Customer Reviews


209 Reviews
5 star:
 (164)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not completely different ...
This is a review of the 2012-re-release of the "Complete Boxset" (Monty Python's Flying Circus - Complete Series [DVD]). In case you were wondering (like I was) how this release differs from the 2008-release (Monty Python's Flying Circus - The Complete Boxset [DVD] [1969] [2008]apart from the much lower price), this might help in your purchasing decission. On the first...
Published 14 months ago by mde

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty expensive for such poor "remasters"
I would first like to say that I have been a huge Python fan since childhood, and I think it's ridiculous that the BBC won't remaster the 4 Python series, and put them out for sale in the UK.

A "Best of Flying Circus" set, just doesn't cut it, if, like me, you are a true fan, who wants to see all the sketches that they ever did!

You have to get these...
Published on 11 Mar. 2006 by TV


‹ Previous | 113 14 1521 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 13 Oct. 2009
I think we all knew that this was extra special at the time. Monty Python was must see TV in our house. I don't really have anything to add to the praise that has been heaped on this collection other that to say that although the Amazon synopsis above refers to this a a comedy sketch show and in many ways it was, but with a twist.

A major Python innovations was to subvert the sketch, there was often no punchline or the sketch would either be interrupted or would blend into the next sketch. The sketches would also be seen to have an ongoing life of their own as the characters and situations might crop up in the background of a later sketch

One of my favourite memories around watching Monty Python was being called by my mother with the immortal line, "Monty Python's F'ing C is coming on."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pythons at their best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best comedy of all time, 4 Oct. 2010
By 
Rui Miranda - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simply a must have, how can you live without Monty Python in your live? ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT BUY, 9 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THIS IS ONE BRILLIANT BOX SET.THE QUALITY IS EXELLENT AND IT CONTAINS SOME OF THE BEST AND FUNNIEST SKETCHES.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, I RATE THIS DVD 10 OUT OF 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nudge, nudge, say no more!, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hit and miss sketches, including some classics, packed in the
worst DVD package ever conceived where the DVDs have to
be prized out with a crowbar.
I guess the team took great pleasure
in their innovative idea of avoiding conventional punch lines to
most of their sketches but, sadly, this inescapable fact was in my
opinion a big mistake and ruins many of the sketches. Even the
Famous parrot sketch nearly fails due to its end. I could go on,
but, nudge, nudge, I'll say no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How times change, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Python shows its age - the way it looks, sounds, feels and drags. Yes there are funny sketches but a great deal which even then missed the mark. Absurd and surreal situations aren't necessarily amusing. The final series - by which time John Cleese had left - is devoid of anything funny unless of course you count Michael Palin gurning and putting on a bad American accent the acme of frivolity. I'd rather have an anthrax ripple myself ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
FUNNY AS HELL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It arrived in time for Christmas, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I'm sorry but as it was bought as a Christmas present I have no idea what they thought. I do know that they are Monty Python fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Travel, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Takes me back to the start...! This is the perfect anthology of Monty Python. Apart from being funny, it is also a social documentary of the life and times of the nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the Spanish Inquisition !, 19 Jan. 2009
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Its `Monty Python' what more do you need to know !!
The foundation of TV comedy sketch shows for a generation, we all know 'the dead parrot sketch', 'ministry of silly walks' 'Gumby' et all. What you get here is everything else as has been said some sketches work better than others but as a whole this box is pretty much everything there is warts and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 1521 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monty Python's Flying Circus - Complete Series [DVD]
£14.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews