALphone 4088 - SkypeTM and landline phone Black Brand New UK Version (Electronics)
I found it very easy to set up, if a bit long. Immediately synced with my Skype account. Works very well for landline calls as well. My only criticism is the markings on the buttons are poorly designed and difficult to see in anything other than good lighting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX DUALphone 4088 - SkypeTM and landline phone Black Brand New UK Version (Electronics)
Excellent product after connection and charging the phone worked first time. Clarity is superb and as I ring China frequently the cheap cost of calls justify's the outlay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars still waiting to install, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX DUALphone 4088 - SkypeTM and landline phone Black Brand New UK Version (Electronics)
I've had this phone for about 2 weeks now and still haven't managed to set it up although I have read all through a lot of the tips and reviews. I am so disappointed that I now feel that I have no choice but to return it. Which is a shame because I was looking forward to using it. How exactly does one get it to work?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good battery, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX DUALphone 4088 - SkypeTM and landline phone Black Brand New UK Version (Electronics)
Just talked for 2 hours on skype and the battery indicator is still 100% full. Also good sound quality, easy to set up and other obvious nice features. But I'm positively surprised about the battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews