Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad Rag Doll - Glad I bought it
A fine and long awaited album from the ever popular Ms Krall. Despite the attention grabbing album cover there is also much to grab the attention inside. No lush orchestrations or jazz standards, just simple tunes, nicely sung, with, at times minimal backing. This puts Diana's voice to the fore and she does just nicely in her own laid back and husky kind of way.
The...
Published on 15 Oct 2012 by J. D. Naylor

versus
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Change of Direction Which Is Only Partly Successful
Hmmm..... I must admit that the last two studio albums from Krall, which while very pleasant, were creating a strong sense of deja vu in me, and, much the same as Micheal Buble, she seemed to be in a complacent rut of similar arrangements of middle of the road crowd pleasers that offered little in the way of variety and development.

This new offering does at...
Published on 29 Oct 2012 by Caramba!


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad Rag Doll - Glad I bought it, 15 Oct 2012
By 
J. D. Naylor "jazzfan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glad Rag Doll (Audio CD)
A fine and long awaited album from the ever popular Ms Krall. Despite the attention grabbing album cover there is also much to grab the attention inside. No lush orchestrations or jazz standards, just simple tunes, nicely sung, with, at times minimal backing. This puts Diana's voice to the fore and she does just nicely in her own laid back and husky kind of way.
The whole album really could belong in enother era which combines elements of Gypsy jazz, barrel house blues and some good old romantic balladry. Mark ribot on guitar plays a very big part of the accompaniment on this album and Diana's own piano playing often takes a back seat. Many of the tunes have a nice stripped down and laid back affair with minimal backing which is quite unlike her previous albums.
For me this is a much better album than the very low key "Quiet Nights" which gained as much criticism as it did praise. This is a brave and bold step from Diana which may disappoint her Non-jazz fan listeners but for those who can put aside the rapid change of direction then there is much to be enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off!!!, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glad Rag Doll (Audio CD)
OK if you want to listen to "A night in Paris" or "The Look of Love" (both of which are great, and I have them and listen to them) - well listen to them I guess! I applaud Diana for an album which is a slight departure from some of the things she has done before. I applaud her especially for looking beyond the classic female jazz vocalist songbook - which she has shown many times she can perform as well or better than the best. So if you want to hear Diana interpreting some different material, and doing it with her usual style and panache, then this album is for you. It is also for you if you like jazz and have a genuine appreciation for the intimate relationship between jazz and the blues. It is also for you if you like Diana's husky delivery, which suits some of this material really well.

No comment directly on some of the other reviews, but "pompous", "ignorant about the roots of jazz", not to mention "narrow minded" are comments that might apply to some of them. Really, what do some of you expect? That she will simply reprise the material she and others have already done more than once? She's an artist - she needs to grow. Great Diana, more please. I think you're great at the classics, and my respect for you as an artist has increased as a result of this album. Keep listening to the 78s!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure enjoyment, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glad Rag Doll (Audio CD)
What is the purpose of listening to music? Surely it is for enjoyment and this disc so wonderfully invites you to fully enjoy it. Yes it is different from Diana Krall's usual recordings but I doubt that it is a permanent departure from her usual routes. So just forget labels as to which genre this recording belongs in because it covers many styles from the honky tonk We Just Couldn't Say Goodbye, the jazz styled Butterfly That's caught in the Rain, the country style Prairie Lullaby, the bluesy Lonely Avenue, the rocking I'm a Little Mixed Up, the very theatrical When the Curtain Comes Down and so on. This CD is pure enjoyment and to my way of thinking that is what it's all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Change of Direction Which Is Only Partly Successful, 29 Oct 2012
This review is from: Glad Rag Doll (Audio CD)
Hmmm..... I must admit that the last two studio albums from Krall, which while very pleasant, were creating a strong sense of deja vu in me, and, much the same as Micheal Buble, she seemed to be in a complacent rut of similar arrangements of middle of the road crowd pleasers that offered little in the way of variety and development.

This new offering does at least attempt to take a new approach in presenting Krall as something more than an easy listening popular jazz artist, but unfortunately it's not a wholly successful exercise.

The cover of the CD, on which Krall is uncharacteristically and somewhat tastelessly portrayed as some Britney-like sex doll, is a clue to the changes within. The first few tracks, however, will lead you to think that you're in for another round of 'Quiet Nights', but suddenly by track 5 we're in the new world of the blues/ rock Diana, that only increases in its drawn out monotony as the album progresses.

Don't get me wrong, some of the tracks are very good indeed and are a refreshing diversion from the Krall norm, but the production of this album overall is rather muddy and does not pay homage to any instrument, including the vocals, except the electric guitar, which takes over as the main focus of extended bridge in too many of the tracks.

She does deserve some credit for attempting something different here, which in some tracks works fairly well, but the album as a whole won't appeal to fans of her earlier work, but neither will it appeal to rock or blues fans either, and this is its fundamental problem. It simply doesn't know what kind of album to be, and Krall really does seem to have come rather unstuck with this ill-advised muddle of styles.

Further listening might make it grow on you, but I can't help feeling, rather reluctantly, that Krall is going to be forced back into her comfort zone after this.

Too much, too soon, too muddled.

Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad Rag Doll, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glad Rag Doll (Audio CD)
Diana Krall delivers the goods again - with some lesser-known numbers on this Album, although it could have done without the synthetic accompanimenmt on some of the tracks....................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great tribute to Krall's father, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glad Rag Doll (Audio CD)
Krall always surprises with her creative brilliance- just a wonderful interesting bunch of songs.... I loved every track....well done to a great musician whom i have followed from the beginning .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am pleased I bought it - and not just because of the cover..., 11 Nov 2012
By 
Doug "Doug" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Glad Rag Doll (Audio CD)
I have been waiting for a new album from Ms Krall, and was a little shocked and dismayed by the cover image, which is surely not necessary to sell this excellent musicians work. (Hence only 4 stars)

Getting beyond this....

It is however a gem of an album with no fancy orchestras, just simple ballads and songs performed very well indeed.

(It is after all that husky voice that is Diana Krall), and in this album we get to enjoy that voice at its very best with minimal backing.

An excellent album, which I have been listening to over and over again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kool Krall is Kommended, 13 Nov 2012
By 
David C. Oldroyd "Madhatter" (Henlow,Beds, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glad Rag Doll (Audio CD)
I am a long term fan and this album reinforces how good she is. Her phrasing and interpretation of so many of the songs is just amazing.
If you like Jazz and quality then this album is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an artists such a great Jazz musician and lyricist too boot, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glad Rag Doll (Audio CD)
What an artists such a great Jazz musician and lyricist too boot! and she can sing like warm treacle... well recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glad Rag Doll (Audio CD)
Diana at her sultry best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glad Rag Doll
Glad Rag Doll by Diana Krall (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews