Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly brilliant crossover game
If you like peas, and you like cheese, you'll love Cheesy Peas!!
Well, a bit like that unlikely idea, this game combines Pokemon with a turn based action/strategy game in the style of Advance Wars. And it's very likely that you will love it, even if Pokemon make you feel slightly queasy.

The goal of the game is to conquer 17 kingdoms, after which the...
Published 24 months ago by D. Thompson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good
good, it is very enjoyable and i am happy that I purchased it, I feel amazon is doing a good job.
Published 3 months ago by Brian Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly brilliant crossover game, 30 July 2012
By 
D. Thompson "semi_artificial" (N.W. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokemon Conquest (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
If you like peas, and you like cheese, you'll love Cheesy Peas!!
Well, a bit like that unlikely idea, this game combines Pokemon with a turn based action/strategy game in the style of Advance Wars. And it's very likely that you will love it, even if Pokemon make you feel slightly queasy.

The goal of the game is to conquer 17 kingdoms, after which the legendary Pokémon Arceus will appear. Each kingdom corresponds to a pokemon type - it will come as no surprise to Pokemon players that the first three are Fire, Grass and Water.

Battles take place in areas which are divided up into squares, with each side taking turns to move their players around - it's a bit like chess, although far less complex (but more fun, in my opinion!).

Warlords and their allies are recruited to your cause by defeating them in battle. Pokemon can be `caught' by completing a simple rhythm-action game, with the aim being to also find pokemon with which the trainer has a high affinity. As ever, Pokemon can be strengthened or evolved through battling, and there are other things that you will do regularly, such as digging for gold to use in shops and feeding your pokemon, but these are very straightforward tasks.

The game allows you to see which pokemon are going to be used by the next warlord , and what strength they are, so it's easy to plan for the battle once the game gets going and you have a range of pokemon types to choose from. The combat areas are quite small and, with only one attack per pokemon, battle strategies are pretty straightforward. The brisk pace and varying designs mean that they aren't boring, however, and you will look forward to seeing how the battle arena works when you challenge the next kingdom.

Yes, it's easy, so a veteran of Advance Wars will find little challenge here. You will probably develop some favourite warriors/Pokemon but they don't disappear if defeated in battle, as in Fire Emblem, so there isn't the same tension during a battle. The main quest is much shorter than the main Pokemon games - I'm nearing the end at 22 hours play and I am hoping that the additional/downloadable missions are also compelling. I won't cover any more here, as Metroid 02 has already provided a great review which includes a lot of detail.

Overall, this is a very addictive and engrossing game, and suitable for all ages - I'm 53 . For Pokemon fans this is an absolute must-have game - do not think about it for one minute longer! For turn-based strategy players, it's rather simplistic but very well done, so a fantastic introduction for anyone who not familiar with the genre. For anyone else, the game is so enjoyable that I doubt you wouldn't have fun.
So ... Cheesy Peas ... Brilliaaaaaaant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST SPIN OFF EVER MUST BUY FOR ALL POKEMON FANS, 31 July 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokemon Conquest (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
when I bought this game I bought it as a a fill in untill the black and white sequels. I did not expect the game I got, you get the almost compulsion to catch 'em all that the main series is famous for, combined with the battle animation that the main games lack.There are points in the game the depth of strategy is almost chess like. You have the option taking a complete six pokemon in to battle, with the freedom the make alliances as you see fit. You get to start off with one of the coolest little guys from the first generation, Eevee becoming attached to little guy making the options of whether or what to evolve him into more dire . Your customisation does not stop at your own team but all the warlords you leave behind to defend the castles you left behind from neighbouring warlords, so you don't get caught short facing opponents with more and stronger pokemon against you to retake the castle you have taken. In battles in not just the abilities of the pokemon that help the team and effect the outcome of the game, unlike the main game the trainers have abilities which you use in combination with the rest of your team to achieve an out come.When finish the main game's story or at least beat the pokemon league the game can fall flat with no more gym battles making the rest of the matches less intense. In conquest once you finish the main games you can play the backstory of one the warlords you met like a mini story that see you playing a main game for different motives and different motives allowing you to connect with a lesser character and their pokemon.
over all a great spin off
a great stand alone game
at times better than the main series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CONQUEST, FREEDOM, POWER - BEST POKEMON GAME IN 10 YEARS!, 27 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokemon Conquest (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Pokemon Conquest is FINALLY here and with it REAL, TURN BASED ACTION. Released in Japan, March 17, this year, the game has been an CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED success. It's the SLEEPER HIT you won't want to miss. Half a Million copies already sold WORLDWIDE, yet perhaps the best Pokemon game in the last 10 years. I applaud Nintendo for only taking 4 months to translat and be released in the UK and wow was it worth the wait.

It's primarily an RPG with Turn Based Action which forces a player to skillfully think about every move and oppurtunity. The soundtrack is one of the best I've heard EVER, it's very 80's synthesiser, high pitch wave of sounds. The graphics are BRIGHT and very COLOURFUL and fun to look at. I wish more games went for BRIGHT colour pallete rathen than ten shades of GREY as seen in more realistic war games.

As a player, you must conquer LAND and REGIONS, FIGHT WARLORDS and FORCE them to JOIN you so you have more Pokemon fodder at your mercy. Each pokemon has different stats, moves and movement abilities so CHOOSE carefully. Also WATCH out, each WARLORD has it's own SPECIAL ABILITY to TRAP and SUPRISE you.

GAME RATING - A+ Triple Star Rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 28 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokemon Conquest (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
i was expecting something that would resemble the main pokemon series but instead this offers something new and more interesting, it does still maintains a deep connection with pokemon. the artwork is much more impressive and beautiful to look at, and the format is simple once you get the hang of it but i must admit this is possibly the best pokemon game i have played in a long time! its just something better new and fresh i love everything from the artwork to the turnbased style of play.

But i will admit i have one small problem with this game (and it is small) and that is the fact that if you rush through it (like my friend did) you can complete the game quickly it is short so be aware. I myself are still battling through because i like to take my time, but the reason i believe its so short is that its something brand new and rather then overloading us with a load of stuff in one game they needed to get it tested out in a small way. I am sure there will be another after this (as with all pokemon games) but i must say if they make another i would actually look forward to it!

Of course if you have a wifi connection you can download the extra sruff after the game has been beaten. But overall i give this game 9/10 seriously wonderful game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Out of our depth., 24 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokemon Conquest (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Bought as a present for our Granddaughter, the lack of response afterwards must mean that the game met with her approval .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good, 27 Mar 2014
This review is from: Pokemon Conquest (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
good, it is very enjoyable and i am happy that I purchased it, I feel amazon is doing a good job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokemon Conquest (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Brought for a friend as i let him borrow my copy and he loved playing it. Its a great game quite different from other pokemon games but that's what i love most about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokemon Conquest (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Bought for my son. He really enjoys playing it. He has recommended it to his friends. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokemon Conquest (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
cool game, good idea, great concept. not quite like the other pokemon games i could play for ours but still a good buy and worth a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pokemon, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokemon Conquest (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Another hit for Pokemon. Great to play and hours of fun.Liked what I had bought and because its for the DS I can play it any where I go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pokemon Conquest (Nintendo DS)
Pokemon Conquest (Nintendo DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews