Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The details...
To help the previous reviewer, and to hopefully give a rating to this wonderful bargain that it deserves!
This set contains (I believe) Solti's complete Wagner Opera recordings, ranging chronologically from Die Fliegende Hollander to Parsifal.
Die Fliegende Hollander
Tannhauser
Lohengrin
Tristan und Isolde
The Ring
Meistersinger...
Published 23 months ago by Paul Thomas

versus
8 of 105 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An F for the Marketing Department
First off, I usually admire Amazon for their innovation and the way they make it easy to buy what I want. But this The Operas by Wagner is an exception and a very poor showing. I have searched throughout the offer, but as far as I can see, it fails to tell me which operas come in the boxed set. So I have to buy an 83 set without knowing the contents. I cannot imagine...
Published 23 months ago by Von Ulm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The details..., 15 Sep 2012
This review is from: Wagner: The Operas (Audio CD)
To help the previous reviewer, and to hopefully give a rating to this wonderful bargain that it deserves!
This set contains (I believe) Solti's complete Wagner Opera recordings, ranging chronologically from Die Fliegende Hollander to Parsifal.
Die Fliegende Hollander
Tannhauser
Lohengrin
Tristan und Isolde
The Ring
Meistersinger
Parsifal
Also included is a bonus CD containing excerpts from the Tristan rehersal and some digital Ring concert excerpts from the early 80's
A 150 page booklet with synopsis and an introduction is included as well as full librettos are supplied in .pdf format on a CD-ROM.
All recordings are with the Weiner Philharmoniker except Hollander which is with the Chicago Symphony.
For reviews of the Operas, please see the Amazon reviews of those releases, or other souurces.
Needless to say the Solti Ring is legendary, but since I only got this on a few days ago I haven't had a chance to sample it really yet, however given that the Solti Ring on its own is still currently retailing at only a few pounds less than this set, this is a substantial bargain even comparing this set to other Wagner Opera sets out there at the moment.

Excellent preparation for the Wagner bicentenery next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solti's box set is the best around for those new to Wagner, or collectors who want the popular operas in one set., 6 Nov 2012
By 
Ultrarunner (Perth-West Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner: The Operas (Audio CD)
I was going to buy two of Solti's Wagner operas, but the price at the time was the same as the entire box set, so as you can see I bought it, and have rewritten the review. The Solti Ring cycle is still the best modern cycle around even today, and is worth the price of this box set. But this is not the complete set of Wagner's operas, for it does not include Rienzi and earlier operas. In this review, I will include Wagner recordings of the past, so if you wish to to explore further after listening to this box set, you have a guide.

This Decca set is made of sturdy cardboard, which opens up to give you a flap. You can use this, to place in the CDs you wish to play. The box is white and red underneath and around the sides. The list of operas are underneath. The sleeves are made of light cardboard, but you can retrieve your CDs from the sleeves easily. They are very light grey, with the CD number and opera printed on the front. The back is red with CD number, opera, track numbers and arias. The CDs are black with CD number, opera and names of singers taking part in the opera. All Stereo except one opera. Also, the excerpts on the bonus disc are digital. How is the sound? Well, it is Decca, their sound is always excellent; they are renowned for it. This fragile booklet, is in English,German and French. Included are the names of singers and parts they play, track numbers and arias, plus an essay on Solti. There are synopsis of the operas. But the translations and libretto's are on a CD Rom. I must point out, that many of the box sets do not have this. So we are lucky. I might add you may find my review different, for I have arrived at this point by trial and error, and a lot of experimentation. This way of reviewing suits this new technology and is for those who are buying sight unseen.

A little history about Solti; he was inspired by Toscanini, also, fellow Hungarian Nikisch who died in 1922. He was the only role model for Furtwangler, and teacher of Hungarian Reiner, who in turn taught American Bernstein. Monteux who was also inspired by Nikisch, taught American David Zinman. To know about the past, can help us understand today.

( CD 1-2 ) DIE FLIEGENDE HOLLANDER: Chicago Symphony Orchestra and chorus. The playing is superb, the singing is generally impressive, and the recording is vivid. South African Norman Bailey is a deeply impressive Dutchman, Janis Martin a generally sweet toned Senta, Martti Travela a splendid Daland. Kollo an illiminating Erik, worth hearing. The 1955 Bayreuth Live recording of this opera,(stereo) conducted by Keilberth swiftly. Varnay, Lustig, Uhde (best Hollander ever), and Weber. I tend to favour this version.

( CD 3-6 ) LOHENGRIN: Vienna Philharmonic. (VPO) Digital. Sotin, Domingo, Jessye Norman, Nimsgern, Randova, fischer-Dieskau. This opera is one of the crowning glories of Solti's long recording career. For opulence of sound and all round vocal glories of excellent, this set is unbeatable in the modern era. EMI- VPO cond Kempe 1964 -stereo. Jess Thomas, Grummer, Fischer-Dieskau, Ludwig, Frick. Kempe directs a rapt account of Lohengrin, a fine monument to a great Wagnerian. His singers are magnificent. The 1943 Met version is conducted by Leinsdorf, Melchoir, Varnay, Thorborg, Sved. What singing.WOW!. The Bayreuth orch live 1959 recording, cond Von Matacic. Konya, Grummer, Crass, Blanc, Gorr, Waecher.

( CD 7-10 ) DIE MEISTERSINGERS VON NURNBERG: VPO. Bailey, Moll, Weikl, Kollo, Bode. The Bayreuth orchestra 1943 cond Abendroth. Schoffler, Kunz, Suthaus, Scheppen. Excellent.

( CD 11-14 ) PARSIVAL: VPO. Fischer-Dieskau, Hotter, Frick, Kollo, Keleman and Ludwig. Flower maidens include Lucia Popp and Kiri Te Kanawa. This set is admirable. The singing cast could hardly be stronger. The 1962 recording of this opera, Bayreuth (live) cond Knappertsbusch is one of the great opera recordings, according to the Gramophone Guide 2009. Jess Thomas, London, Neidlinger, Hotter and Talvela.

(CD 15-28 ). THE SOLTI RING CYCLE: VPO. Remains the most electrifying account of the Ring on CD. In 1999 readers of the Gramophone magazine voted the Solti Ring the greatest recording ever made; their choice was seconded by their counterparts at the BBC music magazine in 2011.(booklet)

DAS RHEINGOLD: London, Wachter, Kmentt, Svenholm, Bohme, Neidlinger, Flagstad, Watson and Madeira. An outstanding achievement.

DIE WALKURE: Nilsson, Crespin, Ludwig, King, Hotter, Frick. Solti's interpretation remains most satisfying. Die Walkure Act 1 recorded 1935 with the VPO cond Walter. Lotte Lehmann, Melchior, List. A classic recording. Die Walkure, recorded 1961, stereo, LPO cond Leinsdorf. Vickers, Brouwenstijn, Ward, London and Nilsson. Believed to be amongest us Ring fans a great recording of the opera.

SIEGFRIED: VPO. Nilsson, Hoffgen, Windgassen, Stolze, Hotter, Neidlinger. The great love duet at the end between Nilsson and Windgassen is the best ever recorded. Solti captures the emotional aspect of this peice which most conductors cannot. The DVD Dutch Ring, Kruse and Altmeyer cond Haenchen, nearly reach those emotional heights.

GOTTERDAMMERUNG: VPO. Windgassen, Fischer-Dieskau, Neidlinger, Frick, Nilsson, Watson, Popp, Gwyneth Jones, Guy, Helen Watts, Grace Hoffman. The strengths of this Solti set place it on a level of its own. The Kempe version recorded live in 1960 at the Bayreuth Festival is good. The singers are Hopf, Stewart, Nilsson and Bjoner.

Other Ring cycles are: Bohm's Bayreuth 1966 cycle, live. The the first 1955 Ring. Keilberth conducting Bayreuth Festival orch. Varnay, Hotter, Udhe, Windgassen. I prefer the 2nd 1955 version with Martha Modl cond Keilberth. You can pick up cheaply these individual 2nd cycle 1955 Ring operas from Amazon, released by Walhall eternity series. Furtwangler's EMI Rome 1953 Ring cycle with Modl and Suthaus. Also, his La Scala, Milan 1950 cycle with Flagstad. The Bible of Ring cycles recorded 1926-1931. Conducting shared between Coates and Leo Blech. Coates swift tempi are exactly what Wagner wanted. Widdop, Nellie Walker, Gota Ljungberg, Schorr, Leider, Leisner, Austral, Melchoir, schipper, Olsewska, Easton and Australian Marjorie Lawrence.

( CD 29-31 ) TANNHAUSER: ( Paris complete version). VPO. Sotin, Dernesch, Kollo, Jungwirth, Bailey and Ludwig. Solti provides an electrifying experience, showing how much effective the Paris version is compared to the usual Dresden version. An outstanding cast. Dresden Version recorded 1955. Bayreuth Orch live, cond Cluytens. Greindl, Windgassen, Fischer-Dieskau, Traxel and Brouwenstijn.

(CD 32-34 ) TRISTAN UND ISOLDE: VPO. UHL, Van Mill, Nilsson, Krause, Resnik. A good recording. I like it. Others prefer the live Bayreuth version conducted by Bohm. A classic recording is EMI's Furtwangler conducting the Philharmonia Orch. Flagstad, Suthaus, Schock, Fischer-Dieskau. My favourite is the 1952 Bayreuth Festival recording conducted by Von Karajan. Vinay, Modl, Weber and Uhde.

(CD 35) BONUS: Tristan und Isolde rehearsal. Orchestral excerpts from the Ring cycle. Digital. 1983.

REFERENCES: Blyth, A.(Ed) Opera on record. 1979. Hutchinson of Australia. Gruber,P. The Met Guide to recorded opera. 1993. Thames and Hudson. Penguin classical music Guides, 1993 and 1996.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bargain of the century, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner: The Operas (Audio CD)
For the price, this is a miraculous set. It does not, however, contain any libretti or lavish confectionery, so if you're into those sorts of things, and if you think they are indispensable to an opera collection, then I would suggest getting the Solti operas SEPARATELY, so that you may enjoy the luxury jewel cases, libretti, etc. which, of course, entails further monetary expenditure. This, however, suits the thrifty Wagnerian like a glove. For, after all, it is the MUSIC that counts, first and foremost!
As many customers have noted already, this one IS indeed by far the best all-round Wagner collection in terms of sound quality, vocal performances, and orchestral rendering. It is also a dream to have included in this set the Ring Cycle, which, if bought singly, would cost almost twice as much!

So, don't be shy: fork out, and BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly good!, 24 Nov 2012
By 
enthusiast "enthusiast" (sussex, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner: The Operas (Audio CD)
I had been wanting to buy the Solti Ring for years but was always hoping it would come down in price. I grew up with it but never bought my own copy. I was happy enough with the Bohm but something was missing. Finally, I cracked. This deal, currently at less than the price of the Solti Ring set alone, seemed too good to miss.

I had never really thought of wanting Solti's Tristan or his Parsifal but they are stunningly good. His Lohingrin and Tannhauser are also excellent. And it was nice to finally get a Flying Dutchman into my collection. I'm not really a fan of this Meistersinger, however. Solti's studio recordings of Wagner sound more dramatic and live than most live ones. I wouldn't say that any of these is "the best" available but I wouldn't argue too strongly with those who would make that claim. Certainly these accounts are as good as any and they are sufficiently different to be very rewarding additions to any collection.

And then the Solti Ring. That really is magnificent. There is nothing quite like it. I have just been listening to Solti Wagner and nothing else for weeks now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner: The Operas (Audio CD)
If you are a Wagner fan, this is the set to go for. You can hear Solti's love of Wagner's music, it is in every note you hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Wagner set on the market, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner: The Operas (Audio CD)
Included are all of Wagner's mature operas. Each and every performance is excellent. In my view this is without doubt the best Wagner set on the market. And the price is a bargain.

Note1: the libretti come on a CD ROM.
Note2: the Meistersinger included here is Solti's earlier studio recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 105 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An F for the Marketing Department, 15 Sep 2012
This review is from: Wagner: The Operas (Audio CD)
First off, I usually admire Amazon for their innovation and the way they make it easy to buy what I want. But this The Operas by Wagner is an exception and a very poor showing. I have searched throughout the offer, but as far as I can see, it fails to tell me which operas come in the boxed set. So I have to buy an 83 set without knowing the contents. I cannot imagine anyone who would do such a thing? It would be a bit like buying a car without knowing the size and power of the engine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wagner: The Operas
Wagner: The Operas by Georg Solti (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews