Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful
What can i say.. This album is fantastic. What a way to finish a trilogy. People slate things like this for the littlest things. Making three albums can't be easy. This album is different from the previous two but its the perfect way to end the trilogy. Every song is different and the forgotten is a great ending. This album reminds me a little of Warning which is great. A...
Published 19 months ago by KW87

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK Finale, but Disappointing All The Same
The finale to Green Day's 3-album showpiece, Tre was brought forward due to the personal problems surrounding frontman Billie Joe Armstrong, and was declared to be the grandiose instalment of the trilogy as opposed to the power-pop of Uno and garage rock of Dos.

The album starts off with `Brutal Love', which certainly provides an early hint that the band did...
Published 7 months ago by S.E. Haughton


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 10 Dec 2012
This review is from: iTré! (Audio CD)
What can i say.. This album is fantastic. What a way to finish a trilogy. People slate things like this for the littlest things. Making three albums can't be easy. This album is different from the previous two but its the perfect way to end the trilogy. Every song is different and the forgotten is a great ending. This album reminds me a little of Warning which is great. A Green Day fan of many years like me is sure to appreciate the hard work gone into it and im sure would not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best one of their 3 latest albums., 18 Dec 2012
By 
T. Frankling - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ˇTRÉ! [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Out of Uno, Dos and Tre, this is my favourite. They are all quite different, and though I like all 3, the style on Tre is one I prefer, but of course this is personal preference and everyone would prefer each of the different styles. This one also doesn't have anywhere near as much swearing as the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK Finale, but Disappointing All The Same, 28 Nov 2013
This review is from: iTré! (Audio CD)
The finale to Green Day's 3-album showpiece, Tre was brought forward due to the personal problems surrounding frontman Billie Joe Armstrong, and was declared to be the grandiose instalment of the trilogy as opposed to the power-pop of Uno and garage rock of Dos.

The album starts off with `Brutal Love', which certainly provides an early hint that the band did indeed leave the slow, heavy stuff for last. Following this is the bass heavy `Missing You', which wouldn't have gone amiss on Dos, and a comment made by producer Rob Cavallo that the band wanted to simplify things rings true early on, despite the change in mood from the previous two albums. That's exactly what Green Day have done with this trilogy; they've simplified matters while changing the mood here and there. The 3rd track on the record is `8th Avenue Serenade', which proceeds `Drama Queen', the latter of which is built on Billie's emotion-tinged vocals and an acoustic.

Next comes `X-Kid' and then `Sex, Drugs & Violence', which starts off very much like `Nuclear Family' on the Uno album and features a short lead-vocal performance from bassist Mike Dirnt. `A Little Boy Named Train' is up next and is a skipper, before `Amanda' takes its place as the shortest song on the album, and yet another with a woman's name for a title. By this time, you get the feel that this album is somewhat repetitive in its sound; enjoyable, but repetitive.

However, `Walk Away' adds something different. The grandiosity is still there, but there's a slight hint of The Who's `Baba O'Riley' when the song picks up at the 0:53 mark after a slow build-up. `Dirty Rotten Bastards' also provides something different from the first half of the album. In fact, it's effectively 3 slightly similar songs blended into one. It's a song that carries a hint of irony, as the 3 albums that have made this trilogy could have been blended into one instead of carrying a heap of filler that would easily have fulfilled the roles of B-Sides. This is the longest track on the record at 6:26.

The final two tracks on Tre are `99 Revolutions', which again sounds like something we've heard already from the previous two albums and `The Forgotten' which ends the trilogy with a piano balled. As with Dos, it seems right that the band end the album with something different, and Billie's genuine vocal talents are on show here. The song would've been a perfect end to a single, monster album but instead it's a pleasant end to an above average trilogy that at least tells us that Green Day haven't run out of gas, they've simply made the wrong decision in releasing 3 albums with a ton of filler that has detracted from some genuinely brilliant songs.

With that being said, I've structured below what I would have liked to have seen as the tracks used for a single-disc monster album instead of the 3-album calamity that Uno/Dos/Tre became. As I emphasised, the material was there to make a classic album, but the decision making was all wrong.

1. Nuclear Family (Uno)
2. Stay The Night
3. Let Yourself Go
4. Kill the DJ
5. Fell For You
6. Oh Love
----
7. Stop When The Red Lights Flash (Dos)
8. Wild One
9. Stray Heart
10. Nightlife
11. Amy
----
12. Brutal Love (Tre)
13. Drama Queen
14. Sex, Drugs & Violence
15. Walk Away
16. Dirty Rotten Bastards
17. The Forgotten
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good tracks but I preferred Dos!, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iTré! (Audio CD)
I love Green Day and can't wait to see them play live in June. However out of the trilogy Tre is my least favourite album. I think this is a personal taste thing as I see from other reviewers that they like Tre and didn't like Dos which is my favourite. Having said that there are some great tracks that I repeat over and over (the rest being fillers in my opinion), those are Brutal Love, Missing You, Dirty Rotten Bastards, Walk Away and The Forgotten. I also have a soft spot for the track Amanda. It's still a better album than most out there today to buy though from other artists so well worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful rock!, 17 Dec 2012
This review is from: ˇTRÉ! [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Amazing! I don't understand the bad press for this album! Some other agendas maybe?

Who knows?

Buy it you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the trio, 10 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iTré! (Audio CD)
People who say these are not as good as Green Days early stuff need to move on. Like most music, once you get to know it, it grows on you. If I had to choose one of the trio it would be iTre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent finish, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: iTré! (Audio CD)
Green Day finish their trilogy of albums, released within a few weeks of one another, strongly. "Tre!" is probably on a par with "Uno!" as the best of the three with "Dos!", like it's namesake, in second place. "Tre!" is a fantastic record for exactly half the songs on here. But what songs!

"Dirty Rotten Bastards" is my favourite of the lot, coming in at six and a half minutes. Green Day have perfected the double, and sometimes triple, in length song started on "American Idiot" with "Jesus of Suburbia" and "Homecoming", and "DRB" is a bit like "Jesus" crossed with "Minority". It's got this sea-shanty tune that opens and closes the song with this amazing riff and gorgeous melody running throughout. Mixed in are snippets of songs that range from the classic Green Day sound to the Who's "My Generation" sped up, and Mike does some utterly crazy things with the bass. I love it and can't stop listening to it.

A close second is "X-Kid", a power-punk-pop song with shades of `90s staples Bryan Adams and the Stereophonics laid atop one another. It has this brilliantly structured sequence of the instruments coming in one at a time, first the guitar, then the drums, then all cascading wonderfully together at once. It's the kind of song I get goosebumps when it comes on. It's so damn catchy!

"99 Revolutions" is very energetic and fun, it's the anthem for the Occupy movement and should've closed the album instead of the dreary piano ballad "The Forgotten". "Missing You" and "Walk Away" are the kind of songs Billie Joe's perfected over the years and made a fortune from writing. They're classic Green Day from the "Dookie"/"Insomnia" era and are just awesome. They're toe-tapping catchy, fun, cheerful, dance-worthy, upbeat and great.

I wasn't as enthused with the remaining six songs. "Drama Queen" is an acoustic song and seems to be about whatever troubled actress is in the news (Lindsay Lohan, Amanda Bynes, etc.) and sounds a bit like an Oasis B-side from the `90s. "Sex, Drugs & Violence" is a pretty decent punk-pop song with some naff lyrics - they sing "sex, drugs & violence, english, math and science, gimme gimme danger!". Ergh.

I won't talk about the others, they're good for a listen but I don't see myself going back to them much. But the six songs that stand out? No one else in the world could've written these amazing songs but Green Day and for these alone this record is worth getting. It's good to see there are no dodgy raps or songs about killing DJs on this record, and that Green Day have rounded out a solid triple album with one of their strongest collections yet. Proving they continue to make incredible music nearly 25 years into their career, "Tre!" is a must listen to for all Green Day fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ˇTRÉ! [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
A brilliant album, the best of the trilogy, sounds more like Greenday in their earlier years I fully recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A review for ¡Cuatro!, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tre/Cuatro (Audio CD)
This review focuses on ¡Cuatro!, the documentary accompanying the album. Well, I say 'documentary'. It's more of a documentary/music video hybrid. The resulting creature of which is something not quite as good as had it simply been one or the other.

I am a fan of Green Day. I saw them twice last month. I even like, God help me, these new albums. And I am interested in the process behind their creation. The unfortunate fact is that Cuatro contains no such creative insight.

Yes, it has plenty of footage of band practice, but the accompanying voiceovers scratch the surface of the records no more than, for example, the intention to create "something that sounded more ... like stripped down rock and roll".

It also has an unsatisfying fragmented structure that can be summarised thusly:

Footage of the band featuring voiceover,
Performance of a song,
Footage of band featuring voiceover,
Performance of a song,

And so on. The closest the film gets to a genuinely interesting narrative element - from a documentary view - is where the band struggle with the pressures of only playing new material to ravenous audiences foaming for a 'greatest hits' performance. Before this can be explored satisfyingly, however, the film franticly speeds off to another montage of the band goofing around or having band practice.

It feels incomplete, it feels frantic, it feels directionless. Almost like the albums. If you are interested in the inspiration behind Green Day alongside cracking live performances, `Bullet in a Bible' makes a considerably more satisfying watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kids, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iTré! (Audio CD)
not mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

iTré!
iTré! by Green Day (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews