Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i would have thought....
...one of his favourite phrases when about to launch into one of his manic stories of frustration with goods, services, people and himself. at times one of the funniest men on the planet if you are into that kind of 'complaining about the smallest thing and turning it into major incident' humour.

I even watched the Batterburg Tattoo video not long after seeing...
Published 14 months ago by abonlaptops

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not funny
Having seen a few Rhod Gilbert sketches on the youtubes, I ordered these dvds expecting a really good laugh. Unfortunately it was not to be, as these aren't funny at all. A lot of Gilbert's humour is observation based, which I find lazy and trite. A significant portion of each dvd is just him complaining - which can be very funny when done right, but in this case it...
Published 5 months ago by horse


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i would have thought...., 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhod Gilbert Collection 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
...one of his favourite phrases when about to launch into one of his manic stories of frustration with goods, services, people and himself. at times one of the funniest men on the planet if you are into that kind of 'complaining about the smallest thing and turning it into major incident' humour.

I even watched the Batterburg Tattoo video not long after seeing the live show at Fairfield Hall...and still laughed out loud (not many comedians can do that to me) ...in part to be fair because the Fairfields acoustics for comedy are crap and I missed some of his under-the-breath mutterings.

Despite the apparent ridiculousness of the plots it easy to see yourself and others in his tales of woe.

Sometimes his self-flagellation for being so petty gets a bit indulgent but is more than made up for by the side-creasing humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love rhod gilbert, you will love this!, 15 Dec 2012
By 
H. M. Runnalls (Lincoln, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhod Gilbert Collection 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my sister as she really likes rhod gilbert, but i must admit i loved watching it as much as she did. It a combination of his best work, all in one boxset! its a must for any fan!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Stand-ups of his generation, 17 Mar 2014
By 
D. Watt "DaiHard" (Cwmbran) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhod Gilbert Collection 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I saw all these shows live on tour. Each one is brilliant and some of the extras are class too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Discs 1 and 2 brilliant side splitting rants, disc 3 so so., 1 Feb 2014
By 
J. M. Hockey "(OFW)" (Nature Coast, FL, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhod Gilbert Collection 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Discs 1 & 2 were hilarious, not a dry seat in the house. Normally I would give five stars and certainly the first two discs were worth that. The third and final disc disappointingly was only mildly amusing and compared to the others chimed like a cracked bell.
Consequently I have reduced my rating to four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best comedian around at the moment, 19 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Rhod Gilbert Collection 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
3 of the best stand up DVDs I have ever watched. I didn't expect anything from the first, as it was bought as a gift - but it is one of the most relentlessly funny shows I have ever seen.

The art of Rhod's standup is starting small and gaining momentum until he hits a breakneck speed, at which point he seems totally out of control.

All three of these shows are great, and have themes which make them slightly different (most noticeable is the anger management diary in "Battenburg tattoo".

Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it..., 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhod Gilbert Collection 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Only new to the thinking along the lines of Rhod but he is one funny guy and a purchase for a fan is a must..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Rhod Gilbert Collection, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhod Gilbert Collection 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
i Purchase it as a Birthday present for my Father, who loved it, and now is looking for more of Rhod Gilbert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhod Gilbert Collection 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Good value for a hilarious comedian, Rhod Gilbert is brilliant and this makes a brilliant gift or something to sit with at home with mates and popcorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars makes me proud to be Welsh!, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhod Gilbert Collection 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
its three DVDs of Rhod Gilbert - need I say more?! so funny, ill definitely watch them again. brought back memories of seeing him in Southampton with his flaming battenburg tattoo tour :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody funny stuff, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Aliasalpha (Australia, crappiest part) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhod Gilbert Collection 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Rhod Gilbert is easily the modern master of the angry rant, a definite recommendation for anyone who gets easily frustrated by the stupid crap modern life throws at them and loves the idea of responding with witty rebukes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa66847e0)

This product

The Rhod Gilbert Collection 1-3 [DVD]
The Rhod Gilbert Collection 1-3 [DVD] by Rhod Gilbert (DVD - 2012)
25.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews