Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly one of the best British horror films of the last decade.
I can't write a great deal about this little gem of a horror movie as the film is very short but i shall write a bit of how good this is.
The story is about two hit men who wait at the house owned by their target but while their in the dark house things start to happen as odd things occur.We hear the older of the two tell the younger a creepy story which is the...
Published 1 month ago by MS SS

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You have to be joking...
I have to say that when this film got glowing reviews on the prime website splattered all over the cover, I was excited at another character-led film like Kill List (which was a great film) so looked forward to settling down to some good psychological and unsettling horror.

At only 70 minutes long, it seemed a good bet....

Then I watched it and quite...
Published 9 months ago by Phil Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You have to be joking..., 5 July 2014
I have to say that when this film got glowing reviews on the prime website splattered all over the cover, I was excited at another character-led film like Kill List (which was a great film) so looked forward to settling down to some good psychological and unsettling horror.

At only 70 minutes long, it seemed a good bet....

Then I watched it and quite honestly it's one of the worst films I've ever seen for a number of reasons:

a) Acting - whereas Kill List had the two leading characters very well portrayed, the acting between the characters in this film is dire - the dippy one is so dippy that you wouldn't ask him to make a cup of tea (in case he spilled it), let alone send him to kill someone. Also the 'Mr Big' criminal who sent them is so cliched as a gangster, it's cringing to watch.

b) Script - Much of the film is taken up by a completely pointless back story about a girl in a nightclub and goes on and on and on and on...yawn. When the 'action' begins and I use the term loosely, the film is on such a shoestring that they can't afford special effects and so it's all shot from outside with Dippy acting as though he's being terrorised by something but not very convincingly.

c) Ending - The ending is hilariously bad with such poor special effects and poor acting throughout.

Summary - Devil's Business?? Dog's Business more like - I'm only writing this review cause I'm gobsmacked people have given this 5 stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter garbage - beware of shill reviews!, 29 July 2014
Tedious, dry and very very s-l-o-w. To be honest, this movie was so poor I dont have the will or the strength to even write a review about it - that's how disappointed I feel. Once again, I am very suspicious of the rave reviews which are now common for these micro-budget independent films where the makers stand to gain a lot from views on Amazon because they stand no hope o DVD sales or Cinema releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly one of the best British horror films of the last decade., 13 Mar. 2015
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
I can't write a great deal about this little gem of a horror movie as the film is very short but i shall write a bit of how good this is.
The story is about two hit men who wait at the house owned by their target but while their in the dark house things start to happen as odd things occur.We hear the older of the two tell the younger a creepy story which is the highlight of the film.As the film goes on towards its conclusion they venture out the house when they hear something outside,different horror genres are mixed into the plot and there is a spectacular ending which i won't give away but it is a nerve wracking last few moments i can tell you.
The acting is truly top notch and even though there is only five actors in the whole film it is very good.The chemistry between the two leads actors is magic with the older hit man very sarcastic and very funny whilst the younger guy even though he is put down by his mentor and is a bit dumb he does care about his older friend and they do get on even when strange things begin to happen,i really do think they are a great double act and there are plenty of laughs.
As a horror film it takes a while into the film to get scary but believe me it is chilling when it arrives and as i said the last 10 or so minutes is gripping stuff even if a bit gory and i'm not a huge fan of gore and works better as a jumpy film than a gory one.
I really can't think of any negatives apart from too much blood and gore and maybe could be a bit longer as it crams it all in in a short time but its such a cracker its just small niggles really.
A underrated British horror gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars cringed so hard my face almost imploded, 21 Dec. 2014
This is a film of unrealised potential. In print, it sounds compelling.. but watching it.. it was so bad I've given up after 50 minutes. Absolutely terrible character design.. the "novice" oh my good what can I say? I MADE myself watch it until he got killed, and even it was atrociously enacted. dont bother with this one, seriously. A better screenplay, better dialogue better characters.. then it may of been ok. Like I said, the most compelling thing about the movie is the premise. It all goes down hill from there. Sorry to have panned this film, I dont like to do so.. but.. there you go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VERY SLOW,GOOD PREMISE AND WORTH A WATCH., 23 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
Some good acting and a pretty good story make for a fairly creepy movie.Comes with a directors commentary which is always welcome.Worth a view if it comes down in price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever and Witty, 11 Mar. 2014
This is surprisingly involving, quite theatrical in parts as has been said, bit a well observed and executed piece of horror. It is intrinsically British, intelligent, and a triumph. The horror effects are left to the imagination, and the final scenes were albeit predictable but nonetheless unsettling, in all rather reminiscent of late 60s to mid 70s psychological movies of this genre such as Don't Look Now, or indeed Rosemary's Baby as previously suggested. Shlock horror fans won't like this, but it is worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem!, 29 Sept. 2012
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
This beautifully written and impressively acted low budget movie is an absolute gem. The literate/literary script is perhaps more reminiscent of theatre than film but the assured direction ensures that it really works. Yes, there is a touch of Pinter about it all - and even Connor Macpherson's masterpiece "The Weir" but the film certainly isn't derivative. As other one star reviews have indicated this certainly is not a film for everyone - but those of you who appreciate a wonderful script, fine acting and totally assured direction will find much to enjoy in the 75mts on offer. It's wonderful to see such imagination and competency still exists in British cinema and rather worrying it is not appreciated by a greater number of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Utter tosh, 15 Aug. 2014
By 
M. King (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's low budget so generally consists of two actors talking to each until the denouement in the last few minutes.

The issue is that the conversations that take up the majority of the film are not using any kind of speech you'd recognise from real people. One character talks like Pike from Dads Army, the other , who ridiculously spends most of the film relating a spooky story, sounds like he's reading the story out of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars creepy gem of a film, 18 May 2013
By 
M. Bridgeman "Silverscreen" (exeter devon U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this film on the strength of the positive reviews - and have to say was not in the least disappointed. Atmospheric, creepy and, yes, somewhat 'wordy'. But . . . wordy it may have been but then again there is boring 'wordy' and captivating 'wordy'. This is the latter, thankfully. The 'story within a story' about the ghostly nightclub dancer is real 'campfire' stuff - and again, it's the way it is told more so than the content.
There are some gory moments, but more for effect than the norm - and it does at times feel more like a play - would work well on the stage? - than a horror movie.
Thing is, for me, I can watch blood, guts and gore til the cows come home and not bat an eyelid, but give me something spooky like this and I want to watch something a bit light-hearted afterwards! There is one small scene which has such a cliche in it, but in the context of this film, it felt like someone had dropped a few ice-cubes into the pit of my stomach! Chilling. The actor who plays the main character - Mr Pinner - is excellent; the way he is filmed gives his eyes a really sinister light.
My only slight worry at first was that at only 70 minutes, felt the film may have perhaps been a bit too short - er, hence going for one of the less expensive options! - but having now seen it, my feeling is that it is short, but less is more in this case. If you enjoy good, well-crafted spooky little off-beat films, then give this a chance. And don't go in the cellar afterwards . . . just in case!
As a brief postscript - the disc itself has an 18 BBFC, but only a 15 in Ireland . . .?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this like the plague, 26 Oct. 2014
Avoid this like the plague. Comparing this to Kill List is kinda like comparing a Pot Noodle to fine dining. Almost everything about this film is poor. The acting, the dialogue, the lighting, the effects, all rubbish. It's only redeeming feature is that it all crawls to merciful end after 65 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Devil's Business [DVD]
The Devil's Business [DVD] by Sean Hogan (DVD - 2012)
£3.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews