Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lang Lang plays Chopin's solo piano works
The disc is a gem, the performance is riveting; a 50 minutes DVD charting Lang Lang's career from age 12 through today is a magnificent extra bonus.

The disc is a 2012 Berlin studio recording on the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the Chinese brilliant pianist and concerns exclusively Chopin's solo piano compositions. The outcome of the combination of a...
Published 19 months ago by Serghiou Const

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is Lang Yin or Yang?
If you like your Chopin soft and sentimental then you will like this CD. I did not, played it once and scuttled back to the master - Vladimir Horowitz. I found Lang's passion synthetic and although his playing is technically accomplished, I felt it was omewhat showy. But who am I to say. I cannot play a single note. You decide!
Published 19 months ago by Claudia Saatchi


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lang Lang plays Chopin's solo piano works, 12 Jan 2013
By 
Serghiou Const (Nicosia, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The disc is a gem, the performance is riveting; a 50 minutes DVD charting Lang Lang's career from age 12 through today is a magnificent extra bonus.

The disc is a 2012 Berlin studio recording on the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the Chinese brilliant pianist and concerns exclusively Chopin's solo piano compositions. The outcome of the combination of a brilliant pianist performing works of a great piano composer is a glittering gem.

Lang Lang has a long association and fascination with Chopin:

For 25 of Lang Lang's 30 years, Chopin has been a special companion; one of the first pieces he played was the Chopin Grande Valse brilliante op.18 included in the disc: the pianist was then five.

One of the turning points in Lang Lang's career was when he took first prize at Germany's Ettlingen competition for Young Pianists playing Chopin music. That was in 1994 when Lang Lang was 12. The following year, 1995, was possibly the most defining in Lang Lang's young career. He took part in the International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians, held that year in Sendai, Japan. He was awarded first prize playing Chopin's Second Piano Concerto.

The 200th anniversary of Chopin fell in 2010 and the composer featured even more in Lang Lang's repertoire that year.

The disc comprise all 12 Etudes of the second set of Etudes Op.25 which the young pianist performs with amazing dexterity and expressive power; three hauntingly beautiful Nocturnes; in addition to the already mentioned Grand Valse brilliante, the well known and beloved 'Minute' Waltz; and the glittering Grande Polonaise Brilliante Op.22 preceded by the favorite by the artist Andante Spianato for which he comments: 'it's like a peaceful lake with gentle waves on the surface - it's one of the most beautiful melodies there is to play in the entire piano literature.'

A disc to treasure in your disc collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful music from a truly great musician the "sleeve" is informative an so well produced. A must for any music lover,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend this fabulous CD, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is worth five stars because Lang Lang's interpretation and playing of the music is wonderful and great listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional display of talent, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been on the fence about Lang Lang for several years but, having bought this album, my mind is made up. He is very talented and his interpretation of Chopin is excellent. As an amateur pianist I find Chopin frustratingly difficult and it sharpens my appreciation when I hear someone play it well, as Lang Lang does. I don't think the heavy rubato detracts from the quality - in fact it almost allows one to see Lang Lang at the piano. I especially like his solo Grande Polonaise - every note is clear and he isn't weighed down with the burden of an orchestra.

So if you prefer Rubenstein or Pollini, please go and buy their recordings. But open your mind a little and Lang Lang will impress you deeply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lang Lang: The Chopin Album, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant album in all ways that really shows how talented this pianist really is. Chopin lovers will find this a musical treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Given as a present., 17 Sep 2013
By 
J. W. Cannon (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The recipient was highly delighted with the album. She is a long time Lang Lang "fan" and really appreciates the music of Chopin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Superb, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lang Lang: The Chopin Album (Audio CD)
There is nothing more to say regarding the talents of " Lang Lang" that has not already been said, his playing is simply
sublime, he plays wonderful music with the hands of a ghost, those magic hands and an ear for music which possibly
will never be surpassed. and what could be better to here than " Chopin ".
His own interpretation of Chopins music is so individual that its like nothing you have heard before, or are likely to here
again, I would recommend this cd without a second thought to anyone, who cannot fail to love it like I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lang Lang : The Chopin Album, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reveals a more subtle side to Lang Lang than some of his previous material, such as his recent Liszt CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lang Lang, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoy Chopin and the piano, there is no better recording than this. Lang Lang plays with such deftness and depth of feeling that I find this recording really moving. Wonderful recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lang Lang The Chopin Album, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Peter Mr Kay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very fine + peaceful album for any classical novice. Not as passionate as the previous Liszt album which I loved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lang Lang: The Chopin Album
Lang Lang: The Chopin Album by Lang Lang (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews