Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different viewing
Please will people stop writing 'that's minutes of my life wasted that I won't get back', it is a bit childish. If you hate a film that much, turn it off. If you get tuned in to this movie, its a little cracker, but if you don't then it may well be a turn off. I would not compare Devils Business at all with Hit List, this is something very different. Yes it has a lot...
Published 6 months ago by Ricoh

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You have to be joking...
I have to say that when this film got glowing reviews on the prime website splattered all over the cover, I was excited at another character-led film like Kill List (which was a great film) so looked forward to settling down to some good psychological and unsettling horror.

At only 70 minutes long, it seemed a good bet....

Then I watched it and quite...
Published 3 months ago by Phil Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Are you sure that was the right dvd in the box?, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely dreadfull, doesn't even deserve 1 star. It wasn't creepy or a horror, ok maybe there was 2 bits you might scrunch your face at. But it lacked suspense, atmosphere and anything that you were promised either by the summary or the very misleading reviews on here.
As far as I'm concerned this is a new coaster on the coffee table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For fans of the Kill List, 9 Jun 2013
By 
patrick (Herefordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
Every now and again, an outstanding horror film will go flying completely past the radar, only to be discovered by those who are willing to look for it. The Devil's Business is one such film.

Following in the footsteps of other Occult based movies like Ti West's incredible 'House of the Devil', this British gem uses slow and clever character development, well crafted dialogue, and cleverly placed shock scenes to create an atmosphere of slow burning dread.

The Devil's Business uses a well worn theme in horror movies, and makes it into something very fresh. The gist of the plot is this:

Two hitmen from London (one experienced, one completely inexperienced) are sent on a 'job' at the house of a man they have never met. All they know is that this man had displeased their boss, who desperately wants him whacked. As the two characters wait for their target to arrive home from a night at the opera, we hear them share stories of their past experiences which, at times, really sent chills up my spine.

I won't spoil the film by describing it in any more detail, suffice to say, if you enjoyed the Kill List, House of the Devil or even the questionable Ninth Gate (not Johnny Depp's finest hour in my opinion), then you will almost certainly take something from seeing this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars got bored with this after waiting for 30 minutes for something ..., 29 Sep 2014
got bored with this after waiting for 30 minutes for something to actually happen,so don't botherif an actual horror film is what you'd like to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 1 Oct 2014
Extremely poor, no more description needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where's the horror?, 18 Mar 2014
When I looked at the description for this film it sounded like it might be good. What I found was possibly the most boring film I've ever had the misfortune of watching. If you're looking for Jumps and scares then look somewhere else. All I found was long drawn out scenes of characters talking and little more, but I stuck with this to the end (Minutes of my life that I wont get back). It started getting a tiny tiny bit more interesting nearer the end however the ending was more comedy (Because it was ridiculous) than horror. How can this film be "unmissable" like it says on the cover...I almost feel like this film was made for a wind up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, don't waste your money., 22 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
First of all, the cover of this film makes it look like your in for a real treat if you love horror films! Positive star ratings on the front cover, exiting write up, but trust me that's all it's got going for it!!!

This is the first time I've ever written a review on any film, but this film is so bad it's left me laughing with tears streaming down my face. The acting is so bad, any bits that may have been scary you never really see it because the film is so low budget the it happens behind closed doors and the films plot is so slow a snail moves at a faster paste and the critics that have given this a good star rating seriously do need to give up there day job.

The only good thing that has came out of this film is I haven't laughed so much in a long time. It's that bad, serious warning do not waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
Ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea but very bad script, 13 May 2013
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
An experienced hit-man and a young apprentice enter a man's house to wait for his return. They find a dead baby and evidence of witchcraft. Most of the film contains dialogue between these two main characters. It might have worked very well as a re-scripted play but the film is let done by an atrocious juvenile script that feels like it was written by a teenage boy. Lots of cursing and nonsense wannabe gangster talk. Truly appalling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 70 Minutes that i will not get back, 16 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film last night and have to say this is probably the worst film i have seen,it is total rubbish, i never write reviews but thought i have to to warn people not to waste their money .I dont know how the other reviews came up with theirs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
Only bought this because of the five star ratings, but it was complete rubbish.Totally misguided by the ratings, not happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Devil's Business [DVD]
The Devil's Business [DVD] by Sean Hogan (DVD - 2012)
£2.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews