Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bright Lively and very Funny book
This book is lively and bright and the author describes the beauty of Yorkshire brillantly as well as inventing wonderfully crafted characters the mixture is splendid. It is a good relaxing read good for some real laughs you can really relate to the characters and James Herriot.
Published on 30 Sep 2000

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Story wonderful, publication by Pan Macmillan is horrific to read.
I love James Herriot and this was a most enjoyable story, which was totally undermined by the fact that it is littered with spelling mistakes, grammatical errors and horrific typo's. This was not made any better by the way the word 'the' is replaced by the German word 'die' in many of the chapters, thus suggesting that this edition was given over to someone for whom...
Published 11 months ago by Lj Wooler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bright Lively and very Funny book, 30 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Vet in Harness (Paperback)
This book is lively and bright and the author describes the beauty of Yorkshire brillantly as well as inventing wonderfully crafted characters the mixture is splendid. It is a good relaxing read good for some real laughs you can really relate to the characters and James Herriot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars number 4, 9 Sep 2006
By 
RD - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Vet in Harness (Paperback)
James Herriot is now married and enjoying the benefits of having someone to cuddle up against after a night call as well as a lot of good food. The 4th book in the series about the life of a country vet it doesn't let up as we are treated to more laughs. James Herriot is a true story telling genius.

Tristan is coming to the end of his veterinary course and is finally getting down to work although this doesn't stop him from indulging in a bit of boozing and a gag or two. Siegfried too supplies his share of laughs but we also get introduced to Granville Bennett who is a character all to himself! A surgeon for small animals by trade he has a nasty habit of getting James blind drunk before taking him home to visit his wife. Unfortunately, drink doesn't seem to do much to the tough surgeon making James seem like a total drunk much to his chagrin.

If you've enjoyed the other books in the series then this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Veterinary genius, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet In Harness (Audio CD)
Another excellent installment form the Herriot. Great storylines, amusing adventures, and accurate (if a little outdated - do not take this as modern Gospel!) veterinary treatments. However, this one focusses more on Herriot's life, and I prefer the nitty-gritty treatment stuff, but it's still a great relaxation tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet in Harness (Kindle Edition)
Love this book and easy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet in Harness (Kindle Edition)
This book gives a wonderful insight into the working life of a rural vet in the 1930's very interesting but the number of errors in the book seriously let it down I was constantly irritated by the typo's it put me off reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Light reading if hou like the country, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet in Harness (Kindle Edition)
Re-read this after many years and stil found it as entertaining. Being a Northern in exile, I thoroughly enjoyed the scenic descriptions which reminded me of earlier years. Even if you don't know the countryside, there is still enough material to keep you involved in the storyline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good entertaining read, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet in Harness (Kindle Edition)
I am Scottish and a lot of my family are from Yorkshire and I read these book when I was younger. It was great to revisit them now. A very entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its like being out with a vet on his rounds, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet in Harness (Kindle Edition)
So good, interesting, very funny, and very well written. Pure magic a very good read if you love animals Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet in Harness (Paperback)
Very good book to read very entertaining, the whole series is great. Books I would read again and again thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vet In Harness, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet in Harness (Kindle Edition)
I Love James Herriot books and this one was no different.- fabulous description and good story telling nothing to beat it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vet in Harness
Vet in Harness by James Herriot
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews