Customer Reviews


394 Reviews
5 star:
 (235)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among my best ever albums
As I've mentioned before, a measure of how good an album is is how long it survives amongst the six I have playing on a loop in my car. I've had this one playing since it's October 1012 release. It's still in there! Definitely a record (excuse the pun). Muse have always sounded like other bands, this is no critisism, tracks on this one remind me of Monty Norman, Queen,...
Published 22 months ago by albol

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Law gets 2nd place
I like the album but it has not blown me away as all other Muse albums has done and two tracks are very reminise of earlier records by other artists.
Published on 9 April 2013 by Carol Simmons

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among my best ever albums, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 2nd Law [Digipack] (Audio CD)
As I've mentioned before, a measure of how good an album is is how long it survives amongst the six I have playing on a loop in my car. I've had this one playing since it's October 1012 release. It's still in there! Definitely a record (excuse the pun). Muse have always sounded like other bands, this is no critisism, tracks on this one remind me of Monty Norman, Queen, Radiohead & Mike Oldfield. The title track should be useful for anyone studying physics, despite the insertion of an ecomessage into the second law of thermodynamics. I can't imagine anyone who has liked Muse in the past not giving this 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Release As Ever, 2 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It might take a few listens but sooner rather than later the awesome power of this album will win you over. I listen to classic and modern Rock, classical piano (I've noticed that Muse like to reference Chopin on this - track no.4, Prelude - and their previous album The Resistance) and film scores (Hanz Zimmer first and foremost) and Muse combine all three and more into a fabulicious concoction of verve, rebellion and almighty rock tunes.

Inspirations are varied; the oft-cited Queen is present but also Bowie (in Madness and Panic Station)and John Barry (in the opening track, Supremacy, which is openly Bondesque) and other artists as well no doubt. Muse sure as hell know their stuff.

Stand outs for me are many but I will cite Supremacy, Madness, Survival, Follow Me, Explorers and the last track, Isolated System, which is one of the best productions Muse have ever accomplished in my opinion, and that is saying a lot, all the more so that it works even without Bellamy's penetrating voice.

The duff tracks I would say are the base player's tracks on fighting alcoholism, Save Me and Liquid State, which, while not outright bad, are overshadowed by the other songs and the first 2nd Law "dub step" track, Unsustainable, is also on the weak side.

I'd say this was an 8.5 out of 10, taking into account the weaker tracks, but is certainly more than four stars, hence the five stars.

In conclusion: Muse Rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid Muse album which could've been a classic if the dubstep was removed., 24 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The 2nd Law [Digipack] (Audio CD)
With their latest studio release, Muse have once again utilised various touches to their traditional thunderous prog/space rock sound, with elements of funk, synthpop and even dubstep. Experimenting has never been new to Muse who had previously explored symphonic music on their 2009 release The Resistance as well as electrorock on Black Holes and Revelations though some do consider this foray a step too far. Dubstep is a very heavily derided music genre which many slate as simply noise and many rock bands have experimented with it to dismal results like Korn on Path of Totality. Whilst the dubstep elements on The 2nd Law do keep the album from being as classic as Origin of Symmetry or Absolution, the album on the whole remains an excellent addition to Muse's catalogue. Despite negative reactions from fans, I on the whole enjoyed The 2nd Law very much and is completely worth checking out or even listening to if you're a Muse fan.

Initially, I avoided this album completely when I heard the band were using dubstep on it and I only listened to the singles just to get an idea of what it sounded like. The good news about The 2nd Law is that the album is not predominantly dubstep and either keeps to the same traditional Muse sound or experiments with music that wasn't really alien to them. This is overall a very underrated album that whilst nowhere near the band's best is still a solid record.

'Supremacy' opens up the album very well with bombastic guitar work and a John Barry-esque orchestra in the background. Many have compared this song to sounding like a James Bond theme song and it really does spring to mind when listening to the song. It's over the top and thunderous which is typical of a Muse song and it's awesome. 'Madness' recalls 'Undisclosed Desires' from The Resistance a lot with its more synth dominated sound. A lot of fans hate this song but I love it. It's got a cool haunting sound with 'mad' being repeated by electronic voices throughout the song and Matt Bellamy providing more soothing vocals. It resonates very well and is another standout on the album. 'Panic Station' was the last single to be released from the album and has more of a funk sound to it that sounds a lot like Red Hot Chili Peppers. It rips off a lot of songs from 'Another Bites the Dust' to 'Thriller' to 'Suicide Blonde' yet I still love the hell out of it. It's simply the band having fun with themselves instead of being profound as they normally are. As a side note, it's the first Muse song to have swearing in it.

'Survival' may catch people's attention as it was used as the theme song for the London Olympics. I can see why it was as it has that operatic bravado to it that can be used as motivation. Unfortunately, it also has the problem of being recalled for that alone and may end up being recognised as a novelty song. As a song, it's not bad but not excellent either. You can definitely tell that Matt is going a bit overboard with the Freddie Mercury vocals on it which does drag it a bit. 'Follow Me' is the one which will throw people off for sure with its dubstep beats. The song starts out well enough sounding like another usual Muse song until the breakdown starts. Overall, not a particularly good song. 'Explorers' is another favourite of mine from the album as exemplified by its simple synthesisers and Matt's emotional vocals. Bassist Chris Wolstenholme took over songwriting and vocal duties on 'Save Me' and 'Liquid State'. It took me a while to get into both songs as I wasn't used to hearing anyone other than Matt singing however both are excellent tracks that prove Chris to be an essential member of the group. 'Unsustainable' unfortunately returns the group the dubstep sound from 'Follow Me' whilst 'Isolated System' is a cool way to close off the album as a symphonic instrumental with audio clips spliced in.

My favourite songs off of The 2nd Law: 'Supremacy', 'Madness',' Panic Station', 'Animals', 'Explorers' and 'Liquid State'.

The 2nd Law is nowhere near Muse's best album and its attempts at experimentation are hit and miss. However, when the album works, it really does work and many of the songs are some of the strongest they have written. You'd have to not be a fan of the band to truly hate this album whilst fans would either love or simply like this or respectively dismiss it. For me, I was impressed by it for the most part and I preferred it to The Resistance which was a generally hit and miss album. The band have also announced recently that their next album would be more in the same vein as Origin or Absolution which is excellent news. For now though, I'm happy with what they have given us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new direction?, 12 Oct. 2012
By 
Amicie (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 2nd Law (Audio CD)
This seems to be a bit of marmite album - though I'm glad to see that the 5* votes are starting to pile up. I love everything Muse have ever done; their best work is sublime. My own feeling about this album is that maybe the band have grown up a bit, there's less of the angst-y teenager, more reflective adult in the lyrics. I strongly disagree with reviewers who say they've sold out. This is Muse moving on, and moving on in a very interesting direction. I've listened to the album twice now. Even on my first listen I felt that this was probably the best thing I've heard this year. On second listen I was starting to get very excited indeed - this is complex, beautiful music. I feel that this album improves as it goes along - the first tracks are good but the middle section is amazing. I suspect I will be listening to this - and hearing new things within the music - for a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Law gets 2nd place, 9 April 2013
By 
Carol Simmons (Canary Wharf) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 2nd Law (Audio CD)
I like the album but it has not blown me away as all other Muse albums has done and two tracks are very reminise of earlier records by other artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They can do better, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 2nd Law (Audio CD)
And that's it, really, not unpleasant to listen to, and occasional flashes of their best sounds and concepts, but a bit of a drop from their ealier albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Belter. Wel worth a purchase and I am not a rabid fan!!, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 2nd Law [Digipack] (Audio CD)
I am not going to repeat all of the previous reviewers other than to say that with this MUSE are at the top of their game.

Am I the only one to think they sound more and more like Queen!?1! Which is no bad thing though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthemic crowd-pleaser ready for another tour!, 22 Jan. 2013
By 
Darren Collis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 2nd Law [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Their latest album has 5 big anthems varying from an epic James Bond-style opener, extremely infectious beautifully-written 'Madness', Queen-Style stadium dance track 'Panic Station', Olympic anthem 'Survival' and the very U2 'Big Freeze'.
Along with these, the bass player gives a 'Pendulum' style vocal to 'Liquid State'.
There are some very serious and personal lyrics, but rather than feeling depressing the album has an energising effect that will certainly work well live at their stadium shows in Summer 2013.
Definitely worth buying the whole album, but if downloading individual tracks 'Save Me', 'Liquid State' and 'Animals' are probably the weakest tracks.
The last 2 tacks - 2nd Law work as a stand-alone piece, but need the rest of the album to put into perspective.
Part One has 'Jean Michel Jarre - Revolutions' style robotic vocal and noisy 'transformers-style' samples that you either like or hate.
Prt 2 is a beautiful digi-classical piece reminiscent of Mike Oldfield's 'tubular bells' - again with samples, it is 'like it or hate it' territory.
Not for everybody, but if you don't like 'Madness' - there is something seriously wrong with you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muse utterly bonkers which is why we love them, 10 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 2nd Law [Digipack] (Audio CD)
While there are no standout commercial tracks as on The Resistance, on balance this is a better album. Its great to see a British rock band that are as utterly crazy as Queen were, no-one could ever replace Mercury as a front man, but we need bands to push the envelope and with all the auto-tuned commercial rubbish being produced this days Muse are a beacon of talent, musicians who can play and sing and put on a great live show. Now can't wait for the next album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evolutionary Musicians, 21 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: The 2nd Law (Audio CD)
There are many words I could use to describe this band, but two jump out more than others...
EVOLUTION & MUSICIANS.
They've demonstrated so many times before that they're virtuoso music magicians both in the studio and on stage who constantly evolve and delve into new weird and wonderful territories, distorting genres and sounding like they come from another planet. All I can say is viva planet Muse. The 2nd Law, with it's take on the world's ever-growing consumption needs and ever-depleting energy resources is yet another step in Muse's political and aggressive fight against those who don't heed Spiderman's warning, 'with great power, comes great responsibility'.

1) Supremacy - 9/10
The Bond song that never was is one hell of a way to open an album. In this opening track, we get the epic bombastic sound of Muse we've come to expect (particularly from latter half of their career) as well as some powerful screams from Matthew Bellamy that the more nostalgic of Muse fans will remember and treasure on this release.

2) Madness 10/10
Fully admitting themselves that this is a step beck and a stripped-away creation from their usual heavy-layered efforts, Madness is one of the band's rare love songs with that unique futuristic edge we're used to. Some of the band's finest riffs and songs come from build-ups and this song is just that, a build up to a declaration of love and how important love is with truly beautiful melodies, harmonies and lyrics bringing the song to a close. You discover beauty in a song that doesn't seem the sort of track to produce it.

3) Panic Station - 8/10
The band's constant exploration into music is one of their biggest strengths and Panic Station is just that, a fun experiment into new territory that doesn't take itself too seriously. The guitar riffs perhaps are a little unimaginative at times but when working with the funky brass, you quickly forget and enjoy what is, a good track which is over too quickly and leaves you wanting another chorus.

4) Prelude - N/A
Prelude is a lyric-less interlude between Panic Station and (more importantly) Survival. Simple enough, is it worth reviewing as a proper track, no.

5) Survival - 8.5/10
A mixed bag of goodies. Muse certainly have a cheesy edge to their album and this song is a prime example. But boy does that cheese have a distinct power?! Face-melting riffs, choirs and screams from Bellamy make this one hell of a Muse track that seems to have a sense of marmite about it amongst fans and listeners. For me, it's a winner.

6) Follow Me - 9/10
With a song that starts with the heartbeat of Matthew Bellamy's new baby, you expect this song will deliver and it does. Beautifully simple lyrics, computerised futuristic elements, sensational vocals and emotional choruses make this an absolute triumph. Bravo.

7) Animals - 8/10
Very simple and on the offensive, reminiscent of Resistance's Uprising, this song is a fight that slowly builds up in volume against the fat cats of the world. Clever lyrics, it knows its place on the album and while it is not one of the strongest, it's a big success.

8) Explorers - 4/10
Unfortunately, this fantastic album does have a weakness and that weakness is Explorers. Matthew Bellamy is known for his versatility on both guitar and piano. This album tends to lack the piano element and thus, when it comes into the spotlight, it needs to deliver. To say that it doesn't might be a little harsh, but it certainly isn't up to any of its piano predecessors and the lyrics do not do much to raise the game either. Disappointing, but far from disastrous.

9) Big Freeze - 7/10
Another fun one with a bit more of the Muse-sound we're used to. Drawing cheesy lyrics and guitar riffs reminiscent of Map of the Problematique (2006), it's a decent track which does what you'd expect the 'average' Muse song to do. Possibly forgettable on a first run-through, it's one you may well come back to on future listens and be pleasantly surprised there was a decent enough song you'd forgotten.

10) Save Me - 7/10
This and Liquid State are the two songs written and sung by bassist Chris Wolhemstone, a first for the band. On a listen through without prior knowledge of Muse, they are arguably two weaker songs. However, with this in mind and the idea of evolution and experiment, they're settled nicely in the last third of the album and a welcome addition to the Muse sound. Save Me is calming, warm and genuine, albeit possibly a little too long.

11) Liquid State - 6/10
A heavier effort from the bassist, arguably too short whereas the previous track was too long. Some older-sounding riffs make this a good rock-out track but a little basic.

12) The 2nd Law: Unsustainable - 7/10
Need I say experimentation? Dub-step with guitars, we should have seen it coming. The sound of the Muse of the future? I highly doubt it, but we may see these endeavours in future releases from time to time, as they're certainly no stranger to synths and computerised elements. A good 'title track' that show their constant growth.

13) The 2nd Law: Isolated System - 10/10
This is where the magic is. Turn the speakers/headphones up and blast this, I dare you. So simple, so beautiful, so catchy, so clever. That's all that needs to be said. A fantastic album close that sums up the albums' themes and messages.

In review, the previous release of 2009 (The Resistance) is the drop in quality next to 2006's Black Holes & Revelations and The 2nd Law. While still a great album, it seemed to get too carried away with itself and with The 2nd Law, Muse are back on track. Bravo Bellamy, bravo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 2nd Law [Digipack]
The 2nd Law [Digipack] by Muse (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Black Holes And Revelations
Black Holes And Revelations by Muse (Audio CD - 2006)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (358)   

The Resistance
The Resistance by Muse (Audio CD - 2009)
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (343)   

Drones
Drones by Muse (Audio CD - 2015)
Click for more info
Available for pre-order