Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The career so far of a real Liverpool Legend
In a way the timing of this book is something of a surprise. It is not that long ago that the hardback "Gerrard : My Autobiography" was published and since then there has also been a paperback "Steven Gerrard : My Story" and "Steven Gerrard : My Captain's Book (Secrets Behind The Armband)". That Headline have decided to publish yet another book with the same subject is...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. C. M. Wood

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3*
It was ok, but I reckon it's suited more to his younger fans. It's just about his LFC career not anything personal
Published 17 months ago by Mrsvillalfc


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The career so far of a real Liverpool Legend, 9 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. C. M. Wood (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In a way the timing of this book is something of a surprise. It is not that long ago that the hardback "Gerrard : My Autobiography" was published and since then there has also been a paperback "Steven Gerrard : My Story" and "Steven Gerrard : My Captain's Book (Secrets Behind The Armband)". That Headline have decided to publish yet another book with the same subject is probably down to the player's marketability. Even in his 33rd year, Liverpool's skipper remains one of the iconic figures of world football, despite injury restricting him to only 52 club appearances in the last two seasons, a total he would previously have expected to reach in a single season. The player himself explains the reasoning behind bringing out this sort of book now: "I am presented with countless opportunities to do books about my career. I usually turn them down flat. However, the chance to tell "My Liverpool Story" through my words and the photographs which frame my life was too good a chance to overlook".

So this book is different from others previously published. Whilst you would expect a book about a footballer's life to have a selection of photographs in the middle of it summarising the man's career, "My Liverpool Story" has excellent colour photographs on nearly every page, many of which have not been seen before. Furthermore, reading the comments that come with each glossy picture, I initially had no doubt that they were the player's own words and not words conjured up by some ghostwriter.

Gerrard's career is covered in fifteen chapters, all bar the first covering a single football season from the time he made his debut in Liverpool's first team in November 1998. Chapter One (1980-1998) merely summarises his early life and the journey he made on the way to that first-team debut. Steven acknowledges that personal praise from Jamie Redknapp gave him a massive boost, Jamie having watched him represent the club's A-team for the first time and immediately forecasting that he would "walk into Liverpool's first team". Also, the quick progress Michael Owen made had both inspired him and driven him forward. They had known each other since before they were teenagers and the young Gerrard honestly admits that he "wanted to get to where he was as quickly as he had done it". Inevitably, the chapters covering seasons in which Liverpool won trophies are examined more closely than those that were trophy-less.

At around the time this book was being printed, Steven Gerrard had just been sent off for the first time as an England player, this following six dismissals for his club. The man who would go on to captain both his club and his country recognised that there were many occasions as a teenager when he "crossed the line" on the football pitch. But once he broke through into senior football, it became more important than ever that he didn't become the "liability" he admits he was earlier. Fortunately, the coaching staff at his club were able to get him into a mindset where he could "channel his talents more efficiently". Gerrard accepts that his will to win did not involve intentionally trying to hurt opponents but that "I wanted to be a success so much that my temperament boiled over". Similar honesty is shown as he assesses other parts of his game like being awarded the captaincy, his relationship with the different Liverpool managers he served under and the attempts other clubs, notably Chelsea, made to prise him away from the club he had always supported.

It has long been my belief that a committed supporter is likely to remember big games and big moments better than most players who appeared in such matches and moments. With Gerrard being such a strong supporter of Liverpool Football Club as well as its leader on the pitch, it is therefore rather surprising to read him talking about Fernando Morientes scoring early in the 2005 League cup final (when it was actually John Arne Riise) and that, according to him, Neil Mellor came on at half-time as a substitute in the crucial 2004 Champions League match against Olympiakos at Anfield (when Mellor was not actually introduced until twelve minutes from time). One picture I had not seen before taken from the same season (2004-05) has a caption describing Gerrard's fierce free-kick that "flew past Portsmouth's David James in front of the Kop". The beaten goalkeeper was actually Jamie Ashdown. That made me start to wonder if Gerrard had actually written the captions himself because he was an international team-mate of David James for many years and so he ought to have known when he had scored past him at club level. If he did indeed write the captions, then someone neglected to check them all for accuracy. Such errors are unlikely to bother a Steven Gerrard fan or indeed most Liverpool fans. But they will bother a statistician or firm LFC aficionado. However, it is likely that this book is aimed at `ordinary' Liverpool supporters not statisticians. On the whole they will not be disappointed because, a few factual inaccuracies apart, it provides a fascinating pictorial record and summary of one of the greatest players ever to represent the club in its long and illustrious history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Nov 2012
Great value for a tenner, lots of glossy pics and in depth comments from SG
Would make a great present for any LFC fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for a Christmas stocking filler., 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my 12 year old son. Gerrard is one of his football heroes. This book is a must buy for anyone who admires Gerrard. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Liverpool fans, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really interesting and well written. Brilliant insight into this great football club and one of its best ever players. Includes some brilliant pictures. Enjoyed reading events from Stevie's point of view and not how newspapers portrayed things. All Liverpool supporters will enjoy reading this, found it hard to put the book down once i had started it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 8 Nov 2012
This review is from: Steven Gerrard: My Liverpool Story (Kindle Edition)
This was a good read but I had it on kindle so some of the pictures didn't show which was disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pictorial Account of an Anfield Legend, 9 Oct 2012
By 
Malcolm (Edlesborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Steven Gerrard: My Liverpool Story, is a welcome addition
to any LFC fan's library of books about the great Anfield
club and the boy from Whiston who lived the dream.

For those who already have Gerrard: My Autobiography, this
latest book is a pictorial account of Stevie's career from
1998 up to September 2012.
With a Foreward by Kenny Dalglish the book is published
in 10"x 8" coffee table format with approx 300 pages and
has scores of good quality pictures of Stevie in action.

There are more pictures in the book than actual written
word, but where Stevie does comment he gives insights into
his fellow LFC team mates and his on field opponents.
The closing pages give Stevie's Career Statistics up to the
time of going to press.

An ideal book for young and old, and great as a Christmas
or birthday present, or just to treat yourself.
Prices may fluctuate, my copy cost 10.99.
Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book for gerrard fans / liverpool , good price my son thinks its fantastic and i reckon good for most age groups
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smashing, 8 Jan 2013
i got this for my daughter loves steven gerrard . great pictures was half price of elsewhere . fantastic value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Present, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this for my son for christmas, and he loves it and has been reading it from time to time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R A R KID, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great price for a well received xmas present. Hard back edition was perfect for a misguided Liverpool fan. Not a bad read actually (from the extracts I had read before wrapping it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb055cc0c)

This product

Steven Gerrard: My Liverpool Story
8.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews