Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars number 5 - a new breed of war time tales
World War Two has begun and James Herriot who enlisted for the RAF has been called up. Leaving his new wife behind he heads off to London for the initial part of his training which includes lots of marching, running and other activities to make them fit for the forces. The book isn't really about what happens to him while in the forces but we do get snippets of it, mostly...
Published on 9 Sept. 2006 by RD

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book but....
........woeful proof reading! I love James Herriots books - I read all the paperbacks in my teens, so have started to revisit them in my later years 😉. Unfortunately, the spelling mistakes and autocorrects in this version have somewhat deterred from my reading pleasure, hence the 3 stars. I hope amazon will take note and rectify it.
Published 3 months ago by Happy reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars James Herriot book, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was very funny and had me gripped from the first page. I would thoroughly recommend it as a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vets Might Fly, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Kindle Edition)
Another cracker from James Herriot. He manages to swing from a sad story to a happy one with ease and his description of life in the RAF is greeat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful warm stories of the English countryside, as it used to be, you read and get a true sense of the feeling of real hard working country people, and the characters that live there with all their hardship and humour.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Herriot, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Kindle Edition)
This book continues the story of a country vet during the forties. It is interspersed with bits about Mr Herriots experience of the RAF but in a lighthearted way focusing mainly on the countryside and animals which he loved. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vets might fly, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Kindle Edition)
A very good read. Hope the next one is as good , looking forward to it once I started I could not put it down
,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars consistently entertaining, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Audio CD)
Christopher Timothy reads James Herriot`s tales of working as a vet in the Yorkshire Dales. Humorous, with brilliant descriptions and characterization, these stories will make a long afternoon fly by or pass the hours on tedious motorway journeys. Suitable for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great easy read, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyes this trip down memory lane. A humerous and at times a laugh out loud easy read. James Herriot has a keen eye on human and animal life and blends them together and creates a heart warming story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 21 Nov. 2013
By 
Robert of Northallerton (Northallerton, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Audio CD)
A talking book that is read in a manner that is both relaxing and entertaining. If you enjoy James Herriot then there is no reason why you'll not enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Kindle Edition)
Easy reading from the master writer of veterinary stories, brings Yorkshire country life to the fore once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Kindle Edition)
The best James Herriot book. Funny, sad, warm and poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vets Might Fly
Vets Might Fly by James Herriot
£3.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews