Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revealing, intimate portrayal of a unique individual
Let me start by stating that I am biased. I believe Freddie Mercury to be the greatest showman of the late 20th century. People talk about him being a one off, but that really is understating it. Michael Jackson was a one off too, but his style has been copied ad infinitum, whereas anybody foolish enough to try to copy what Freddie could do onstage would surely be laughed...
Published 22 months ago by Bug DeLug

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD
It took a while to be sent. But the overall DVD is ok thanks. Good quality DVD nice picture screen.
Published 5 months ago by Emma Bradley


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revealing, intimate portrayal of a unique individual, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Pretender [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
Let me start by stating that I am biased. I believe Freddie Mercury to be the greatest showman of the late 20th century. People talk about him being a one off, but that really is understating it. Michael Jackson was a one off too, but his style has been copied ad infinitum, whereas anybody foolish enough to try to copy what Freddie could do onstage would surely be laughed at. With seemingly sparse footage of him away from the stage and the band though, I wondered if this would be just the usual boring retread of the same well-worn anecdotes. When I saw the likes of Paul Gambaccini and Peter 'Phoebe' Freestone I became even more concerned. I shouldn't have been. Hearing them gleefully talking about Freddie in his heyday was fantastic.
So did the film live up to my expectations? No, in fact- it far succeeded them. I'd go as far as to say that this is actually superior to the Queen documentary, as a lot of this is unseen footage, and the story concentrates on certain aspects of Freddie's life that hasn't really been covered before. The Queen story is a fascinating one, but has been exhausted over the years, offering very little in the way of something new. This, on the other hand is full of fascinating material, and goes a long way towards humanising a great man. What it ultimately does though, is to make him seem more complicated, more complex and mysterious than ever before.
With lots of footage of Freddie offstage, and off-guard the film basically covers the solo years of the mid to late eighties, beginning with him discovering and falling in love with dance music in the gay clubs of New York and Munich. Based around an interview that Freddie gave to David Wiggs in which he talks about his love life, his career and his views on the future of the band at that point.
I could go on forever, but will wrap this up by saying that the pieces about his relationship with the risible Paul Prenter, his duets with Mosterrat Caballe and Michael Jackson, and his stint with the Royal Ballet are just some of the highlights here. The black and white footage of him on the set of the 'Days Of Our Lives' music video is what really seals it for me though. Close to the end of his life, but ever the showman- these few clips look wonderful and show a softer, more reflective side of his huge personality. Sterling stuff indeed.
The blu-ray looks and sounds fantastic. The HD footage of outtakes from the video for 'I Want To Break Free' was thrilling, and I'm looking forward to the blu-ray re-releases of all the old Queen videos that must be surely forthcoming. Now that Rhys Thomas (who has done a fantastic job piecing all of this together) has said that there will be no more documentaries I should imagine that a lot of that cut footage from those old video shoots will surface on some Greatest Flix package in the future. Here's hoping.
So, with stories of llamas in studios, band in-fighting and lavish excess all-around I must say that this has been a thrilling addition to the Mercury canon, and though it seems that all areas have been exhausted I am hopeful that other aspects of his career (the mid-to-late 70's period for a start) will be covered in the future. For now though- this is an exhaustive and thrilling look at an enigma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There Can Be Only One, 27 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Pretender [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
In my opinion Freddie Mercury is the greatest rock singer/frontman ever. No one can get close to him and he is basically a legend, which he wanted/thought/knew he would always be.
This starts out with an audio of an interviewer talking to Freddie about his childhood, then kicks starts to around his solo project Mr.Bad Guy. Youll get to see new footage of Brian May, Roger Taylor and others and maybe not seen for some time interviews with Freddie himself. Next you'll get to Barcelona album and then the final part is about him with aids.
There are some bits I recognized but this is mainly towards the end and if you havent seen Queen-Days of our Lives then you wont know. There are some snipets of let me live with freddie and rod stewart as well There must be more to life than this with Michael Jackson
This is set out very similar to the Queen Doc, Days of our lives which features new and old interviews with his close friends.
if your a fan of Freddie Mercury then youll love this dvd/bluray set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best freddie documentary, 28 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i am a huge queen fan and have bought many queen and freddie mercury DVD's over the years. i thought that this one would just be all the same old footage thrown together but i was wrong.this DVD contains alot of never before seen footage and brand new interviews with brian may, roger taylor, jim beach (their manager) and others.i was suprised by how intimate and personal some of the footage was,for example,the home video of freddie with his god son on christmas day 1990.this DVD is a must-have for all freddie fans and is the best documentary about freddie that has been released to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Watch, 7 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Great Pretender [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
The Documentary is great however this has been on TV in HD so I just Sky+'d it.
Surprised it was on TV so soon after release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 26 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. S. Kinsey "kinseysusan" (Plymouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best thing I have ever seen about Freddie. Lots of new information about him. Far more stuff than the BBC documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Pretender [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
A very nice and impressive document.
I think that every Queen/Freddie fan should own this although it doesn't tell me anything I did not know before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Freddie, 26 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Pretender [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
A very pleasent surprise to get something from the Queen stable which is genuinely new and exciting to watch. An awful lot of the footage most people will not have seen before. Okay there are snatches you will recognise but in these cases it will be extended beyond what was previously available. There is a lot also which gives us a great insight to the explosively busy 1980's period of Freddie's life.

The real skill in producing this release has been in avoiding labouring areas of Freddie's life which have been covered in detail before - his early years and his death. Also, quiet rightly, the emotional tears to camera of earlier releases, which at the time I am sure were genuine, are not duplicated here, rather a more reflective and no less respectful appreciation of the man that was both a fallible and normal human being and one of the world's biggest ever entertainers and which shows that almost 21 years have passed since his untimely death.

My only critisism of the content has to be the treatment of Paul Prenter, Freddie's personal assistant/runner of the eighties. He is squarely blamed by all and sundry as a bad influence on Freddie, the cause of many of the divisions in the band and the reason Freddie became so immersed in the gay club scene which ultimately led to Freddie cintracting AIDS.

Freddie's promiscuity is nobody's fault but Freddie's but its almost as if the band and others are saying "If Freddie had not got mixed up with Paul Prenter he would still be with us today". I have no doubt that Paul was bad news but Freddie was an adult who knew what he was doing. AIDS only came to light in the 80's but the rockstar lifestyle that Freddie led was never likely to end well.

I would highly recommend this to any fan and hope that you enjoy it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A MUST for any Freddie Fan...... BUT, 3 Oct 2012
By 
Stephanie (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Pretender [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
It could have delved more into his childhood and early music with queen, but did love the section on Monsteret Caballe and all the footage of Freddie. Please watch the other doc, 'Lover of Love, Singer of Songs', even second hand. It's better in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The king's documentary, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Svetlana Polikanova (Moscow, Russia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As for a FREDDIE fan, rather than Queen fan, for me it was nearly the first and definitely most precious thing ever officially published on DVD, concerning documentaries. Because it's about Freddie's SOLO. Even unusual - so much got used to hear the group's story. And so fresh to hear what you hear in this one. Only dear and very loyal people talking, adorable footage and so many funny, interesting, cute details here and there, that you never thought of thinking of Freddie. I LOVED this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The REAL king of rock, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Freddie is my hero & I admit I buy anything with him or Queen in it. However this is a very well made DVD & is worth the outlay to even the occasional fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Pretender [Blu-ray] [2012]
The Great Pretender [Blu-ray] [2012] by Freddie Mercury (Blu-ray - 2012)
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews