Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars arthur askey collection
you always get a good laugh with arthur askey the films are timless they stand the test of time no matter how old they are
Published 20 months ago by frances tucknott

versus
23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mr. askey is a bit "hit-and-miss."
great to finally see more arthur askey films on d.v.d. sadly, he isn't really suitable to film. his acting style hasn't aged very well at all, as you will notice.

still, there are some amusing moments to be had here and there.

the best films here are "band waggon" and "back room boy." here askey had the good fortune to work with richard murdoch,...
Published on 2 May 2007 by Mr. A. E. Ward Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars arthur askey collection, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
you always get a good laugh with arthur askey the films are timless they stand the test of time no matter how old they are
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Arthur Askey Collection, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my husband for his birthday, he likes Arthur Askey but wishes the set included Ghost train
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arther Askey Classics, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arthur Askey Collection [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
Good clean British comedy from Arthur and the regulars who supported him and made him what he was. Many of the films are made during the war and are morale boosting movies for the period. The idiot Arthur always comes out on top and exposes the German plots. He always manages to have the best looking girls chasing him despite his unique looks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arthur Askey, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Ian Hodge (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arthur Askey Collection [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
An excellent collection of old Arthur Askey films,which will add delight to anyones comedy dvd collection.These will keep me in film heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comedy, 26 May 2014
By 
Trevor Silkstone (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arthur Askey Collection [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
Wartime comedy with Arthur Askey I seem to be wanting to remember the old days and fed up of all these modern films so I buy these old films the comedy is not sophisticated, but simple clean comedy. nice songs. that thrilled wartime audiences still giving great pleasure now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, it's official, i'm now an Old Fart !!!!!!, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arthur Askey Collection [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
never thought I'd get into these films, but we are enjoying them at the moment. didn't appreciate his talents when I was younger, but now see that he is a great "all-rounder".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BRITISH COMEDY NOSTALGIA, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arthur Askey Collection [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
Though Arthur Askey was very popular in his day, he was better in theatre or on radio Like Tommy Trinder, Tony Hancock,Frankie Howard,,Benny Hill,Morecambe & Wise they never came accross as great film stars
As a collector of British Comedy films, this box represents most of Arthur's efforts (Minus "Charley's Aunt" & "The Ghost Train")
The films in this collection are "Back-Room Boy/Band Waggon /Bees in Paradise / King Arthur Was A Gentleman /Miss London Ltd/
/ I Thank You.
Still quite enjoyable for their vintage !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mr. askey is a bit "hit-and-miss.", 2 May 2007
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
great to finally see more arthur askey films on d.v.d. sadly, he isn't really suitable to film. his acting style hasn't aged very well at all, as you will notice.

still, there are some amusing moments to be had here and there.

the best films here are "band waggon" and "back room boy." here askey had the good fortune to work with richard murdoch, moore marriott and graham moffatt. they work very well together. in "back room boy," askey is playing his usual character but more as a comic reactor which is an improvement.

then after 1941, askey made the considerable mistake of parting company with them by lumbering himself with some really second-rate supporting players; they have neither the talent nor the on-screen chemistry of askey's previous co-stars. his later films have too much singing which is a major distraction throughout. "king arthur was a gentlemen" is a particular culprit.

what this film collection is, is a hint at what arthur askey might have achieved if his career had continued in the same vein as his earlier films. as things stand, he is no serious rival to either will hay or george formby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excessive packaging, 19 Feb 2013
By 
William Dart (Geelong, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only complaint I have with this DVD set is that instead of putting all 6 discs in a single DVD cover sleeve, the manufacturers have individually packaged them and enclosed them in a heavy cardboard outer cover. With an ever increasing collection of DVD's this kind of packaging just eats up shelf space. 3, 4 & 6 discs per cover is fast becoming the norm for collections in Australia if not elsewhere. As for the content, Arthur Askey is Arthur Askey. A bit like Vegemite or Marmite, you either love him or hate him. I think he's great so I won't bore you with a story line review, there's already plenty of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arthur Askey collection, 13 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a fan of Arthur you may manage to stick it through watching the whole series but through today's eyes it's very dated. A highly popular film and TV actor of his day but unfortunately the public's sophistication has advanced considerably in the last 60 years and what was hillarious then is unfortunately no longer the case, also there are topical references that unless you were old enough to recall those far off days will have no meaning, so the gag gets lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Arthur Askey Collection [DVD] [1940]
The Arthur Askey Collection [DVD] [1940] by Arthur Askey (DVD - 2012)
17.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews