Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An almost miraculous improvement in this 2004 mastering
This very famous pair of performances of the concerto and Sea Pictures, made in 1965, has long been a point of reference by those interested in the music. It has been in my collection in one form or another since then and has always delivered great musical satisfaction. The recording, however, has been problematical at times as follows: The highest peaks of recorded sound...
Published 22 months ago by I. Giles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg
The Cello Concerto is great but the other stuff is so-so. But I'm not a huge fan of Elgar so his obscure back-catalogue was never going to appeal to me.
Published 2 months ago by J. Griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An almost miraculous improvement in this 2004 mastering, 3 July 2013
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto - Sea Pictures - Overture: 'Cockaigne' (Audio CD)
This very famous pair of performances of the concerto and Sea Pictures, made in 1965, has long been a point of reference by those interested in the music. It has been in my collection in one form or another since then and has always delivered great musical satisfaction. The recording, however, has been problematical at times as follows: The highest peaks of recorded sound were over-modulated on the LP discs and, even with the highest quality Shure cartridges, clean tracking of the most powerful moments of Janet Baker's singing or trumpet climaxes could not be achieved.

The CDs which followed showed improvement in this respect but the same points were clearly uncomfortable in playback even with the best playback machines available at that time. The suspicion grew that the real problem was with the actual recording and not its reproduction. However, I have given it yet one more try and this time the mastering is a triumph. No peak overloading, just, and far greater presence, improved depth of field - in fact an astounding improvement in every respect.

As an extra bonus, the disc even includes an equally improved Cockaigne Overture recorded in 1962 with the Philharmonia and one brimming over with Barbirolli's Londoner enthusiasm - he was always proud to be a Cockney.

The performances of the two main works are so well known and revered as to make further comment by me to be merely superficial. Those who already know these performances will simply want to know if the latest mastering is worth investing in - and it is. Those who don't know the performances should consider rectifying the omission as soon as possible and with this latest remastering.

I would suggest that this is a disc which is an almost obligatory purchase for its many fans and which should be on everyone else's potential purchase list. It fully lives up to its established reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This disc has two great stars performing Elgar, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
Dr. Laurence G. Measey "measeyl" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This disc has two great stars performing Elgar. The haunting and valedictory Cello concerto has perhaps never been bettered in performance by Jacqueline Du Pre she has more passion and nuance than most cellists can encompass. As for Sea Pictures sang by Dame Janet Baker they are superb and will never be bettered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FINE EARLY JANET bAKER, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto - Sea Pictures - Overture: 'Cockaigne' (Audio CD)
Any one buying this remasrered disc will not be dissapointed. Janet Baker is in her prime and the recording quality is very acceptable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Golden oldie, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto - Sea Pictures - Overture: 'Cockaigne' (Audio CD)
Elgar cello concerto with Jacqueline Du Pre? Why go anywhere else? This is Elgar at his finest, especially under Barbirolli's baton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the definitve version of the Elgar concerto for ..., 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto - Sea Pictures - Overture: 'Cockaigne' (Audio CD)
This is the definitve version of the Elgar concerto for me and many others. Bought to replace the old vinyl edition (which I still have, of course) it loses nothing in the 'translation' and sounds as glorious as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sea pictures with Janet Baker is he best recording I have heard, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto - Sea Pictures - Overture: 'Cockaigne' (Audio CD)
Sea pictures with Janet Baker is he best recording I have heard. John Barbirolli and the Halle seem to produce a quality which is not currently being achieved by modern orchestras/recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto - Sea Pictures - Overture: 'Cockaigne' (Audio CD)
The Cello Concerto is great but the other stuff is so-so. But I'm not a huge fan of Elgar so his obscure back-catalogue was never going to appeal to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just great!, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto - Sea Pictures - Overture: 'Cockaigne' (Audio CD)
Just great playing... and also very good remastering! No further comments needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rostropovich master CD, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto - Sea Pictures - Overture: 'Cockaigne' (Audio CD)
Probably the best rendition of this well loved and much performed concerto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto - Sea Pictures - Overture: 'Cockaigne' (Audio CD)
A fantastic CD Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elgar: Cello Concerto - Sea Pictures - Overture: 'Cockaigne'
Elgar: Cello Concerto - Sea Pictures - Overture: 'Cockaigne' by Sir John Barbirolli (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews