Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, very clever, a little bit dark in places and a swearing Vicar...
Rev is too short: only six measly episode per series. And only two series, so far. But that might not be a bad thing. Like Spaced, it might just be two series is enough, the perfect amount, and to go any further would be to ruin something lovely, and it could end up on Series 4, and go all rubbish. Like Prison Break.

The writing in Rev is - in some places -...
Published 16 months ago by Julian Gale

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated stereotypes
Was really looking forward to this with all the good reviews but was disappointed. The humour seemed to rely on outdated stereotypes, which I found rather cringe-making. Good performances from Olivia Colman (though rather wasted though in the rev wife role) and Simon McBurney, but not enough there to encourage us to continue watching - admittedly we stopped after three...
Published 4 months ago by Sister G


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, very clever, a little bit dark in places and a swearing Vicar..., 8 May 2013
By 
Julian Gale (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rev - Series 1-2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Rev is too short: only six measly episode per series. And only two series, so far. But that might not be a bad thing. Like Spaced, it might just be two series is enough, the perfect amount, and to go any further would be to ruin something lovely, and it could end up on Series 4, and go all rubbish. Like Prison Break.

The writing in Rev is - in some places - absolute genuis. The characters are splendidly acted, and the dynamics between them are sometimes subtle and touching, other times violent and sweary.

I particulary like the Archdeacon, who always pours his coffee away. I don't know why that makes me laugh; it just does.

Summary: watch it. You'll like it. And if you don't, Jesus will hate you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rev - series 1&2, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rev - Series 1-2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Tom Hollander is superb as downtrodden and slightly faith-confused head of St Saviours. Great interaction between a host of characters who crop up throughout pretty well every episode including long suffering and rather amazingly supportive wife, Colin the drunken but eloquent tramp (is he the voice of God or Jesus throughout?) and a small group of others who help show how tough and exasperating being an inner-city cleric must be in the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rev - Series 1-2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Best programme on the telly, can never watch it too many times would recommend it to anyone with a sense of humour and a soul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rev - Series 1-2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
So far I have only watched the first 2 episodes, both are hilarious and reflective at the same time. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Entertaining Series, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rev - Series 1-2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series - well written and acted with interesting storylines. I thoroughly recommend it, especially if you have ever had anything to do with the clergy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Think about it, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rev - Series 1-2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is ok if you are middle class and feel that you want to 'do good' in the world. But there is a lot of condescension in here, and if you imagine the situations from the point of view of the recipient of the 'doing good' I don't think you will feel comfortable. But I loved the writing for the archdeacon, and Colin's special bit did seem to hit the nail on the head. Overall I did enjoy watching this with my evening meal after work, and will get next one, if there is one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great TV, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rev - Series 1-2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Rev is a fantastic sitcom suited to viewers with both dry and obvious senses of humour. Would recommend to anyone with experience of involvement with the Church!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEW Classic, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rev - Series 1-2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Pure genius, great cast and fantastic script if u want a belly laugh then here is your answer buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rev - Series 1-2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed watching Rev on the TV when it was broadcast, so I bought it for my girlfriend's parents at Christmas and they have been really enjoying it.

I really like how Rev is adult comedy without the need to be really crass and rude and is generally pretty sweet, in a cute sort of a way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rev - Series 1-2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Missed the first series on TV. Watched the second and loved it so bought the set. Wonderful characters. Very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rev - Series 1-2 Box Set [DVD]
Rev - Series 1-2 Box Set [DVD] by Tom Hollander (DVD - 2012)
11.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews