Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva Bella
Poor Bella. Her father's untimely death has left her with an uncertain
future. She is sent off to a strict convent school to study for her A
Levels, where she seems to spend her time seducing her teachers and
classmates. One really worries for her academic future. Bella is a girl
without any inhibitions and she just thinks that sex is super fun...
Published on 20 July 2011 by Iris Gioia

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok read
This story was OK.. But I prefer the other book by this author.. Having said that I did enjoy the story and read it to the end.
Published 18 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva Bella, 20 July 2011
Poor Bella. Her father's untimely death has left her with an uncertain
future. She is sent off to a strict convent school to study for her A
Levels, where she seems to spend her time seducing her teachers and
classmates. One really worries for her academic future. Bella is a girl
without any inhibitions and she just thinks that sex is super fun with
whoever happens to be around--the gardener, her new stepfather, the nuns at
school, her roommates, council estate boys and should she find herself
alone, well then, herself.
But Bella is not a stupid girl and in her spare time she writes
songs, makes music demos and guess what? -- achieves fame and fortune. She
takes us for quite a ride and leaves us breathless, wrung out and reeling.
She simply steps around us as if we weren't there and moves on serenely to
her next project.
Buy it.=
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belle Bella, 13 July 2011
By 
Chloe comes up with another gem. How I love Bella. This is a great story that just happens to include erotica. I think every girl will enjoy imagining herself in Bella's shoes/stockings/whatever. I know my husband likes it when I have a new 'Chloe' to read, and I'm sure this scenario is commonplace among Chloe's loyal fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding erotica, 5 Feb. 2013
I really enjoyed Chloe Thurlow's The Secret Life of Girls. It's a full-length erotic novel that follows a sexually awakened young woman named Bella. Bella likes sex. A lot. Throughout the novel she learns that sex can also be a weapon, and she's not afraid to use it as one, especially when it comes to seeking revenge against her step-father. I'll be honest - from the synopsis of this book I expected to find Bella to be a shallow, unlikeable character. I'm so glad I was wrong about that! I genuinely liked her, and I became lost in her erotic adventures and struggles as the story unfolded that I didn't want to put the book down.

This book is so kinky it made me blush a few times! Okay, more than a few times. Bella is a girl who knows what she wants, and I love that she doesn't feel guilty for seeking sexual pleasure, time and time again - with both men and women. It was refreshing to read about a character who was so comfortable in her own skin. To her, sex isn't about feeling ashamed or showing restraint in any way. It's about giving and taking exactly the way she craves it.

The Secret Life of Girls is very well-written, sexy, full of detail, and stands out as a top-shelf literary erotica work. I was blown away and look forward to reading more books by Ms. Thurlow. Readers who enjoy outstanding erotica don't want to miss this one. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing Bella already, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Life of Girls - full length erotic novel (Xcite Erotic Romance Novels Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Let me start by saying I LOVED this book! Bella, who is completely believable as the headstrong teenage main character with the looks and lifestyle everyone wants (or wants to get their hands on), experiences a sexual awakening at the hands of the gardener. This is only the beginning of her erotic adventures though because once she realises how much pleasure is to be had as long as you're willing, there's no stopping her. She isn't limited by repressed morals, she's just a girl and wants to have fun. With this attitude she wields a whole lot of power over the men and even some women she comes across and she knows it!

As I've come to expect after reading more of her work, Chloe Thurlow's writing is again fresh, completely true to Bella's character and simply beautiful. I also adored the setting of the story, most of it at boarding school because it brings back memories of the sort of books I used to read growing up. Of course this one is a grown up version in which the sex (of which there is a lot!) blends effortlessly with the story in a most appealing way. It's an uncensored and so very entertaining coming of age tale which I must admit I was sad to finish and let go.

In my mind, there are two types of good books; those you read and enjoy and those you read, enjoy and read again. This one is the latter; I'll be keeping it on my Kindle for future re-reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Secret Life of Girls by Chloe Thurlow, 9 Aug. 2013
Not my usual type of book but was recommended given it a try. Am glad I did as I was very surprised that I enjoyed it
"The Secret Life of Girls." ................IT'S FUN BEING A GIRL.............Chloe Thurlow has written an erotic coming-of-age saga set in an exclusive convent school and clearly draws on her own life experience to reveal that, as she puts it, it's fun being a girl. Bella, her protagonist, has everything: beauty, charm, privilege and talent as a musician. On discovering that her country house actually belongs to her louche stepfather, not her, and that she has been wickedly betrayed by her declasse mother, Bella sets about putting her shattered world back together again by using those talents: her charm, sex appeal and musicianship...seducing her way into a recording studio, making a hit record and turning herself into a star. From Page 1 this is an excellent read by a talented young writer and I shall now make my way through her list of novels............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Secret Life of Girls, 1 Feb. 2013
Thurlow's Work is the Gold Standard
ChloŽ Thurlow is a writer of rare talent. Her work is lyrical, compelling and there is always an element of surprise, of secrets not fully revealed.

In "The Secret Life of Girls," I was drawn in immediately by the story, but also by the power of the writing, her ability to create a scene and suck you into its heart. The novel begins the morning after Bella has argued with her Mother and awakes with the thought "that in the night someone had been packing my bags and I was about to begin a long journey."

She continues: "There was a white dress draped over the chair. I pulled it over my head and slipped barefoot into the garden. Plump insects buzzed and hummed among the flowers. Red butterflies spiraled like dancers in the updrafts of air rising warmly from the lawn. The cat stopped, stared as if he had never seen me before, then sauntered off to his place in the apple tree where he would watch for birds. Sylvester was a killer."

There is a lot going on in very few words; a feeling of peace, but also unease, of change. We learn through Mother's eyes that Bella is beautiful, Lolita-like and privileged. After being seduced that morning by the gardener at the country house left to her in her father's will, Bella reaches the conclusion that sex is just fun and people take it far too seriously. When she discovers that she has been betrayed and the house she loves is now the property of her treacherous mother and step-father, Bella uses her sexuality as a weapon of war in the battle for revenge. The novel is character-driven with some marvelous twists and the ending hits you between the eyes like a blow from a hammer.

Über -sexy, erotic, intricately written and well-paced, I have seen elsewhere ChloŽ Thurlow's work being compared to that of AnaÔs Nin - a fair comparison and interesting that they also share those two little dots called an umlaut over one of the letters in their names There is a flood tide of erotica being published today and in ChloŽ Thurlow we discover the gold standard other writers should aspire to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Champagne Erotic, 27 Feb. 2013
As you start reading The Secret Life of Girls, it's like drinking that first glass of champagne. It slips down, all bubbly and delicious, and you just want more. And more. A lot of people have jumped on the erotica band wagon, but this writer published her first novel 5 years ago and, in the Secret Life, I discovered a quality of story-telling and literary skill you don't often see. Sentences have a rhythmic, sensuous quality, a feeling for pace and that dramatic compulsion that keeps you on the edge of the seat waiting for some revelation that takes you by surprise when it comes.

The story: Bella is a spoiled girl with everything - beauty, talent as a pianist, a wealthy family and a life of luxury. Then, she loses it all and Bella's character is tested as she uses what she does have, her beauty and musical ability, to get it all back again - a journey into the dark heart of erotica and out into the bright lights of celebrity and fortune. Bella really grows on you. She's the young woman women want to be and men want to be with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An erotic novel with flair and wit, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Life of Girls - full length erotic novel (Xcite Erotic Romance Novels Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
It's not surprising there's a Bad Sex Award with so much inept formulaic erotica around. The Secret Life of Girls is an exception from the usual grunt-porn, which fails to evoke setting or create characters with an internal life.

This is different. There's an elegance and lightness of touch, expressed in a flair for language and dialogue which celebrates the complexities of sexuality and the wonders of femaleness. Erotic fiction is so difficult to get right but Chloe Thurlow seems to be succeeding, both artistically and commercially. And convent-girls in distress have a certain je ne sais quoi...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Not Disappoint, 4 Sept. 2012
From the very beginning this book held many great qualities. The plot felt real and a womans journey into her sexual discover couldn't have been better put together. Right from the beginning the story held a real element to it, however its still not a book for a faint of heart reader.

With a sex scene in every chapter, you'll be riding the highs and the lows of Bella's life. Its a book which holds many discoveries of different types of sexual fantasies, while reminding us about how cruel girls can be.

My only beef with this book and the wonderful work the author put in, was I felt like some of the erotica scenes were rushed. In the next book if she slows it down and fills it out more. They will be perfect and she'll have a much more out of this world, loveable product.

This is a book both bisexual and gay women will enjoy. It holds a wonder of tales to make your heart race, you well up and your anger to flare. I highly recommend this book and believe the author has a really bright future ahead of her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coming of age erotica, 28 Aug. 2013
Coming of age erotica has never been this good! Packed with action, Chloe Thurlow draws us along with Bella- not a young woman to be trifled with- who has worked out at a very early age just what a powerful weapon sex can be- and how to use it- particularly against her gullible new step-father, Simon Daviditz...

On the death of her father, Bella is taken to the Convent of Saint Sebastian and the Holy Martyr finishing school, run by some of the least moralistic nuns I've ever read about. Oh how I'd like to meet Sister Nuria one day....

Bella has only been in her boarding room for a few moments, when she is being intimately examined by Jack (female), one of her new room mates. This situation could so easily be seen as contrived, or as adding sex for the sake of it, rather than to the furtherance of the story- but this is very much not the case. Clichés are neatly avoided, and every scene within the novel adds to Belle's complex journey as she learns to use her body- and more importantly- her quick brain- to advance her future, and stay one step ahead of her rival Tabby Van Deegan...

Although I wouldn't recommend The Secret Life of Girls to first timers to erotica (it plays close to the edge with age limits and incest)- lovers of the genre have to read this refreshingly well crafted book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews