Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gay rom-com for the mature audience?
This is about the fall-out from a growing attraction between senior politicians from opposing parties! Martin is openly gay socialist and David is a married in the closet liberal (which seems to be very right-wing in Swedish politics). Martin's career is on the way-up so dating the opposition could harm his progress. David's career is in decline so dating the...
Published 18 months ago by Happy Ending Seeker

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not funny rom com
Love scandi stuff but this film left me cold , very difficult to read the sub titles and I found the story line too flimsy . A gay romance but so so light I was falling asleep . This isnt borgen . There are much better gay films that have come out . This is rather old fashioned .
Published 18 months ago by cartoon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gay rom-com for the mature audience?, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four More Years [DVD] (DVD)
This is about the fall-out from a growing attraction between senior politicians from opposing parties! Martin is openly gay socialist and David is a married in the closet liberal (which seems to be very right-wing in Swedish politics). Martin's career is on the way-up so dating the opposition could harm his progress. David's career is in decline so dating the opposition could be the final nail in the coffin. But date each other they do ...
The guys aren't buffed from the gym - they are forty-somethings with slight paunches hanging over their underpants (one pair jazzy and one pair dowdy!) Martin does have a very cheeky-grin though and you can imagine him leading someone astray - not that David needs much pushing!
The film is funny (and bitter-sweet too - compromises & failures are faced & accepted) and the acting is of a good standard.
The real angst isn't about the couple being accepted as gay but about them being accepted as a couple from opposing parties - which I thought sent an intriguing message about Swedish cultural values! However, the gay sex scenes all tastefully fade out after a few snogs whilst the one explicit sex scene is between a man and a woman - so perhaps Swedish mainstream cinema-goers aren't any more ready to pay and see "gay stuff" than their British counterparts?
One semi-flippant comment from me ... whilst I'm no stranger to watching sub-titled movies, this is my first Swedish one and I had to have the volume quite low otherwise I couldn't keep the image of the Muppets Swedish Chef from entering my head! So that ruins any high-brow pretensions I may have about myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swedish, Political, Gay, Rom Com- and its brilliant!, 27 Sep 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Four More Years [DVD] (DVD)
This is simply a fantastic film, sort of a `Thick of It'' in Sweden but with a gay love story thrown in. It is all about next Prime Minister to be David Holst (Bjorn Kjellmann). He is happily married to his job as Party Chairman of the Liberal Democrats, brought up as a Baptist he was taught to believe that most fun things were wrong, causing him to indulge in a life of denial including punitive masturbation (that is think of someone ugly while you're doing it). After his election goes south he has to rebuild the party from the ground up and starts to look at things a bit differently.

Then he runs into the stalking horse of the Socialists Martin, and as such sworn enemies of all things `right' ,(in the political sense that is), but there appears to be a frison between the cut back king of the right and the spend advocate of the left. David is also married to his personal assistant who has more good one liners than an average stand up, so often steals the show. He also has to deal with his ageing parents, inability to write speeches, bad pronunciation and his ratings free fall in the polls. Meanwhile Martin (Eric Ericson) starts to have feelings of a non political nature for his alleged nemesis.

So with bags more characters and humour thrown in, this is just one of those films that had me laughing for more than average in a film. It is all well acted and the comedy timing is perfect, but at the same time it has pathos and the emotions of all concerned are dealt with in a mature and grown up way, which is often missing from `rom coms'.

Special mention has to go to Tova Magnusson- Norling, who directed this and plays David's wife, Fia, she is just superb but plays it just right to leave the lime light for the two main characters, this is also a gay film that avoids the bedroom squelch as it would be superfluous, so if that is your thing, then give this one a miss. But if you want something original, funny. Sweet in a good way and ruddy entertaining then this is a must see, so long as you don't mind the sub titles or can actually speak Swedish - absolutely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 25 Mar 2014
By 
J. A. C. Smaal "JaninAMS" (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four More Years [DVD] (DVD)
full of humor, have seen it twice in the cinema and alreadt 3 times at home.
a nice relaxing movie, even for straight people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful political satire, 19 Mar 2014
By 
Petrus (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Four More Years (DVD)
Delightful romantic comedy that pokes fun at politics and the behind-the-sceen antics of would be politicians. All this revolves around the unlikely relationship of the two main characters from apposing political parties. Good comic timing from the cast who had the good fortune of a clever and witty screen play to work from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Politicians who are civilized AND gay - obviously NOT made in the USA, 26 Jan 2014
By 
J. Martin (New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Four More Years [DVD] (DVD)
Four More Years is the lighthearted and charming story of a forty-something Swedish politician named David, the leader of a political party, whose wife Fia is his chief aide and adviser.

In the aftermath of a disastrous election, which instead of making him Prime Minister as expected loses his party almost all its influence in parliament, David falls in love with Martin, a younger, openly gay leader of the opposition party that trounced David's in the election. (The movie was directed by the actress who plays Fia.) There follows an Adam's Rib sort of dilemma, with lovers on opposite sides of a professional matter of great importance to both - in addition to David's anxiety over coming out as gay.

Americans and other Anglophones may have a hard time believing politicians of opposing parties ANYWHERE can treat each other with unfailing mild-mannered courtesy, but it may well be true that Swedish politicians actually are civilized human beings, unlike the snarling savages who dominate American politics.

And gay American men may not recognize the intensity of the passion between David and Martin. I think the two guys are very sexy, both individually and together, but viewers conditioned by the hairless twenty-something gym bunnies and feral copulation that distinguish American gay movies will find these two men unattractive.

Anybody looking for fireworks - either political or sexual - will be disappointed in this movie; but as a look at how civilized, mature (but not old) gay men with serious interests outside of themselves might behave, Four More Years is a revelation and a welcome breath of fresh air in the world of gay movies.

All the performances are good, the dialog is intelligent, the story is not as predictable as it could be, and there are some very entertaining supporting characters - particularly David's mother and Martin's father. I enjoyed the movie enough to watch it again right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fine Swedish comedy, 22 Nov 2013
By 
Blue in Washington "Barry Ballow" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Four More Years [DVD] (DVD)
Entertaining political satire with a distinctive Swedish flavor. A high-ranking and popular 40-something politician takes a shot at the country's premiership, but is undercut in national elections by the poor performance of an allied party. He's out politically and somehow liberated personally. That sense of liberty leads an unexpected attraction to another man--who happens to be a political enemy and openly gay. The budding new romance and subsequent coming out has predictable zig-zags as the newly out pol finds himself with a lot to reconcile.

This is a story told with deft humor and honesty. The principal actors are believable in their physical ordinariness and humanity... Read more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise good fun and touching, 20 July 2013
By 
gearoid fitzgerald (leeds, west yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four More Years [DVD] (DVD)
Funny, touching and a non mainstream couple and relationship. 2 politicians on opposite sides meet by chance and fall in love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and frolics aside - well worth watching, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four More Years [DVD] (DVD)
One doesn’t naturally associate fun and frolics with Sweden (Abba aside) but in this case I feel an exception should be made. Although politics is quite a risible subject at the best of times it is rarely a laughing matter but again I feel an exception should be made with this film.
It is well paced, intelligently written and obviously written by an insider who is au fait with policy formulation. It is not a comedy farce by any means but it does have its moments. The two central characters are believable and have their faults but see in one another something they want – freedom for one and stability for the other. If you liked The Trip, which has some parallels with this film, then you will like this one. There is no trip of course - except over a carpet. Overall a good solid film possibly unique and worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written romantic comedy with some real laughs, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four More Years [DVD] (DVD)
I was a little hesitant to purchase this film, as the last few that I have got from TLA releasing have been a rather sad disappointment. Good thing I decided to give "Four More Years" a chance, as it was a really witty, well portrayed romantic comedy, with some laugh out loud moment.

What sets this comedy apart is the fact that its two central characters are from opposing ends of the political spectrum, with David (being the current chairman of the Liberal Party) and Martin (being the designated Secretary of the Social Democrats). Reconciling the opposing politics is funny enough, and then add to that mix a closeted married man finding his affections for an openly gay man somewhat overwhelming. David is that closeted man, living the life his constituency demands of him. or more accurately, living the life he thinks that constituency demands of him. He has the liberated and accomplished wife who participates actively in his political life, and a stable home and family (although his parents are somewhat eccentric in their respective social conservatism). Martin on the other hand, is an openly gay man, acknowledged and respected as such politically. It is therefore, surprising that they find common ground and attraction in each other. This of course, is the delightful irony which the movie seeks to exploit.

At the end of the day they are both human beings seeking affection, loyalty and love in another. Strip the veneer of politics, and social mores (or perceived mores) and you have two men that have a great deal in common. The question remains however, will their respective politics draw them apart? Will the pressures endemic to David's conservative politics and leadership (of a party which is failing daily in the polls) allow him the liberty of committing to Martin, or will he continue to live the facade he has created for himself and his voters?

Genuinely portrayed in a manner which is both believable and enticing, this movie makes for some important social commentary whilst being pleasantly entertaining. There is some careful crafted humour, which had me laughing out loud at times. Which in itself is a sign of a well written and considered script.

A gem of a movie, and one well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "All's Fair in Love & Politics".....should have been the........, 1 Aug 2011
......title of this Great little Swedish film (actually released as: "Four More Years")

(( RATING ADVISORY XXXX RATING ADVISORY: NC-90 / 18----No one under Age 90 is allowed NOT to see this movie ))

(( AND...did you know that wearing the wrong shoe size can lead to meeting (running into, actually) the Love of Your Life? ))

A CAST OF CHARACTERS (by order of importance, naturally):

- David Holst (Our Guy) - (played by: Björn Kjellman) ---- He's our Starched & Proper Male Lead, a Swedish Liberal Party big-wig, who is now attempting to gain a position within his party which could lead to him ousting the current Opposition Party Prime Minister. Oh, yes, he thinks he has things under control (but does he?). Already married for 12 years to a strong, strong woman who manages his career, Our David is, in reality, a "Lost Liberal" adrift in a marriage of convenience. More to the point, he is, EMOTIONALLY, this wee, shivery lamb of a guy who we just wanna reach out for and enfold to our chests. Anyway, Readers, maybe his situation is not quite so bad as all that. He is, at least, nice looking....pleasant in temperment....and usually in control---when not being yelled at. (Oh, and he wears great neckties). YET...yet, what he really, REALLY needs is simply to meet "That Person" who can show him what he has been missing for about 40 years of his life.....and then introduce him to WHO he really is. (An Aside for your viewing pleasure: I don't think "That Person" is too far off right about now).

- Martin Kovac - (played by: Eric Ericson...how original) ---- Good Golly....he's here already: "That Person" I just mentioned to you. And in the very pleasing form of our Male Co-Lead.....who is Hunky...who is Charming...and who is (Yikes!) "OUT". Oh, my, oh my. BUT, even worse for Our Guy, is that Martin is (Gulp) an Up-and-Comer in the Opposition Party....you know, the one David is trying to defeat. Nevertheless...Martin's Cool...he's Fun...he's Smooth, and oh so easy to be with. Always sunny-tempered and as steadfast as the Rock of Gibraltar. Gosh, yes, you'll definitely fall in love with Martin because, well, he's just the kinda guy everybody gravitates to. An even better way to describe him is that HE is the Shepherd to David's Little Lost Lamb. -- (( Leaving Martin for now, just let me say that, out of them all, this is the Guy I really, REALLY fell for. You wait and see for yourselves....he makes it so easy to do )).

- Fia Holst - (played by: Tova Magnusson...our Director, herself---Who must be a Bi-Something or other) ---- This character is a "Man of Steel" (oops....I mean "Woman of ....."). And sometimes she's a little Bitchy (well, if you were in this kind of marriage, wouldn't you be?). This is a no-holds-barred Gal who, despite some surface gruffness, will come to recognize and accept what is in her best interests and those of her (Our) man. Actually, toward film's end, you will definitely see her getting exactly what is coming to her...what she deserves (I know, this may sound "harsh"....but you'll probably be laughing your heads off anyway). -- (( Leaving Pia for now, just let me say that, look closely....and you'll find she is working on a little Surprise of her own )).

- Mamma Holst - (played by: Inger Heyman) ---- A hard-as-nails Roofer (er...I mean Mother) who often calls her son, David, whatever-the-Swedish-word-for-Schmuck is. She pulls no punches when it comes to telling him what he SHOULD HAVE done. This is, for sure, a Mother who is definitely less easy on the eye...and the ego...than the Mother in my recent review of "He's My Girl [DVD] [2009]".

- Barbro.."The Shocker" - (played by: Lisbeth Johansson) ---- Kudos by the Dozen to whoever was smart enough to put into the script, this priceless character and the words that come out of her mouth. In a scene shot at dawn, she is on her knees, peeking into and knocking on a small, ground level bedroom window....trying to grab the attention of our rudely awakened David....as he's attempting to keep her from seeing "That Person" in the bed he has just jumped from. Folks, this is an Hilarious...Almost-Caught-Red-Handed scene.....You'll be falling off your seats laughing.

GENERAL THOUGHTS....PLUS SOME THINGS THIS FILM CAN TEACH YOU:

- And these 2 Hot Swedes are one of the cutest couples you'll ever run into (there's nothing Cold about Sweden)

- And be wary of elevators....just one short ride together in one...and a person can become Smitten

- And Oh, Wow!....When your eyes meet across a crowded room....

- And what do you do when he's innocently standing there...spouting political parables? Why, you lean into...and kiss him, of course. (Yummy)

- And if you've recently fallen out of love....these 2 Guys will take you right back into it. What a Treasure!

- And this is a movie where you really get to find out what a guy might do to a Horny Baptist. So, like it or not....Take that!

- And when asking your Lover how many "Others" BEFORE you....ask only for a Ballpark Figure (saves Heartache)

- And have you EVER heard of "Punitive Wanking"? (Just think about it....Mustn't you punish yourself for having Impure Thoughts?)

- And you'll never believe the funny-weirdness of a minutes long "On-line Dating" montage (Don't tell me YOU'VE been there!)

- And when you've caused a "Someone" to walk away.....That's when your heart feels Torn Out. Absolutely Wrenched from your chest!

- And, oh yes, there are Sad Moments....Misunderstanding Moments (BUT....don't you Folks out there dare give up on this)

- And now for a Final AND -- Bright RED...is the very best Color for these 2 Lovely Guys. Trust me...in the end, it is the color which will Warm Your Hearts!

TWO FINAL NOTES:

- The DVD Extras has "Behind The Scenes" shots which are not captioned.....NEVERTHELESS, you can easily tell these 2 Leads are having a ball with one another between shots. Makes for a Good and Fun Production, doesn't it?

- (You'll never have guessed): I've fallen in love with this movie.....Well, these 2 Guys, actually....David & Martin. Indeed, it's hard not to go back and revisit them every few days.

PS--Be sure and grab a look at (and my review): "Different From Whom? ( Diverso da chi? )"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa72802d0)

This product

Four More Years [DVD]
Four More Years [DVD] by Tova Magnusson-Norling (DVD - 2012)
£5.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews