Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entry level guide
I bought this book 2 days ago after struggling with The UK Traders Bible (to be fair to the author of that book this wasn't intended to be a beginners book but it is extremely good despite the terminology).
However, this book is extremely well written with easy to understand explanations. I highly recommend this book if you are a newcomer to the stock markets like...
Published on 5 Jan 2009 by Mr. R. Martineau

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars average read
bit wishy washy of where to start buying shares need to be more simplified for true beginners to gain understanding
Published 8 months ago by derek lynch


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entry level guide, 5 Jan 2009
By 
I bought this book 2 days ago after struggling with The UK Traders Bible (to be fair to the author of that book this wasn't intended to be a beginners book but it is extremely good despite the terminology).
However, this book is extremely well written with easy to understand explanations. I highly recommend this book if you are a newcomer to the stock markets like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect guide to the stock market, 14 Dec 2007
By 
Alexander Davidson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was a reader of Shares magazine when Rodney Hobson was at the helm
before Hemscott got him. I tried not to miss a copy. Hobson's book
Shares Made Simple is our perfect guide to the stock market.
It does what it says on the tin. The author explains such things as
what shares are, how they are created, whose company it is, company
accounts, and the London Stock Exchange. He takes his case studies
from the market. The overview of takeovers is the best. Hobson has
that rare knack of explaining complex financial matters in words
anybody can understand. Here is the beginners' guide that was always
waiting to get written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Share trading, 19 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was one of three books I purchased on share dealing / investing and was the cheapest , it was also the best and I found it easy to follow with lots of useful information , the jargon busting section was great

unlike some books in this area it does not presume you are already trading the stock markets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for budding stock market traders, 29 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shares Made Simple is an absolutely fantastic book. I purchased the book because I wanted to invest money in the stock market but didn't have a clue how the process worked. The book takes you through the absolute basics in a clear, well-paced format.

Not only does the book take you through what shares are and how to invest, but it offers an invaluable insight into the operational and organisational aspects of business. For example Rodney Hobson explains how to understand each line on a company's annual results sheet and explains the difference between a Chairman, Executive director and non-Executive director.

In summary, I believe this book holds incredibly valuable information for anyone interested in stock-market investment or the running of a business. Don't be put-off by thinking that this book might be a boring read, it's well written, so delves into what you need to know and then quickly moves on to the next topic.

Jon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant if you know nothing about shares and the stock market, 17 May 2009
By 
Mr. Jeremy Hills "jeza1984" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A well written, informative book that avoids using jargon and allows anybody to get a good base knowledge of shares and the market. I found this book considerably better than others which seem to promote their websites or magazines or in one case just their investing prowess!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great place to start, 1 Nov 2009
By 
S. Phillips (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Shares made simple is a well written, easy to read and very informative book, for beginers on the stock market.
The concepts involed are very easy to pick up and reading the book becomes a breeze once you get hocked on it. This is most definity the place to start if your interested and don't know where to start. It covers all the most common jargon used in stocks, and leads well into other book that require a certain level of knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beginners guide for BEGINNERS, 7 Jan 2008
By 
Shares Made Simple By RODNEY HOBSON I found this super book gave sound advice in plain english.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 6 Mar 2011
I haven't read any other books on this subject so I have nothing to compare this to. However I did find stocks and shares quite daunting before reading this book. After reading it and investing some money, all my friends come to me with questions about shares as "the expert" and I feel like I can answer them all.

If you are wanting to invest money but are not really clued up about where to go, who to invest in, what the FTSE 100 is, or anything, I am pretty sure this book covers it.

If you are fairly competent with shares then I think this book may be a little simple for you, there is one chapter on charting which the writer says could be a book in itself, so maybe the more experienced investors need something on that subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 29 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful for the newer shareholder. Nothing on shorting / spread betting, but very useful for someone who wants a basic and overall knowledge on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written primer, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shares Made Simple: A beginner's guide to the stock market (Revised, updated and expanded second edition) (Kindle Edition)
A plain and simple, well written primer on stocks and shares. Perfect starting point for the beginner or anyone needing to broaden their knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews