Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it - they work
An excellent product. While there are many things sold to the audio market with fabricated claims, these are the real deal. It's been known for decades that good stands reduce vibration and allow speakers to play more accurately.

These are no exception, and perfect for desktop use. I had been looking at some very expensive alternatives (wood bases, brass feet...
Published 10 months ago by Namasté

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do the job but wobbly
Stands arrived well packed next day so all good. They're supplied flat packed and are very easy to assemble with decent instructions.

Two sets of rods are supplied to raise the speaker either 3 OR 8 inches. Plastic inserts then add additional length to tip the speaker forward if required

The rods sit in rubber sleeves which are very flexible which...
Published 6 months ago by topchef


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it - they work, 7 Oct 2013
This review is from: IsoAcoustics L8R155 Speaker Stands (pair) (Electronics)
An excellent product. While there are many things sold to the audio market with fabricated claims, these are the real deal. It's been known for decades that good stands reduce vibration and allow speakers to play more accurately.

These are no exception, and perfect for desktop use. I had been looking at some very expensive alternatives (wood bases, brass feet etc), and have no regrets buying these. A bargain at £80 for the pair, they improved the sound instantly. Really, really impressed.

Used with KEF LS50s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful if you have speakers on your desk, 30 May 2014
By 
Kirk McElhearn (Near Stratford-upon-Avon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IsoAcoustics L8R155 Speaker Stands (pair) (Electronics)
These stands are practical and offer good insulation from vibrations. If you have full-sized speakers on your desk, I’d recommend getting stands like this.

You can set them to two heights: 3 inches and 8 inches. There are metal tubes that slip into rubber-lined holes in the top and bottom section of the stands, which provide a solid grip. The rubber also insulates vibrations, freeing up your sound a bit, removing any gassy boom you may have caused by vibrations.

The stands come in three sizes: 130mm, 150 mm, or 200mm wide. There’s also a 230x430mm designed for studio monitors placed on their sides, or larger, heavier speakers anywhere (probably much larger than you’d use on your desk). Get the ones that fit your speakers best. You could get the smallest ones for most speakers, but they might be a bit less stable if you bump into your desk. (I got the 150mm size.)

I do notice a slight difference in the sound with these stands; there is a bit more midrange, a bit less bass, and the soundstage is a bit more open than without them. Before I got the stands, I had the speakers on books, which do insulate well, but not enough. Don’t expect any major change in sound, though if you have speakers sitting flat on your desk, you will notice more of a difference than I did.

One thing to note is that you can tilt the stands a bit, using inserts that come with them. This allows you to tilt them back so the tweeters are pointing more directly at your ears. However, this requires that the speakers be of the appropriate height; since mine are fairly large, the tweeters are at exactly the right height with the stands set to 8 inches.

All in all, this is a good way to get speakers at the right height on a desk. They'll get the speakers at the right height, or the right angle, so you get optimal sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stands, 23 Dec 2013
This review is from: IsoAcoustics L8R155 Speaker Stands (pair) (Electronics)
They do the job: isolate speakers from the desk, and they do it well. Bass sounds tighter now and less muddy.
Only problem is mounting them, a bit on the fiddly side - and making sure they were at the exact same height took me a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic speaker stands, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IsoAcoustics L8R155 Speaker Stands (pair) (Electronics)
Perfect for my KRK Rokit 5 speakers...recommended highly if you want good desktop speaker stands that don't take up loads of space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They do what they say, and what you can tell from the photo, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IsoAcoustics L8R155 Speaker Stands (pair) (Electronics)
They were easy to put together, and do what they want. I couldn't get quite as much tilt as I wanted and there's no way of securing the speakers to them, that said they have a lot of friction and I have no fears that my speakers are going to fall off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Unique and Totally Brilliant!, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IsoAcoustics L8R155 Speaker Stands (pair) (Electronics)
Firstly, yes these monitor stands are on the expensive side for what they are. That said they are worth every penny. The difference they made to the sound of my monitors was breath-taking! They totally isolate the monitors from the surface they are standing on and therefore completely remove any colouration of sound from that surface. Brilliant idea and one that works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars competently do their job very well, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IsoAcoustics L8R155 Speaker Stands (pair) (Electronics)
I got this pair of stands at the same time as and for use with my M-Audio BX5 D2 Powered Monitor Speakers which now sit toed-in on the desk either side of my iMac - I'm in the sweet spot.

They work, raising the tweeter to the perfect height. Also, you can feel the vibration from the speaker getting progressively less as you move your hand down the stand. Once you get to the desk it's gone - totally.

In setting up I did not want ANY tilt (or any top or bottom wobble) at all - this took more that just a few goes to get it just right but once done they've not moved at all. A hardback book and a ruler - instead of an actual speaker and a spirit-level - helped in this.

You may be looking at the price thinking it's a bit on the high side for what it is. I guess as well as the component parts and the company's infrastructure we're also paying for the science behind them - which, as it does actually work, - I figure is fair enough.

I'm very happy with my purchase, I reckon you will be too.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars IsoAcoustics L8R155 Speaker Stands (pair), 1 Mar 2014
By 
M. Lewis "musicman" (West Berkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IsoAcoustics L8R155 Speaker Stands (pair) (Electronics)
These are very good. A bit fiddly to put together, and needed a bit of persuasion to get level. They hold my Tannoy 600a's very well, although I wouldn't want to accidentally knock them! Certainly you don't want to have to pull them apart again once they are put together, so double check your height adjustment before you assemble!

I'm still assessing the sound quality - there is occasionally some rumble, which I need to assess more thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really pleased, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IsoAcoustics L8R155 Speaker Stands (pair) (Electronics)
Although the price is a little steep, i can honestly say i'm really pleased about the delivery and how they have have brought my speakers to life. the build quality of the stands is acceptable with the bottom and top of the stands being plastic while the bars between them being metal, its also pretty easy to put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably Excellent, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IsoAcoustics L8R155 Speaker Stands (pair) (Electronics)
These stands were bought as a last resort. I put a small pair of inexpensive Q acoustics bookshelf speakers in the office to use for background, mostly internet radio and they sounded lousy. I changed the audio source to a top end Cd deck to see if it would help.... not much difference. Sound was indistinct, there were gaps in the frequency range and although there was a little bass the individual notes disappeared into mush. I didn't want to go to the expense of carbon fibre isolators as this was a small system for entertainment, not meant for post production mastering, and the speakers were simply bluetacked to the top of a wooden cabinet. However I read other reviews of these stands and decided to 'give them a go'. The difference is beyond dramatic. Bass notes are clear, isolation is excellent, mids are crisp and even high frequencies take on a new dimension losing previous harshness. At this pricepoint, if you want to improve the clarity, rhythm, pace, and even bass response of small to mediumsized speakers, and if your speakers are currently placed on shelves, or a cabinet, there is no better product then this. ( provided that the stands fit on your shelves,or on your cabinet, of course ) Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

IsoAcoustics L8R155 Speaker Stands (pair)
£78.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews