Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth buying, despite its limitations
As other reviewers have noted, this looks like a bootleg or 'for the band only' video which has been shot from only a couple of locations, and without much finesse. The producers have employed a few editing tricks to try and mix it up a bit and these work well for the most part, but they're also a distraction sometimes. The footage seems to have been colour-enhanced and...
Published 22 months ago by macca

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing - for committed fans only.
I was really looking forward to this release , but found watching it all the way through rather tedious at times , not something I thought I would ever say about live Who footage. Partially its down to the limitations of the film , yes alot of work has been put into cleaning up the audio and video , but the camera work is very static , for good reasons as already made...
Published 12 months ago by I. Stuart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth buying, despite its limitations, 10 Oct 2012
By 
macca (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Texas '75 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
As other reviewers have noted, this looks like a bootleg or 'for the band only' video which has been shot from only a couple of locations, and without much finesse. The producers have employed a few editing tricks to try and mix it up a bit and these work well for the most part, but they're also a distraction sometimes. The footage seems to have been colour-enhanced and is way better than I thought it would be, having seen the original bootleg video. There isn't always enough light on stage to get a decent image, but mostly it looks fine for what it is. Sound-wise it's also way better than I thought it would be.

For all its shortcomings, this is the Who live on stage during one of their finest tours and it's a pleasure to see. Early on in the show Townshend says they're still finding their feet on the tour, but they'd just finished Europe two weeks earlier, so they can't have been that rusty. It's probably fairer to say the band was always pretty rough and ready, and for all the fact that they could be as tight as a drum, it's their explosive rawness that made them so exciting. There's plenty of evidence of that here...turn it up, sit back and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long time coming, 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Texas '75 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is one of the Holy Grails that has been floating about on poor quality for years. It was filmed by the stadiums own in house cameras - sort of security cameras. But the main thing is the audio, what a great job Jon Astley has done - again. It is certainly for Who enthusiasts only, but my 8 year old loved it too!. Lets hope some more of these get the 'Astley touch'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Who 75 Review, 13 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: Live In Texas '75 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
Great gig and quite an improvement on the previous version. Jon Astley as ever does a stupendous job on the the sound. A very good performance, although I'd love to see The Cleveland show from 75 released, as they were outstanding that night, even better than Zeppelin for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Who live in 1975 for real, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Texas '75 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is certainly an upgrade on the 4reel release with a much clearer picture in a lot of the interference removed. Obviously sourced from a lower generation or the master.

There are no additional camera angles so JAE still spends most of the film out of view behind his amps.

The sound has been remixed by Jon Astley - I don't have a problem with the finished sound quality.

The set is representative of the 75 tour, shame they weren't able to add the same level as extras as 4reel.

Hey its 8 for classic Who at their peak. Its an officially sanctioned product. Just buy it, who knows it might help the powers that be decide to maybe release a few more dvds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Hesitate., 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Texas '75 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
This show has been available on bootleg for many years and now has an official release. The picture quality is marginally better than the bootleg version, but the sound has been improved considerably by Jon Astley's restoration and the 'missing' audio from Squeeze Box has been reinstated. Nevertheless, the picture and sound quality are inferior to modern standards and the camera work is basic to say the least. However, it must be remembered that this is a historic record of the band's classic line up in full flight from one of the strongest periods for live performances in its career. The technical quality of the recording shows its limitations, but the performance is a real treat. This should be one of those DVDs that is played to show anyone unfamiliar with The Who's work just what the fuss was all about and why they were often rated as the best live act of their era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!!!!!!!!!, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Texas '75 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
If you a fan of the who you will love this dvd which they have done even ivf some of the songs were not in you time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars live in Texsas, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Texas '75 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
If you a fan of the who you will love this dvd which they have done even ivf some of the songs were not in you time. My father got me in to this music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Who concerts available on official DVD., 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Texas '75 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
Although the concert is filmed from two camera perspectives this does not detract from the viewing of the concert. This is a highly enjoyable Who concert from 1975, remastered and completely un-cut. Highly recommended to any Who fan. better than the Master Plan bootleg as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories., 13 Oct 2013
By 
A. A. Robertson "Alan Robertson" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Texas '75 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
A true British rock band. First saw these guys live back in 1964 in Blackpool when they were the High Numbers, Freddie and the Dreamers and Swinging Blue Jeans were top of the bill but The High Numbers stole the show. One of Britain's best exports and still brilliant live. Keep it up boys. Rock till you drop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing - for committed fans only., 23 Aug 2013
By 
I. Stuart "CambsMusicLover" (Cambridge,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live In Texas '75 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
I was really looking forward to this release , but found watching it all the way through rather tedious at times , not something I thought I would ever say about live Who footage. Partially its down to the limitations of the film , yes alot of work has been put into cleaning up the audio and video , but the camera work is very static , for good reasons as already made clear in other reviews. More than that however, I get the impression that for parts of the set the band are not really engaged with the material. They play well of course - they almost always did , but they sometimes seem to be going through the motions.
So , great to have , particularily for the Who By Numbers material otherwise not usually played live , but by no means the best Who live set available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live In Texas '75 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC]
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews