Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever and Witty
This is surprisingly involving, quite theatrical in parts as has been said, bit a well observed and executed piece of horror. It is intrinsically British, intelligent, and a triumph. The horror effects are left to the imagination, and the final scenes were albeit predictable but nonetheless unsettling, in all rather reminiscent of late 60s to mid 70s psychological...
Published 6 months ago by Mrs Julie Matthews

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You have to be joking...
I have to say that when this film got glowing reviews on the prime website splattered all over the cover, I was excited at another character-led film like Kill List (which was a great film) so looked forward to settling down to some good psychological and unsettling horror.

At only 70 minutes long, it seemed a good bet....

Then I watched it and quite...
Published 2 months ago by Phil Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever and Witty, 11 Mar 2014
This is surprisingly involving, quite theatrical in parts as has been said, bit a well observed and executed piece of horror. It is intrinsically British, intelligent, and a triumph. The horror effects are left to the imagination, and the final scenes were albeit predictable but nonetheless unsettling, in all rather reminiscent of late 60s to mid 70s psychological movies of this genre such as Don't Look Now, or indeed Rosemary's Baby as previously suggested. Shlock horror fans won't like this, but it is worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You have to be joking..., 5 July 2014
I have to say that when this film got glowing reviews on the prime website splattered all over the cover, I was excited at another character-led film like Kill List (which was a great film) so looked forward to settling down to some good psychological and unsettling horror.

At only 70 minutes long, it seemed a good bet....

Then I watched it and quite honestly it's one of the worst films I've ever seen for a number of reasons:

a) Acting - whereas Kill List had the two leading characters very well portrayed, the acting between the characters in this film is dire - the dippy one is so dippy that you wouldn't ask him to make a cup of tea (in case he spilled it), let alone send him to kill someone. Also the 'Mr Big' criminal who sent them is so cliched as a gangster, it's cringing to watch.

b) Script - Much of the film is taken up by a completely pointless back story about a girl in a nightclub and goes on and on and on and on...yawn. When the 'action' begins and I use the term loosely, the film is on such a shoestring that they can't afford special effects and so it's all shot from outside with Dippy acting as though he's being terrorised by something but not very convincingly.

c) Ending - The ending is hilariously bad with such poor special effects and poor acting throughout.

Summary - Devil's Business?? Dog's Business more like - I'm only writing this review cause I'm gobsmacked people have given this 5 stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different viewing, 1 April 2014
Please will people stop writing 'that's minutes of my life wasted that I won't get back', it is a bit childish. If you hate a film that much, turn it off. If you get tuned in to this movie, its a little cracker, but if you don't then it may well be a turn off. I would not compare Devils Business at all with Hit List, this is something very different. Yes it has a lot of dialogue, and maybe not much action, but I found it rippling with tension, and the trade off with the 2 leads was great. The tension was built nicely, and although a couple of scenes were a bit off the wall, this was a good watch for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly very good, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Catherine (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit it took me two watches to actually enjoy this film. It is rather slow to start with, lots of dialogue between two gangsters awaiting the arrival of Mr Kist who they have been ordered to be killed. One of the gangsters is new and just a boy who really feels uneasy about the job in hand. There is something very eerie going on in the house. This film turns out to be quite gruesome, and the ending I rather enjoyed. Only criticism is that perhaps it could have been longer and faster paced, but I felt it was a gem of a film and an excellent twist on a gangster film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter garbage - beware of shill reviews!, 29 July 2014
By 
E. Rowbotham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tedious, dry and very very s-l-o-w. To be honest, this movie was so poor I dont have the will or the strength to even write a review about it - that's how disappointed I feel. Once again, I am very suspicious of the rave reviews which are now common for these micro-budget independent films where the makers stand to gain a lot from views on Amazon because they stand no hope o DVD sales or Cinema releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and Sweet, 15 April 2014
The film was brilliantly acted from the beginning. Not much was given away by the cast and I would say it's well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem!, 29 Sep 2012
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
This beautifully written and impressively acted low budget movie is an absolute gem. The literate/literary script is perhaps more reminiscent of theatre than film but the assured direction ensures that it really works. Yes, there is a touch of Pinter about it all - and even Connor Macpherson's masterpiece "The Weir" but the film certainly isn't derivative. As other one star reviews have indicated this certainly is not a film for everyone - but those of you who appreciate a wonderful script, fine acting and totally assured direction will find much to enjoy in the 75mts on offer. It's wonderful to see such imagination and competency still exists in British cinema and rather worrying it is not appreciated by a greater number of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 12 Mar 2014
By 
Rn Francis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Maybe this will be a little slow for some but this is worth sticking with.
Made on a tiny budget, so the action is limited, the acting is good all round and at just over the hour should not bore anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VERY SLOW,GOOD PREMISE AND WORTH A WATCH., 23 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
Some good acting and a pretty good story make for a fairly creepy movie.Comes with a directors commentary which is always welcome.Worth a view if it comes down in price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars creepy gem of a film, 18 May 2013
By 
M. Bridgeman "Silverscreen" (exeter devon U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Business [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this film on the strength of the positive reviews - and have to say was not in the least disappointed. Atmospheric, creepy and, yes, somewhat 'wordy'. But . . . wordy it may have been but then again there is boring 'wordy' and captivating 'wordy'. This is the latter, thankfully. The 'story within a story' about the ghostly nightclub dancer is real 'campfire' stuff - and again, it's the way it is told more so than the content.
There are some gory moments, but more for effect than the norm - and it does at times feel more like a play - would work well on the stage? - than a horror movie.
Thing is, for me, I can watch blood, guts and gore til the cows come home and not bat an eyelid, but give me something spooky like this and I want to watch something a bit light-hearted afterwards! There is one small scene which has such a cliche in it, but in the context of this film, it felt like someone had dropped a few ice-cubes into the pit of my stomach! Chilling. The actor who plays the main character - Mr Pinner - is excellent; the way he is filmed gives his eyes a really sinister light.
My only slight worry at first was that at only 70 minutes, felt the film may have perhaps been a bit too short - er, hence going for one of the less expensive options! - but having now seen it, my feeling is that it is short, but less is more in this case. If you enjoy good, well-crafted spooky little off-beat films, then give this a chance. And don't go in the cellar afterwards . . . just in case!
As a brief postscript - the disc itself has an 18 BBFC, but only a 15 in Ireland . . .?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Devil's Business [DVD]
The Devil's Business [DVD] by Sean Hogan (DVD - 2012)
£3.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews