Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, Sharp, To The Point and Thoroughly Engaging Throughout!
I picked up this book - as I imagine many will - knowing the previous works and essays of Grayling (including his contributions to Prospect magazine). It is certainly a quick read but covers a lot of ground. Even though the price did catch my eye for what is a fairly short book (although it is in hardback which adds a few pennies), I feel such a book - that you are likely...
Published on 17 Mar 2010 by P. Barker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING
Very well written essays. not always easy to read but worth the effort. A subject that can be mentally stimulating
Published 17 months ago by Phyllis Joseph


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long words I don't know, 21 Jan 2013
By 
SAP (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Set Prometheus Free: Essays on Religion, Reason and Humanity (Oberon Masters Series) (Kindle Edition)
But the context is usually enough to know what they mean. Apart from that, and failing to translate French, a cardinal sin, this is an absolute corker. The author hits all ten pins in his demolition of faith and superstition. His victory is so complete that I almost felt sorry for believers. One point I thought was great is that religion in this country, Anglicanism, is only benign and touchy-feely because it is weak. If it were strong, countless international examples and history attests, it would be abusing us and burning atheists at the stake. Theocracies always are tyrannies. Great collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a short and incisive review of the conflict between religion and the rational thinker, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Set Prometheus Free: Essays on Religion, Reason and Humanity (Oberon Masters Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is a masterly summary of the arguments for atheism, focused mainly on the Christian religion, and the problems it finds when up against modern thinking, particularly science. If you are an atheist it's a valuable short course in rationality, if you are religious, you might find it valuable coaching in why your churches are emptier every year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Free Thinking!, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When we're children we play fanciful things - when we're adults we put away myths and legends and deal with the real world.

LeeTaviner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An unbeliever, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Set Prometheus Free: Essays on Religion, Reason and Humanity (Oberon Masters Series) (Kindle Edition)
I needed no convincing and found it a good and lucid read. A bit hard going in one or two places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Which gang is cooler?, 17 Jan 2013
This review is from: To Set Prometheus Free: Essays on Religion, Reason and Humanity (Oberon Masters Series) (Kindle Edition)
I find this subject matter really fascinating, so was hoping for something really solid on the subject. Sadly the book is basically "look at these bad, stupid people who were theists", "look at these good, clever people who are atheists", "you saw those people and what they thought, therefore atheism's right & beneficial, and theism's wrong & harmful".

Bigoted, superficial, and shallow. Read the preview before you buy to see if it's your kind of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A non-intellectual's view, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Set Prometheus Free: Essays on Religion, Reason and Humanity (Oberon Masters Series) (Kindle Edition)
As a Christian with complete faith in existence of God I was never going to like these essays, far less persuaded by Professor Grayling's arguments. Of course there should always be room for argument and many points of view but I think he lets himself down by denigrating us of faith. I am sorry that so many people miss out on the great joy which God brings to the everyday lives of people who put their trust in Him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sweet bejaysus, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Simon Barrett "Il penseroso" (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This sort of book, whose name, alas, is Legion, attemps to take on the religious on their own terms. It is a fool's errand*. Let us imagine that those without faith maintained the existence of a hypothetical substance, imperceptible to the senses - call it Sprod - that prevented any supernatural emanations or visitations ('gods' and the like) from ever having been. Now imagine the committed religious being challenged to *prove* that Sprod is a fabrication, a delusion! Surreal doesn't cover it. So why put ourselves through these hoops? God is a three-letter word (in English, at least; I've long pondered what His Goddiness calls herself) that means whatever you want it to mean. It is a word on the meaning of which no two believers, if pressed, could ever agree, once they diverged from 'the Party line'**, whose meaning is also studiously ambiguous - postmodern, even. God-addiction is like any other. These guys do not want our help. If they need their Sunday fix, what earthly concern is it of ours? Find another corpse, Grayling; this one has been flogged, flayed and gnawn these past five hundred years (or since Spinoza at least) yet *still* stalks the land trailing followers in its wake. It's a ***** miracle!

* Private Eye, 5 April 2013, of Grayling's latest effort: '..so hackneyed and unfruitful a topic as the non-existence of God'

** Folk who said communism resembled religion spoke wiser than they knew. Both were imposed by a handful of zealots. Beware inspiration/the 'spiritual' (spirit: hot air)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews