Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Addition to the Series
I actually came across this movie by accident in my local supermarket.

And as I had found the other two D&D movies to be OK, I thought I'd buy it, maybe waste a few quid if it wasn't that good and move on.

It's actually much better than the other two, budget of $12million, and although thats classed as low budget these days I think it did pretty well...
Published on 28 Sep 2012 by DM Sparrow

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "See" said the mage to the ring
If you happen to pick up this film, look out for this word - as spoken by the hooded mage. What follows is perhaps the highlight of the entire film.

This is not the worst flick I've seen, but its far from memorable. The only character who I felt had much about him was the hooded mage - the actor appears to be having fun with his role & this seems to have made...
Published on 8 Oct 2012 by a Sock


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "See" said the mage to the ring, 8 Oct 2012
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons 3 [DVD] (DVD)
If you happen to pick up this film, look out for this word - as spoken by the hooded mage. What follows is perhaps the highlight of the entire film.

This is not the worst flick I've seen, but its far from memorable. The only character who I felt had much about him was the hooded mage - the actor appears to be having fun with his role & this seems to have made him more believable. The rest of them appear to be too steriotyped & serious for me to believe. The story seemed like there were some unexplained gaps between scenes, and in some cases - scenes could have been completely removed for the relevence they held.

I as the other reviewer did - picked this up in a supermarket by chance. It was cheap, looked tacky and has the statement "The Classic Saga Returns" plastered across the top.
Needless to say I was expecting what I got, but had a laugh by not taking any of it seriously.

-note - the intro drags on... and on...
also - that woolen chain mail... bravo costume designer, he may not be protected from a blade, but at least he's cozy.

(and why are Dragons in film always depicted as idiotic beasts that get killed far too easily? - their inteligence is supposed to dwarf the most inteligent of human minds... rant rant).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Addition to the Series, 28 Sep 2012
By 
DM Sparrow (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I actually came across this movie by accident in my local supermarket.

And as I had found the other two D&D movies to be OK, I thought I'd buy it, maybe waste a few quid if it wasn't that good and move on.

It's actually much better than the other two, budget of $12million, and although thats classed as low budget these days I think it did pretty well effects wise.

The acting is pretty good, the hero not bad, and some of the characters are very well realised. The ending is interesting and for me it worked. Although there is a character at the end, no spoilers, who isn't that easy to understand, but doesn't detract from the overall movie.

I'd say it's worth buying more so than the other two D&D movies, and hopefully they will carry this line on with a sequel? It certainly cries out for one.

Only downside overall is the amount of nudity, sex etc that really ruined parts of the movie and felt unnecessary to me, so prepare to fast forward through the boring stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An honest movie that really draws on the souce material, 5 Sep 2014
By 
Marcelo Duarte Ferrari (Ribeirão Preto, SP - Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Just as Dungeons & Dragons 2 (2005), this is an honest film. The producers seemed to have never forgotten that it was a low-budget, direct-to-DVD flick, so they did their best with what they had, doing away with the hubris of the first D&D movie. I particularly liked how they let Gerry Lively, who also directed the previous D&D flick, do what he does best: horror. There are some pretty ghoulish scenes in Dungeons & Dragons: The Book of Vile Darkness (2012).

The story is about Grayson, a paladin (a knight of Pelor) whose order hasn’t been granted true divine powers for eight hundred years. With his fellow knights dead, his father kidnaped, and the villains trying to reassemble the dreaded Book of Vile Darkness, he has to walk the razor edge between good and evil, forced to do horrendous deeds to convince a group of evil adventurers that he’s one of them, so that they can lead him to the BBEG — and his father.

D&D 3 is a brumble of OK to not bad to not-so-good acting. Some of the younger actors seemed less comfortable with the faux Shakespearean lingo of the script. It’s above YouTube content, though, and well within the quality level of those old SciFi Channel movies (before they became SyFy and only crank out bad monster flicks).

The make-up department is also a mixed bag: the make-up of the Goliath is great, the Swarm Druid is OK, and the Shadar-Kai is terrible (somebody went and smeared black lipstick over her face). The same can be said about the special effects: some are pretty bad, but most are acceptable and some are just shy of great. Pay particular attention to the dragon from the first act and the undead girl from the second — she gave me the jitters.

There are some cheesy moments, particularly in the first act: you can see some brigands playing Three-Dragon Ante with the actual playing cards that Wizards of the Coast has published, a shopkeeper who asks if the hero wants a Paragon or Heroic-level armor, and some other corny references to the game peppered here and there.

I liked seeing Gerry Lively directing a horror movie (he’s done cinematography for two Hellraiser films). A flick that drew inspiration from the ill-famed Book of Vile Darkness had to have some gross scenes in it — which this movie had. Oh boy did it have.

Other forms of horror can also be seen throughout the script: I actually struggled alongside the hero when he had to decide between scrapping his mission or committing atrocities. I really did. I think the movie successfully conveyed that it takes place in a bleak world with tarnished heroes and conflicted, distinguishing adventurers (every one of the main characters had their own personality, even if somewhat clichéd). That world’s a place where death is everywhere and the lives of the peasants are very, very fragile. I’d like to see more stories there.

All in all, this is an honest, low-budget movie that doesn’t try to be more than it can be. Bear in mind, though, that I actually liked Dungeons & Dragons 2, so take this opinion piece with a grain of salt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What the ??????, 10 Mar 2014
By 
V. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Ok the first D&D film was cheesy but i really liked it. Justin Whalin is very nice to look at too!!!
The second D&D film was a bit worse but still workable material to my mind. This one....... well it's not for me!!!! The mage seemed to be the only one who could act and his evil sense of humour was the only thing that got me to the end of the film. It was predictable in the worst ways and none of the other characters were remotely engaging or believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very much what I want from a D&D movie, 23 Dec 2013
By 
I. Downes "Some Dude" (Houston, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This gains 5/5 from me not because it is being compared to every other film ever made, but because I am judging it based on my desires and expectations for a D&D film.

All the good points:
This film faithfully portrays the game, including classes, goals, and alignments.
With regard to alignments: the evil characters explain their motivations and philosophies in ways that seem believable; they are insane villains for the sake of being insane villains.
With the exception of the primary protagonist, the main characters are also the bad guys; this is refreshing and entertaining. I very much like the vermin lord.
The characters take actions that make general sense according to their motivations and situations. While this seems like a low bar to judge by, I would direct your attention to nearly every other movie made in the history of ever.
The romance subplot actually helps the rest of the story progress and is not simply forced in. Also, it is a failed romance, which is refreshing.
There is sex and nudity, presented in a way that is neither gratuitous nor avoidant. I suspect that this is why the film has not been released in the U.S., where people will be absurdly offended by the direct acknowledgement of sex.
The sets, costuming and special effects are well-done.
The acting is good, given the context. As a D&D movie should, this film intentionally contains a significant amount of melodrama.

Compared to the first two films:
The first film was an unholy abortion that failed on every level, both as a film and as a tribute to the game.
The second film was much more interested in being a D&D product, and less interested in being a good film. As such, it is a fairly uninteresting and explication-heavy performance of a D&D adventure.
The third film does it right: it faithfully displays the contents of the game without getting mired in them.

All the bad points:
I would have liked a little gratuitous nudity from Eleanor Gecks. Other than that, nothing disappointed me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually pretty impressed, 10 Jun 2013
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons 3 [DVD] (DVD)
To be honest I was not expecting much having seen the first two films. However this film is darker than the others the effects are very good as well. Granted it is no Lord of the Rings, but is definitely worth a watch. I saw another reviewer V. K. Manglaveras said there were no dragons in it. Well 25 mins into film looked very much like a Dragon to me. Just to point out as well the title Dungeons and Dragons is taken from a roleplaying game on which it is based. Not all the adventures played in Dungeons and Dragons have dragons in. If you want Dragons ..watch Reign of Fire or the Hobbit 2 when it comes out. This however does feature one briefly and is well animated so no complaints from me. The acting is also pretty good not blockbuster standard, but a hell of a lot better than many many films. So if you like fantasy films it is definitely worth watching. One note I would air on the side of caution saying it is a family movie....partial nudity (topless women) and several scary scenes - that whilst to an adult....I would say not for small children. Anyway i really enjoyed it as i said and it was left open for a follow on which they need to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars holiday entertainment for the family, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons 3 [DVD] (DVD)
good family entertainment and excellent for the childrens holidays. fast delivery. A***** Excellent to keep children occupied when they are bored during long holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine movie., 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fine attempt at making a D&D movie. The characters are iconic and the world seems about right. Sometimes they overplay the characters a little but all in all i like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dungeons & Dragons 3 (DVD), 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons 3 [DVD] (DVD)
If you liked the first one and the second one then you will like this, science fiction of Dragons love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trilogy??, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The movie itself was good although it did not quite fit with the original two movies as a third in a trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dungeons & Dragons 3 [DVD]
Dungeons & Dragons 3 [DVD] by Gerry Lively (DVD - 2012)
£8.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews