Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A " must read " for anyone interested in our countryside
This book is incredibly simple and powerful.
Michael Morpurgo has managed to distil so much of the pain and anguish that has been inflicted on farming communities throughout the UK by Fooot and Mouth Disease.
Although written through the eyes of a child, for other children, the simplicity and authenticity of the writing is quite breathtaking.
Many...
Published on 25 July 2001

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars so sad :(
i did not like this book because it was too upsetting beacuse i hate reading about animals being killed *star for me sorry :( :( :( :(
Published 23 months ago by Kirsten Duguid


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A " must read " for anyone interested in our countryside, 25 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Out of the Ashes (Paperback)
This book is incredibly simple and powerful.
Michael Morpurgo has managed to distil so much of the pain and anguish that has been inflicted on farming communities throughout the UK by Fooot and Mouth Disease.
Although written through the eyes of a child, for other children, the simplicity and authenticity of the writing is quite breathtaking.
Many journalists and broadcasters have used millions of words and countless images to bring the ravages of FMD to our living rooms, but this work has the power of personal experience, etched on every line - experience that you have to live through in order to communicate in this way.
The reality of farming is here; not some bucolic never, never land, but a real working environment where animals are not pets, but where they are treated with the inate respect that makes the true stockman. Here is the hard work, the generations of effort, the "feel" for the land and the livestock - unsentimental surely, but realistic and caring in our relationships with our natural and living landscape.
Having seen my family live through all the worry, uncertainty and heartache expressed here, I can only commend this book to anyone who wants to understand just a little better why this plague has been, and continues to be such a heartrendingly cruel blow to rural Britain.
Well done Michael Morpurgo for conveying what so many of us have felt over the last months and been so lamentably unable to express to others.
Please read it!
Richard Ovenstone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Topical, touching, terrific., 21 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Out of the Ashes (Paperback)
When Becky has a diary for Christmas she promises to write in it every day. She also promises to get on with her mum. She manages to keep neither promise until the day that foot-and-mouth rears its ugly head. Her father struggles to remain strong and it is up to Becky and her mother to pull together.
For a book to be written in such a short time, and be so topical on its release, is amazing if not unique. As a reader who is not directly involved in the foot-and-mouth crisis I feel that Michael Morpurgo has enabled the reader to empathise with the plight of the farmer in these harrowing and distressing times. Once again, Morpurgo is not afraid to deal with death and other difficult topics in his childrens' books.
Definitely one of his more thought provoking reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book ever written, 26 Feb. 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Out of the Ashes (Paperback)
I take about 3 weeks to read a book but this one took me 3 days!!!
Out of the Ashes is the best book ever written by the best ever author.
Out of the Ashes is very very sad. The book is about a girl called Becky who writs a diary of the tragic time on her fathers farm.
READ THE BOOK to find out what happens next!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very moving and inspirational book., 9 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Out of the Ashes (Paperback)
This book is a very very good read for people affected or unaffected by Foot and Mouth. It helps give an insight from a childs perspective into how foot and mouth affected farmers and their families. It is quite a sad but fulfilling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Michael Morpurgo Book, 15 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Out of the Ashes (Paperback)
This is by far the best Michael Morpurgo book ever. It's incredibly sad in a couple of places, but it has it's happy moments to. It's all written in a diary format by a girl who's father is a farmer during foot and mouth. Enevitably her farm gets it, and this is when it get's really sad.

I read this in one day because it was so good. There are some very sad bits though, so be for warned.

In all a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upsetting but brilliant story, 13 May 2008
This review is from: Out of the Ashes (Paperback)
This book review is about a book called Out of the ashes. It is all true even the drawings except that some of the spellings have been changed, it is also written like a diary. It is about a girl named Becky she lives with both of her parents. It is all set on a farm. Suddenly something terrible happens on their farm. The animals get foot and mouth disease, they have to be slaughtered. I think Becky is a really brave girl because she coped with all of this. Are the family ever going to be able to live knowing the tragedy that has happened? This is a very emotional story (It made me cry) but it has a really good ending. It`s a fantastic story. It took me 2 days to read this book; it was that great I could not put it down. I would recommend the ages of 10 to 13's to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Harsh Reality of Foot and Mouth Disease, 18 Jun. 2009
By 
Bess_Wheat - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Out of the Ashes (Paperback)
This is an incredibly moving book which describes the Foot and Mouth crisis from the point of view of the farmers and their families who lived through it. The events of the crisis are written from the viewpoint of a child who records her family's descent into darkness when the disease is discovered on their farm.

This book drew me in and I read it in one sitting. It explained in detail the knock-on effect this had on the animals, family relationships and the wider community. I would recommend this book to everyone who wants to understand the story from the other side of the news and pictures of burning carcasses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tragic and moving, 1 May 2012
By 
C. Colley (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out of the Ashes (Paperback)
Although I wasn't directly affected by the foot and mouth outbreak back in 2001, I very clearly remember the devastation it caused.
Michael Morpurgo has written a very moving story about a farming family in Devon, and what happened to them when foot & mouth disease reached their farm.
Written in diary form by Becky, the young girl that lives on the farm, Becky records a realistic account of events and keeps a diary over a few months. Little Josh, the lamb, was hand reared and belonged to Becky and her desperation in trying to save him is heart breaking to read.
This short novel really hits home the tragic consequences of foot and mouth and the suffering of many farming families.
Just like many other Michal Morpurgo books, this is a very readable account of a real-life issue and can be enjoyed by young and older readers. The book is beautifully illustrated and the story is woven together by true events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!! <3, 11 April 2015
This review is from: Out of the Ashes (Kindle Edition)
I have read this book about a million times and every time it hits me so hard that foot and mouth is real and is killing animals. And I love this book because Michael Morpurgo has obviously tried to make you feel the sadness from the characters especially Becky and little Josh. I don't want to be a spoiler but when it gets to when Becky gets the 3rd phone call from her mum when she is at her Auntie Liz's house you need to get your tissues ready!!! Because that's when it gets soooooooooooooooo sad :-(

Thank you for reading my review now you need to go and read the book. ;)
Thanks, remember Yolo. So read this book you only live once and that means you only get one life to read this fabulous book. Thanks again xxx by the way this was written by a 11 year old, so don't judge the quality of the writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this is an amazing book that has a twist right at the end., 10 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Out of the Ashes (Kindle Edition)
this book is about a girl on a farm who rides her horse a lot. one day she picked up foot and mouth disease and gave it to all her animals consequently they had to be slaughtered. at the end she receives a lot more animals and she grows a tree out of their ashes when the others are buried.
I would recommend this book ages between 9 and 12.
I like the end where she has all the same animals to replace the others but I dislike the bit where they have the house on fire.
I chose this rating because of the amazing features this book includes like the farm and the diary style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out of the Ashes
Out of the Ashes by Michael Morpurgo
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews