Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 December 2013
To starts with - I love professor A . C. Grayling's essays!!
"Against All Gods" is a superb look at religion in general. It raises questions I never thought of, and I am a long-standing Humanist, although I was brought up an Evangelical Lutheran.
I would, however, suggest that if you happen to be a staunch Catholic, without an 'open mind', don't bother to read it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2007
Grayling in the introduction notes this is a very short book - but notes all the arguments are expanded on in his other books and one Hercules - coming out later this year.

I agree we are witnessing the death throes of religion and yes garden gnome worshippers do have an equal right to a seat in the Lords and to set up faith based schools.

Anything else is returning to the Roman concept of religio and superstitio - just because it is an old mouldy superstition does not mean it is any less mumbo jumbo!

Buy it and enjoy and pass it on to give someone else a chuckle!
0Comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Have read his books before and never been disappointed. I love his logical style and his ability to get straight to the point. Being split into six essays makes the book easy to dip in and out of.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
There is much common sense in this book and it is easy to read. Off course it is written from an atheist perspective , so read it and May up your own mind
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Although lighter in content than I am normally used to with Prof Grayling, it was a great introduction to many valid points about the subject matter. He gave a good account for his opinions and made a clear and concise argument for why atheism is on the rise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
Another useful book in the struggle between reason and superstition; not so sure though about his essay on Kindness and its emphasis on joy (see: Better Never To Have Been Born by David Benatar and Schopenhauer)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2010
This book presents some really useful and easy to understand arguments against religion.It is in a simple style that is easy to read and gets straight to the point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
A few relatively simple essays. This is the kind of book that can get you thinking...and wonderful prose. Not recommended for religiously inclined insomniacs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2007
Nothing too much wrong with the contents as such - it's just that they are sparse in the extreme. A mere 57 pages of text on small pages with a largish print size for £8.99 or even £7.64 just is not good value and hence I give only two stars.
11 comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 August 2011
This is a brief book, organised in short chapters which makes easy reading, at least as far as the reading process itself is concerned. The content is more challenging but well worth the time spent to consider AC Grayling's well-considered, carefully expressed and erudite essays.
Professor Grayling is one of today's leading philosophers who writes on a wide range of subjects and his philosophical training, intelligence and wide-reading allow him to make fine distinctions. His views on religion deserve time and investment such as this little book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)