Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2014
I purchased this product when I was 14 weeks pregnant because I was anxious about the (seemingly) huge stretches of time between scans and midwife visits in the first 20 weeks or so. I wanted to hear my babies heartbeat a) because it's a wonderful thing for myself and my husband to hear and b) to occasionally reassure myself that my baby wasn't dead (I'm prone to the odd moment of paranoid morbid panic).

I'm now 20 weeks, have had all my scans relaxed into my pregnancy and am much less anxious. I am really happy with this product and used it about once or twice a week during the earlier anxious period. I'm sure I will continue to use it every so often throughout the rest of my pregnancy. It does exactly what it says on the tin and is a cheap and accessible way to hear your babies heartbeat. NB - I could not understand how to use the record sound feature as the instructions weren't clear and I'd no interest in doing so anyway.

Usage Advice - The doppler arrived quickly and is simple to use. First open the battery casing and connect the battery provided. Plug in the headphones provided and switch on the volume dial quite high. Use plenty of gel. Keep the whole of the round flat part connected to your skin. Move the doppler around your belly slowly, trying different angles. You will hear lots of white noise & squiggles. You'll probably hear the repeated 'whoosh, whoosh, whoosh' of your uterine artery which is pumping blood into your uterus. This sound will be like the pace of your own heartbeat (for me about 70 beats/whooshes per min). What you are looking for is a similar repeated beat/whoosh sound that is much faster...for me about double the speed (160 odd). You may well hear both at once...i.e your own blood whooshing plus the much much faster sound of your babies heart whooshing. When I hear the faster whoosing/galloping I move the doppler to try and hone in on that sound...usually as I get closer to the source I hear the clearer knocking sound of my babies heartbeat. At my 16 week midwife appointment she used a doppler to listen to the heartbeat and the sound was exactly the same that I'd picked up on the doppler at home, which reassured me that what I'd thought was my babies heartbeat actually was.

Tips

1. Do not use this product to try and determine if your baby is healthy and that everything is normal. Only the appropriate trained medical care professionals can tell you that. Remember that you are not trained to use this equipment. You do not know if what you are hearing is usual/unusual so do not make any assumptions.

2. A note on using your own earphones - having read the reviews about the poor quality of the earphones provided with the Doppler I thought I'd start off using my own iphone earphones. I got no sound at all. As soon as a plugged in the earphones that came with the Doppler I got the sound just fine.

3. Be patient - You may not locate your babies heartbeat straight away, sometimes it takes ages to find. Baby is moving around so the heartbeat will be in different places at different times.
11 comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
I am currently 17 weeks pregnant and have been using this since I got it about 2 weeks ago and have been able to hear my babys heartbeat clearly. Sometime's it takes a while to find or possibly not find it at all. I have an anterior placenta which means it is in front of the baby so you have to be patient. My last pregnancy ended in a miscarriage at 20 weeks so this is very reassuring. I think it is unfair to give this product a bad review, it is not made for medical reasons and isn't top of the range compared to some of the dopplers you can get. You get what you pay for and this is really good value for money in my opinion.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2016
We purchased this from a different store the other day, I'm 15+5 and already worry a lot so we thought it may be nice to have some reassurance. I've read some bad reviews so wasn't expecting much but within seconds of using it we were both clearly able to pick up the baby's heartbeat! We've used it a few of times now.. And only had problems once finding the heartbeat but baby was probably just very active! It's great that you're able to record as well and me and my partner both have a pair of headphones plugged in which is brilliant! It isn't the greatest but you get what you pay for. Would definitely recommended for others, who like me tend to feel anxious about the baby!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2016
I read reviews about this item and you tend to focus on the negative reviews natrually. When buying this product you should consider that everybody's body/ pregnancy is different. Some people are lucky enough to experience certain things in early pregnancy and feel baby move or hear heartbeat but don't be discouraged if you don't, especially if you are reading your first trimaster. A lot of the negative reviews about this product are from people who are in their first trimaster. I am 18 weeks and I have tried various products prior to trying this item and I can say that it has worked for me :) my headphones do you work (loud and clear) as for the item being flimsy well it depends what they are measuring it against because a monitor in the hospital is obviously going to be more advanced lets not forget that this is a home baby heartbeat monitor! It does what it says it's going to do. Baby can be positioned anywhere in your tummy, I couldn't hear anything until I positioned my monitor where my baby was (above my womb) so it was lower than I had expected despite the CDs that you get with this item giving induction positions to place. Move it around and you may hear baby, otherwise it could be that your baby is not in the right position for you to hear the heartbeat. So yes I would recommend this item and I would recommend people to buy this when you are on your second try master between 16 - 20 weeks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
When my partner went for what she thought was just a check up on her own, I felt I had missed out when she said she heard the baby's heartbeat. She told me you could buy a device to use at home and I expected a price tag 10 times the cost of this!

When it arrived I had my reservations as it looks and feels a little toy like, but within a couple of minutes we heard the heartbeat clear as day! Does exactly what it says at an almost novelty price! It was also nice to see a sealed 9V battery in the compartment ready for use.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
Great product. Ordered 5pm one night and arrived 11am next morning. As other reviews say, it can take some time finding heart beat initially and sometimes you have to have a break and try again later but when you hear it it's amazing. Think I was around 12 weeks when first purchased, now am 23 weeks and find baby straight away in seconds no problem as much bigger (although moves a lot!!). No problem with the headphones, gel is great but recommend buying the bigger add on bottle as the tube it comes with only lasts a few goes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
Hard to find the heartbeat took me until I was 15 weeks and then it broke. Not impressed. I'd definitely buy a slightly more expensive one regretted buying this
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
We are almost 11 weeks pregnant and have just heard our baby's heartbeat for the first time! Magical for both me and my husband. Perfect reassurance between scans. Great product, simple to use and great price too.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Worked perfectly, my wife is a veterinary nurse with experience of doppler ultrasound devices, she was very impressed with the clarity. We found the heartbeat within minutes. Comes with headphones - which I dont think are mentioned in the product description. Comes with a battery. Really excellent product at a ridiculous price :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
First time nervously nelly pregnancy - when ever I was worried I would listen for my little ones heart beat and it calmed me no end - better for later on in pregnancy when you know what the heartbeat sounds like - try it to early and you'll be listening to swishing whirling gurgling sounds. This was a wonderful bit of kit for me and hubby for bonding with our little baba and listening to him kick and wriggle about. If ever you are worried that something is wrong - please always raise your concerns with your maternity unit, but this was hugely reassuring to me as I had a failed pregnancy six months before and was particularly skittish and has three private scans in the first 3 months. Buying this helped me calm down and to stop panicing and hearing his little whomp whomp thumping away always brought me huge satisfaction. My baba is 9 months old now and this is safely tucked away in a drawer incase we go for number two xxxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 19 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)