Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He does it again!!, 10 Sep 2012
By 
Michael Boyle "Mickey" (Essex ,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When I'm President (Audio CD)
Ian Hunter is amazing 73 years old and still making great music. This album is a bit of a throwback in that it rocks like Hunter hasn't rocked in years.The opening track Comfortable (flyin' scotsman) set the pace,a mix of Chuck Berry and Little Richard, Hunter is clearly enjoying himself on this track whilst The Rant Band give him superb backing on this rousing opener. The title track is fantastic a tune that will stay in your head for days after hearing it and it boasts a great lyric "I'm gonna lean on the 1% when i'm president" he sings in the chorus. There are some other tough rockers (What For) and the wonderfully playful Wild Bunch which is a hoot. Bittersweet ballads Black Tears and Fatally Flawed are both superb and middle of the road rockers Saint and Just the Way You Look Tonight are both very good. As usual with Hunter you have razor sharp lyrics "Still whining 'bout your bonus-man up your ridiculous, Give a little extra-you can't take it with yer!" he tells the greedy bankers. The closing track Life is a quiet end to the album and is a tribute to his fans that have stayed loyal to him "Can't believe that I'm still here and your'e still here" he sings - moving and poignant a lovely song. The Rant band are top drawer musicians and Hunter's voice has never sounded better (he can't be 73 can he ?) and most importantly he still clearly means it - astonishing ! Buy with confidence this is another must have Ian Hunter disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If given a chance this could find new converts but in any case for fans - this is a must buy, 3 Sep 2012
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: When I'm President (Audio CD)
How old is Ian Hunter? Well I've never heard him in better voice, and all the old energy is still present and correct. Lyrically he is as sharp and wicked as ever, ensuring that the slower tracks are not just mawkish, throwaway love songs but thoughtful meditations on life that tell genuine stories. On the rockier tracks, and some of them are pretty heavy, Hunter bellows like in the old days and puts "singers" fifty years younger than him into the shade. Add to all this a superbly tight Rant Band, and perfect backing vocals, this is a decidedly old fashioned record;- old fashioned in the sense that it has been made with care, attention and love and not just churned out to fulfil a contract or a passing fad. My 14 year old son saw me listening to this and actually sat down and listened with me through to the end before going off to put the album on his Spotify Playlist. If HE can be convinced that this album provides potentially the best amalgam of beauty and hard rock he will hear this year then there is hope for the youth of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 73 n Still Rocking, 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I'm President (Audio CD)
At age of 73,Mr Hunter Defies his Age.Like most of his Fans he is old. Fortunately,like a good wine he get's better with age.Having followed the career of this gentleman from the outset i am pleasantly surprised that in later the years the material get's better and better.
For me personally the stand out track is Ta Shunka Witco,Ian's voice is soft and the music takes hold.The first two tracks hark back to younger days with Ian belting out some seriously heavy sounds."when I'm President"takes a swipe at the fickleness of the politicians in general.Overall this album for me represents the varied styles from rock to almost country that Ian is so good at.long Live Rock n Roll and Long Live Ian Hunter....Not many people narrate a song as well as he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Ian Hunter masterpiece!, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I'm President (Audio CD)
This is a must for all Ian Hunter fans and just grows and grows on you. However, if you are a lot younger than most of us that follow his music, then grab a download to hear one of our most underated song writers in action, with a really tight band behind him. Personally, I think he just gets better and better and this album pays credit to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Sep 2012
By 
I. H. C. Mellor "mihcm" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I'm President (Audio CD)
Like a good wine, Ian Hunter just seems to improve with age. He is able to work at his own pace in his own way and that is why his music is always so refreshing. His last album 'Man Overboard' was excellent and this new album is a great follow on. Starting off with a fast rocking number, 'Comfortable' to get the listener into the mood for the rest of the album. Some really great songs on this album and a continuation of IH's ability to bring out brilliant albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant!, 31 Dec 2012
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I'm President (Audio CD)
73-year old Ian Hunter, former frontman of Mott The Hoople has no right sounding this good at his age. While his contemporaries croon their way through standards album, Hunter has turned his nose up at that kind of nonsense and released a powerful, swaggering, energetic album a man half his age would be proud of. Indeed, if The Rolling Stones had released this very album, the press would be falling over themselves to lavish it with praise, but - seeing as it's Ian - it seems to have passed all but fans and people who go out of their way to seek out the best music by. This truly is rock 'n' roll at its very best, the kind of album that, when it has finished, you feel as if you've been picked up and shaken. With grooves to make your body involuntarily move along and guitar lines that make you grin appreciatively, When I'm President is a sheer pleasure to listen to, from start to finish. There is such a rich mix of harder and softer edged songs, but they all share sharp lyrics and great melody, making it such a winning album. I'm not going to pick out favourite tracks, they're all superb, from ballsy opening statement "Comfortable" to the gently philosophical epilogue, "Life". There haven't been many better than this one this year, that's for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S ALMOST 2013 ..., 27 Dec 2012
By 
STEVE J MEYER (CARSHALTON, SURREY United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I'm President (Audio CD)
... and still the sounds just keep on coming.

First the confession - I've been a Mott the Hoople disciple since first hearing "Thunderbuck Ram" on an Island Sampler "El Pea" way back in c.1971 ie over 40 years ago and have been worshipping at the shrine ever since. Plus buying virtually everything that has appeared under the MTH/IH and related tag ever since.

The only thing I can think to add to previous reviews is the observation that so many of these reviewers appear to have different "favourite" tracks - which can only be a statement on the overall quality of the writing & playing of this excellent epistle. For the record, the ones that do it for me after just a couple of plays are "Comfortable", "When I'm President" (of course), "Just The Way You Look Tonight", "Ta Shunka Witco" and "Life".

OK - there are points in virtually all the tracks where a "believer" can recognise a phrase or passage that sounds familiar from previous times but so what. It's what we signed up to all those years ago. I'm also assuming that almost-croaky vocal is the natural consequence of an almost life time in "rock music" but it suits the age he and we have all become.

My only regret (and fear) is that only the die-hards will give this the ear-time - so hats off to those reviewers who are educating their off-spring of a time when music meant something to a generation and still does.

One final word - this record needs to be played as loud as your ears can manage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Age of Rock 'N' Roll, 26 Oct 2012
By 
Leonardo27 (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I'm President (Audio CD)
It must be something in the water. This year has witnessed an unprecedented number of fine new releases by some of rock's elder statesmen but, whaddya know, this one might just top them all.

At the remarkable age of 73 former Mott the Hoople frontman Ian Hunter delivers probably the best album of his entire career, growing old disgracefully and apparently loving every minute of it.

Hunter roars, rocks and croons his way through eleven classic examples of the rock 'n' roll songwriter's art, revealing along the way a depth of lyric writing for which he is rarely given sufficient credit and challenging the familiar assumption that "Rock and rollers, you're all the same..."

Despite his advancing years, Ian Hunter is clearly still one of the boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hunter still hungry, 11 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I'm President (Audio CD)
How can you stop a man who is still passionate about his work, the album sounds fresh and a little raw... what does this mean ?? Well Ian is in charge of a bunch of new songs, getting them onto record is his mission with a bunch of talented musicians that understand he wants it right, the mix of music is more "Shrunken Heads" with a variety... attitude and power, with other songs showing poetic thoughtful intelligence. Well worth a listen. if your a Hunter fan you will love it if new to this man you will want more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "UNTA" does it again, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I'm President (Audio CD)
Followed this guy since 72 ! That's a long time
but the guy has never made a bad album. His words are better than Dylan and he rocks more than the Stones! Enough said realy . Old and new fans (if you love rocking out) buy this album and the rest of his cannon of work you'll love em
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When I'm President
When I'm President by Ian Hunter & The Rant Band (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews