Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sasha Brand Gets Better and Better
There is something distinctly slick and brand-like about the Sasha McCandless novels - for a start, all titles start with the letter `I'. Irreparable Harm (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller No. 1), Inadvertent Disclosure (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller No. 2) and now Irretrievably Broken. The titles themselves make a considerable impact: they instantly appeal to the fans...
Published on 11 Sept. 2012 by Asphodelia

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced enjoyable legal thriller
Third book in the series featuring Sasha McCandless. Fast paced legal thriller with some interesting twists not quite as good as #2 but still an enjoyable read.
Published 10 months ago by Lili


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sasha Brand Gets Better and Better, 11 Sept. 2012
By 
Asphodelia (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Irretrievably Broken (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
There is something distinctly slick and brand-like about the Sasha McCandless novels - for a start, all titles start with the letter `I'. Irreparable Harm (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller No. 1), Inadvertent Disclosure (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller No. 2) and now Irretrievably Broken. The titles themselves make a considerable impact: they instantly appeal to the fans of the legal thriller genre, who will recognise the jargon, and grab the attention of the casual browser, who might be intrigued by the similar sounding headings. The `brand' feel, of course, goes way beyond the titles: Irretrievably Broken is only Melissa F Miller's third novel, but it already feels part of a firmly established series, and one that is destined to gain a bigger and bigger readership with every volume.

Readers new to the Sasha McCandless series would probably benefit from reading the previous two instalments in order, as they set a lot of the scene and introduce recurring characters; however, this is not strictly necessary - Miller expertly feeds enough background information throughout the story, so that all readers can follow the main plot, but without giving her existing readers the impression that content is being unnecessarily repeated. It's a very tricky balance to achieve, and even very well-known writers often get it wrong; take the example of Jean M Auel - the author of the Earth's Children series. Her last novel - The Land of Painted Caves (Earth's Children 6) - was plagued by continuous, mind numbing repetition of character traits and events that, by the seventh book in the series, most readers would have been be very familiar with. In this respect, Auel could certainly learn a things or two from Melissa Miller.

The ingredients of the 'Sasha novels' have, by book 3, become essential staples that, I am sure, all her loyal readers have come to expect: a tight plot combining action and legal exposition; snappy but still realistic dialogue, and brilliantly flawed characters. This is the time for us readers to look at Sasha through a lens in order to really understand her relationship with Connelly and with her own family, her dedication to her work, her severe caffeine habit. As a result, Sasha as a heroine is not infallible - a trait that makes a fictional character instantly sympathetic.

Flawed characters demand a carefully balanced flawed world, and as we know,a lawyer's life is not always hunky-dory; if Irreparable Harm set the scene and Inadvertent Disclosure expanded it, we could say that Irretrievably Broken signals a time for break-ups; not only by its reference to matrimonial law, but also by introducing a rift between Sasha and Connelly - which prevents the characters' dynamics from becoming stale. Even Sasha's invincibility is questioned, as she struggles to find her way in the unfamiliar territory of criminal law. Without giving away any spoilers, by the end of the book, her own infallibility as a lawyer will be seriously tested.

After having consumed my third `legal' fix in the space of a year, I am once again left craving for more. I envy future readers of the series, because they will be able to binge read, while I have to wait patiently until the next instalment is published. Thankfully, Miller is a very prolific writer, and is already at work to keep us topped up with more coffee-fuelled Sasha goodness; until then, I might have to follow a friend's example and just read the first three again, and hope that the megadose will tie me over until number four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Author, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irretrievably Broken (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Am working my way through this series as I have discovered an new author I love! Mellissa Miller keeps her books filled with action & suspense without filling them with unnecessary swearing & vulgarity. This is not chick lit I would recommend to both men & women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous story, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irretrievably Broken (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent story line, and a non stop rush to get to the end. A must read for all serious readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced enjoyable legal thriller, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irretrievably Broken (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Third book in the series featuring Sasha McCandless. Fast paced legal thriller with some interesting twists not quite as good as #2 but still an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Irrterievably Broken, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irretrievably Broken (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
An exciting script with a few turns and very enjoyable reading although the title and the front cover is rather misleading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great one, 25 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irretrievably Broken (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This time around Sasha is persuaded to take on the defense of an a man accused of his wife's murder. And her relationship with Leo Connelly is getting complicated. With too little sleep, too much coffee and having to use her Krav Maga skills once again, Sasha of course gets there in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sasha McCandless #3, 2 July 2012
By 
R Cotterill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Irretrievably Broken (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
With her mixture of legal nous and Krav Maga technique, Sasha McCandless is one of my favourite characters. Irretrievably Broken sees her drawn into a criminal law case, retained against her better judgement to defend a man accused of murder. But the fact that Sasha isn't a criminal lawyer is the least of her problems as she starts to unpick the events leading up to Greg's arrest. This was a fast read, and I didn't want to put it down until I reached the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irretrievably Broken (Sasha McCandless Legal Thriller Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
not as good as the first 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews