Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as expected, but with added surprise!
I bought this head as an extra to have in my bag for things like my Gorilla pod etc. I needed something strong, simple and compatible with Manfrotto RC2 quick release plates.

The head is well built with very similar features to the branded version of the same head! It is clearly a cheaper product but none of its parts seem weak in any way and I can't see it...
Published 17 months ago by bencordy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not fit for purpose and broken
Unfortunately it was a case of you get what you pay for with this

The release lever would not release the quick release plate and in any event they was a lot of play in where the plate sits in the head, the whole idea of a tripod is to keep your camera rock steady!

The company were initially reluctant to refund me offering a half refund...
Published 17 months ago by Nick


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as expected, but with added surprise!, 7 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional Ballhead with Quick Release Plate for Monopod Tripod Camera Canon 70D 60D 700D 650D 600D 1100D Nikon D7100 D7000 D5200 D5100 D3200 Pentax LF24 (Camera)
I bought this head as an extra to have in my bag for things like my Gorilla pod etc. I needed something strong, simple and compatible with Manfrotto RC2 quick release plates.

The head is well built with very similar features to the branded version of the same head! It is clearly a cheaper product but none of its parts seem weak in any way and I can't see it breaking very easily due to it's solid construction. The head is fairly light, heavy enough to trust it in holding expensive gear but still light enough to use with shoulder mounts, gorillapods and other light supports. Other reviews have a made a fuss of the thread size and compatibility, the truth is decent quality tripod legs will almost always use the larger thread for connecting heads and so this head fits fine, if however you do have a tripod with the small thread size (same as cameras) you will need a little grub screw but as mentioned by others they are very cheap!

As mentioned I needed something that could take Manfrotto RC2 plates, another review says this isn't compatible. That wasn't true in my experience. The supplied plate is identical to the RC2 and fits my other Manfrotto mounts. The head happily holds my genuine Manfrotto plates but was a little fussy with one of my copied plates. So in short the supplied plate fits other mount and in the most part other manfrotto plates fit this.

All in all it's great for the price. Will prob buy another soon for other items!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good value if you're on a budget, 2 Jan. 2014
By 
Andy Koch (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional Ballhead with Quick Release Plate for Monopod Tripod Camera Canon 70D 60D 700D 650D 600D 1100D Nikon D7100 D7000 D5200 D5100 D3200 Pentax LF24 (Camera)
I ordered this head as a secondary to go with a Manfrotto clamp; mainly because the quick release is compatible with the Manfrotto RC2, so there's no need to change plates. The quality is better than you would expect for this price, it works fine and holds a DSLR plus battery grip and telephoto lens securely.

Nevertheless there's a few minor things:

- while the quick release is compatible to the RC2, it has a tiny bit of play in it, one small strip of fabric tape on the opposite side of the lever cures that.

- the quick release release button (? . . . The one in the base that unlocks the lever from the open position to engage when you put the camera on the head) and the release safety (the little anti-accident lever under the main release lever) have definitely more tolerances than the Manfrotto built ones.

- The first few movements were a little 'grindy', as if there was sand on the ball; it showed as scratch marks in the surface of the ball. This disappeared after a few movements and is just cosmetic.

- there's no friction adjust, so you have to be careful when releasing the ball.

- delivery took 2 weeks, you can get the 'original' next day.

All in all very minor drawbacks and to be expected for a third of the price of the comparable Manfrotto product.

My opinion is that it's a very good value for a compatible secondary head. If you can afford it and you want it as your main head, go for 494RC2 or 496RC2 (with pan release), which will cost around £45 and £55 respectively, even if only for the friction control.

The negative reviews about the wrong size threads can be disregarded in my opinion. Heads are mounted commonly on 3/8-16 thread, not on 1/4-20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Value, 23 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional Ballhead with Quick Release Plate for Monopod Tripod Camera Canon 70D 60D 700D 650D 600D 1100D Nikon D7100 D7000 D5200 D5100 D3200 Pentax LF24 (Camera)
This is a surprisingly robust product and represents exceptional value, at the time of writing. Unfortunately, by May 2015 it has seen a substantial hike in price, making it somewhat less of a bargain, but is still a sturdy device.

I purchased it principally to use on a photographic walking pole. This is basically like a monopod, but has a handle incorporated for walking or hiking. The pole incorporates a tripod screw and this is adjustable through 90 degrees in one direction only, so is somewhat limiting in use.

I was looking for a ball and socket head that also incorporated a quick release plate and was surprised to discover that few are available at a reasonable price until I latched on to this unit. If truth be told, it is larger than I would have liked for its intended purpose, but this unit won't pose any issues when tripod mounted, which I have to say would be for the vast majority of photographers. But its size works for it.

If the ball is too small, it won't be able to hold heavy equipment at many angles and when a heavy camera/lens combo is attached it could "creep". I am pleased to report that this unit grips the ball very tightly indeed, and the tightening lever is nice and firm in use. Unusually, this is the first quick release plate system that I've owned where the release handle actually incorporates a safety pin release that has first to be turned through about 110 degrees before the release lever can be disengaged to release the plate. This positive action on the part of the user means the camera won't inadvertently come adrift.

Re-attaching a camera is a doddle as when the release handle is operated it stays in the "open" position until the plate is attached. When this is done, pressing down on the plate when it is correctly positioned, it releases a spring loaded pin that automatically returns the lever to lock the plate in place.

The only "niggle" that some may find is that the unit base is threaded for the larger professional kit 3/8" screw mount, whereas some may find that their tripod is equipped with the smaller camera sized 1/4" unit. A very simple screw-in adaptor is available cheaply, and given their low cost it is a pity that one couldn't be included within the overall purchase price. Fortunately, I already have a few for such emergencies, and one will be needed for my hiking pole, but many won't be expecting to have a possible problem fitting this unit to their tripods.

Despite the one niggle that some may experience, I can only reiterate that this is a solid product, well finished, and at an exceptionally low price for what it offers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ballhead!, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional Ballhead with Quick Release Plate for Monopod Tripod Camera Canon 70D 60D 700D 650D 600D 1100D Nikon D7100 D7000 D5200 D5100 D3200 Pentax LF24 (Camera)
Sturdy construction, nice quick release plate.

Works great with my Konova K2 slider with a Canon 650D.

Recommended ballhead, and it's great value because of the low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good alternative to more expensive brands, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional Ballhead with Quick Release Plate for Monopod Tripod Camera Canon 70D 60D 700D 650D 600D 1100D Nikon D7100 D7000 D5200 D5100 D3200 Pentax LF24 (Camera)
A solid piece of kit at a very reasonable price. It has the standard 3/8" female thread at the bottom for attaching it to a standard tripod screw, and a 1/4" male thread at the top to attach it to your camera. If your tripod or monopod has a 1/4" male screw on top then either you already have a rotating device on it so you don't need this one, or, if definitely fixed, then you need to also order a 1/4" to 3/8" adapter sold by Amazon for around £1.

This ball-head is very similar in appearance and function to the Manfrotto MN-484RC2 at £35, and like the 484 comes complete with a quick-release assembly and plate. This plate - as well as my existing Manfrotto 200PL quick-release plates - snaps into this kit as firmly and securely as into the more costly brand. This ball-head is - understandably given the price - possibly not as well engineered as the Manfrotto, but, although not originally bought for the purpose, has proved to be perfectly capable of supporting my battery-gripped Canon 6d DSLR with heavy Canon TS-E 90mm lens.

All-in-all a very credible alternative to the much more expensive Manfrotto product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
Kim Fyson (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional Ballhead with Quick Release Plate for Monopod Tripod Camera Canon 70D 60D 700D 650D 600D 1100D Nikon D7100 D7000 D5200 D5100 D3200 Pentax LF24 (Camera)
Extremely good value and more or less identical to the Manfrotto product which looks similar. The quick release plate is identical to the Manfrotto plate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not fit for purpose and broken, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional Ballhead with Quick Release Plate for Monopod Tripod Camera Canon 70D 60D 700D 650D 600D 1100D Nikon D7100 D7000 D5200 D5100 D3200 Pentax LF24 (Camera)
Unfortunately it was a case of you get what you pay for with this

The release lever would not release the quick release plate and in any event they was a lot of play in where the plate sits in the head, the whole idea of a tripod is to keep your camera rock steady!

The company were initially reluctant to refund me offering a half refund?

When I protested they issued a full refund

Gonna pay more and get a Manfrotto head
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needs a 3/8" Threaded rod, 4 Dec. 2013
By 
Graeme V. (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Professional Ballhead with Quick Release Plate for Monopod Tripod Camera Canon 70D 60D 700D 650D 600D 1100D Nikon D7100 D7000 D5200 D5100 D3200 Pentax LF24 (Camera)
I wanted to connect this to a "Manfrotto Super Clamp without Stud " ( B000JLM4XG

This has a "Normal 1/4inch thread. The BullHead here has a 3/8 inch Thread.

Both Super Clamp and Bullhead have female connectors , so you need a male/male 1/4inch to 3/8 Inch
such as: 1/4"-3/8" Converter Screw for Flash Mount Holder Stand (2-pack) ( B0092KPDTW ) ... or you can use reducing adaptors.

Anyhow think about it before you order, to avoid having to pay postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good construction, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional Ballhead with Quick Release Plate for Monopod Tripod Camera Canon 70D 60D 700D 650D 600D 1100D Nikon D7100 D7000 D5200 D5100 D3200 Pentax LF24 (Camera)
As long as you are not needing a spirit level (and I don't as I use this mostly on a monopod and sometimes on a crane to give flexibility to the camera angle) this is a very solid and well constructed piece of kit. The quick release plate fits the Manfrotto plates of the same design very well and the camera can be switched quickly, adjusted, and tightened with no risk of movement or slip. Good value for the price, recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 'pod head at bargain price., 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional Ballhead with Quick Release Plate for Monopod Tripod Camera Canon 70D 60D 700D 650D 600D 1100D Nikon D7100 D7000 D5200 D5100 D3200 Pentax LF24 (Camera)
I read the mixed reviews on here and was a little apprehensive but went ahead and bought myself two of these. One for my Monopod and the other for my tripod. I can understand other buyers frustration at needing to obtain an adapter screw but jeez, you can get five for £1.50 on here. However I think they should include one in the box.

The quick release plate is well made and snaps reassuringly into place on the head, automatically closing the latch, which can then be locked by a simple lever for safety. The plate is firmly held and has very limited movement, holding
the camera securely.

The Ball Head moves smoothly and locks rigid without excessive force on the lever.
It does almost double the weight of the monopod but it also doubles its versatility.

All things considered its a great item at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews