Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-made and does what it claims
Using this to mount a Pentax-M 50/1.4 lens to a Canon 7D, so the chipped metadata matches; which is very useful for cataloging in Lightroom. Of course the body cannot record the true aperture of each shot, but it doesn't matter in terms of exposure as the body meters through the lens. Focus to infinity remains available though as the lens/adapter combo isn't matched to...
Published 16 months ago by DFM

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and works
The spring to lock the lens in place to the adapter is not exactly in the right place so the lens doesn't lock in, but its cheap and nearly works, cant really fault it
Published 3 months ago by Kyle Wong


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-made and does what it claims, 23 Mar 2013
By 
DFM (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mount Adapter For Pentax K Lens to Canon EOS EF 5D 7D 30D 40D 50D 60D 500D 550D 600D 1100D T3i T2i T3 AF Confirm DC130 (Electronics)
Using this to mount a Pentax-M 50/1.4 lens to a Canon 7D, so the chipped metadata matches; which is very useful for cataloging in Lightroom. Of course the body cannot record the true aperture of each shot, but it doesn't matter in terms of exposure as the body meters through the lens. Focus to infinity remains available though as the lens/adapter combo isn't matched to the body, it can be a little out (in my particular combination infinity focus happens when the lens barrel marker is at 25m).

The adapter fits securely to both the lens and body, the PCB is hand-finished so they've taken the effort to remove any excess plastic that would catch on the mount. If you're removing the adapter in the field you may need something pointy to move the spring lever out of the way - this *just* engages on the PK bayonets, which I prefer as it keeps the adapter on the lens when you dismount the body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and works, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mount Adapter For Pentax K Lens to Canon EOS EF 5D 7D 30D 40D 50D 60D 500D 550D 600D 1100D T3i T2i T3 AF Confirm DC130 (Electronics)
The spring to lock the lens in place to the adapter is not exactly in the right place so the lens doesn't lock in, but its cheap and nearly works, cant really fault it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works very well, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mount Adapter For Pentax K Lens to Canon EOS EF 5D 7D 30D 40D 50D 60D 500D 550D 600D 1100D T3i T2i T3 AF Confirm DC130 (Electronics)
Works well. Fits ok (after adjusting the pentax-side locking spring with a very small star screwdriver otherwise it didn't lock onto the pentax lense). Allows focus to infinity. AF confirm beeps when focus is achieved. Remember you will not get automatic "open aperture viewing" -you have to open the aperture wide to focus then stop down to adjust the exposure and take the picture. Will be buying some more so I can leave one on each of my lenses permanently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy fit., 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mount Adapter For Pentax K Lens to Canon EOS EF 5D 7D 30D 40D 50D 60D 500D 550D 600D 1100D T3i T2i T3 AF Confirm DC130 (Electronics)
This is what i needed for my canon camera to use old lens. Fits perfect. Easy to fit and take it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Works as an adapter, but the AF confirm is questionable, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mount Adapter For Pentax K Lens to Canon EOS EF 5D 7D 30D 40D 50D 60D 500D 550D 600D 1100D T3i T2i T3 AF Confirm DC130 (Electronics)
I needed an apapter for my SMC Pentax-A 50mm F2 lens so that it could fit the Canon EOS 60D currently in my possesion. It surely does fit, despite it moving around maybe a millimeter or two (normal when it comes to some K lenses when applied to adapter ring). The AF-confirm is however somewhat strange, thinking things are in focus when they really are a couple of millimeters away (makes a huge difference on F2). I also have to apply some heavy under-exposure settings since the camera tends to heavily over-expose when I stop down the aperture.
So, I guess it works as an adapter but the over-exposuring and especially the AF-misjudgement is quite nagging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mount Adapter For Pentax K Lens to Canon EOS EF 5D 7D 30D 40D 50D 60D 500D 550D 600D 1100D T3i T2i T3 AF Confirm DC130 (Electronics)
Very useful for those with some old lenses but a new body, the auto focus chip is especially helpful for Ap setting and for metadata. No issues with build qualit when left on the lens and no issues in use. All in all recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Standard of fit atrocious, do not waste your money., 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mount Adapter For Pentax K Lens to Canon EOS EF 5D 7D 30D 40D 50D 60D 500D 550D 600D 1100D T3i T2i T3 AF Confirm DC130 (Electronics)
This adapter is almost completely useless. The fit to the lens is quite loose and the fit to the camera body exceedingly tight, meaning that it is difficult to fit the leans and adapter to the camera, and almost impossible to remove the adapter from the camera. There is insufficient width on the adapter to get a decent grip with the fingers and I was reduced to using a pair of pliers to remove it, at which point it went straight into the bin. It must be possible to make an adapter that actually fit properly, but this isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice quality item - does whats expected of it, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mount Adapter For Pentax K Lens to Canon EOS EF 5D 7D 30D 40D 50D 60D 500D 550D 600D 1100D T3i T2i T3 AF Confirm DC130 (Electronics)
I bought this to use 2 vintage Pentax lens on my EOS DSLR (for using these in manual/AV priority mode)
Having bought a cheaper version from another supplier which not lock the lens properly, thought I'd try this one based on reviews.

This one locked the onto lens perfectly (Attach the adapter to the lens before mounting on your camera)
You can program the "on adapter chip" to set focal length / aperture so EXIF data can be captured for your programmed setting.
Programming is a little involved but does works (Internet search will get the you instructions) once you realise when it says press the shutter, it means all the way down as if taking a picture (not half pressing it)

In use on the camera this adapter feels sturdy and the lens felt secure.
A quality item - very happy with it - Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it purports to do!, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mount Adapter For Pentax K Lens to Canon EOS EF 5D 7D 30D 40D 50D 60D 500D 550D 600D 1100D T3i T2i T3 AF Confirm DC130 (Electronics)
Fits snugly - hardly any play.
The 'chip' seems to function although it isn't necessary to have- but it might prove useful in some situations.
Only FOUR stars - because only time will tell if it performs flawlessly!

A great accessory to have - enables all your old favourite Pentax K-mount lenses to be brought out of the loft!

The downside is that if your camera has a 2/3rds sensor, your old wide angle lenses won't be so 'wide' any more, but the plus side is that your telephoto/zoom lenses will offer a third more magnification - 200mm becomes 300mm; 500mm becomes 750mm etc!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mount Adapter For Pentax K Lens to Canon EOS EF 5D 7D 30D 40D 50D 60D 500D 550D 600D 1100D T3i T2i T3 AF Confirm DC130 (Electronics)
I bought this so that I could use my old pentax 50mm f1.7 lens with macro extension tubes with my Canon 60D. whilst it works it is a devil to get off a there is nothing to grip. That said it is cheap and does do what I bought it for so shouldn't complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews