Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie
From the start the action flies and what more do you want, It's fast paced twist and turns from the killer with sneaky ways of succeeding his goal of course he does some damage. He's in for the money and doesn't care who gets hurt. Now the goodies are fighting to catch him and finally they do at the end of the show. See now that could be the end of a story but I must add...
Published 13 months ago by Robyn B. Mcgorm

versus
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Total let down
Alex Cross is the name of titular character played by Tyler Perry (Precious) - a hard-hitting psychologist detective. With his partner Tommy Kane (Edward Burns - Man on a Ledge) they are the top detectives in the Detroit Police Department and are put on to the case of a seemingly gang-related multiple homicide. When it becomes clear that they are after a killer with...
Published 19 months ago by J. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alex Cross [DVD] (DVD)
From the start the action flies and what more do you want, It's fast paced twist and turns from the killer with sneaky ways of succeeding his goal of course he does some damage. He's in for the money and doesn't care who gets hurt. Now the goodies are fighting to catch him and finally they do at the end of the show. See now that could be the end of a story but I must add a bit more, The storyline plus the actors do a fantastic job in making this a special movie as being slightly different with top ten entertainment that will have you stuck to the chair from the start to the very end. Now it's a must see and make your own judgment as the full on action, thriller with the suspense is killing as to what the next thing is and will have you hooked. Now it's time for the popcorn select your chair to relax on with feet up. Drool over the antics that we can't do in this movie with envy. I rated this an A grade plus for a fabulous first class show to watch, don't forget to eat the popcorn will you and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Total let down, 14 Dec 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alex Cross [DVD] (DVD)
Alex Cross is the name of titular character played by Tyler Perry (Precious) - a hard-hitting psychologist detective. With his partner Tommy Kane (Edward Burns - Man on a Ledge) they are the top detectives in the Detroit Police Department and are put on to the case of a seemingly gang-related multiple homicide. When it becomes clear that they are after a killer with multiple targets, they assume the killer's ultimate target is corporate bigwig Mercier (Jean Reno - Leon). As the killer works his way closer to Mercier, can Cross stop him? And if so, at what cost to himself?

Well, where to begin? The killer is played by a massively slimmed down Matthew Fox (Jack from Lost) who is in incredible shape and really had to get down to some ridiculously low fat percentage to play this role. He deserves credit for the dedication but is let down by shoddy direction and a flimsy script. Infuriatingly, if you have seen the trailer for Alex Cross, you have seen the best bits of the movie - the main action sequence makes up the majority of the trailer (swimming the water pipe, a bomb, the spread arms with a gun in hand etcetera) Heck, most of that is revealed on the cover of the DVD!!

Whilst Alex Cross sells itself as a thoroughbred action film - what it neglects to mention is that the majority of the 101 minute-duration is spent developing characters such as his partner's love interest, Cross' family life and mundane police-desk scenes - the pacing is awful as we alternate from 100mph action sequences to snails-pace romantic dinner between Cross and his wife. Cross comes out with some truly dogmatic lines of absolute certainty about the killer, statements that are pure conjecture yet form the basis of his investigation. A scene of contrition when he gets something wrong is cringe worthy. The killer's motivations/origin are a complete mystery and his utter vindictiveness is just a stretch too far without any explanation.

Continuity is rubbish; we see Cross tool-up with the standard all black get up complete with the ridiculous numbers of handguns and a sawn-off - his mother begs him not to leave and do something he will regret. The next scene, he is wearing a blue jacket with no guns in sight. The following scene he is back in the all black outfit... We see the killer trouncing some local-UFC-champion with ease in the early scenes yet he loses to a chubby policeman hand-to-hand. There is some sort of time-machine in Cross' office door as everyone is using contemporary computers outside, yet there a 4ft-high 1970s magnetic tape machine inside his office - it's all a bit nonsensical.

In conclusion, claims to be all killer and action but really is a house-cat posing as a predator. Matthew Fox is unsettling in his role as a psychotic killer, but ultimately it's a bit of ridiculous story that isn't all that interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really for fans of the books, 19 May 2013
By 
Mr. K. A. Maltby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alex Cross [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film after being a fan of James Patterson's books for nearly 10 years. I have read all of his novels and his biggest strength always appears to be creating a strong story line and characters that you feel you really want to root for.

The problems with all 3 James Patterson adaptations is that the story line is superb and very cleverly written, throwing in so many red herrings to mislead you throughout the plot. In the films, they don't seem to do this. It is all action based, which isn't what Patterson is all about.

If you are not a fan of the books (and cringing in horror that for some reason that Alex Cross has a white best friend for some reason - why they would get rid of Sampson I cannot fathom), then this is an OK film. It does what it sets out to do. Have a bad guy, attempts to trip up the cops, ultimately, they win.

As a fan of the books, I wasn't as let down as I thought I would be. I thought it would be much worse than what it actually was, especially if you read some reviews out there. It isn't going to be one of those films we all talk about in years to come (unless you are a fan and you moan about how we still haven't had a good adaptation). It is a simple film that works, but not for the Alex Cross lovers and purists out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Cross that readers will expect, 8 Jan 2013
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alex Cross [DVD] (DVD)
My title probably sums up the whole review. If you are a fan of the Alex Cross books then you will be disappointed with this film. The only real connection is the ethnicity of the star and the make up of his family. Its a while since I read a Cross novel but I'm sure his partner was a very big black man not an average sized white guy. Rob Cohen must have seen 'Bad Boys' so he knows a film can be successful with two black leads.
The beginning of the film sets Cross up as a black Sherlock Holmes with excellent deductive skills but it soon degenerates into the standard paint by numbers American action thriller as our heroes run around trying to thwart a psychotic hitman who is out to kill a French tycoon. I guessed the hitman's employer in the first half hour before we'd even met him.
I'm not saying that this isn't an enjoyable film and if you've never read any of the books you will probably not be disappointed but if you're a fan then you might wish to stick to Morgan Freeman's potrayal of your hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dire, 18 May 2013
This review is from: Alex Cross [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this last night and the acting's fine, but the storyline is absolutely woeful. It's amazing that such sub-standard stuff gets big money behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 Jun 2013
This review is from: Alex Cross [DVD] (DVD)
I have all Tyler Perry movies and this one lives up to his reputation and that is great could not wait to get it and glad I did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing., 20 May 2013
This review is from: Alex Cross [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
after watching the trailer i had high hopes for this as it looked like a solid action thriller. but it is bad, the script is clunky in places although the solid acting does elevate it. i was impressed by the performance of Matthew fox who did a great job as the villain. despite a few cool effects the film drags and the third acts fight between matthew fox and tyler perry is hand held so badly you cant see anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Novel Wasted, 12 May 2013
By 
Mitun (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alex Cross [DVD] (DVD)
'Alex Cross' is an crime-action film that released in 2012 and was panned by the critics. The film also deservedly flopped at the box-office. This character Alex Cross is the main protagonist in numerous books authored by James Patterson. This movie is a loose adaptation of the 2006 novel, 'Cross'. Previously Morgan Freeman played Alex Cross in the adaptations, Kiss the Girls (1997) and Along Came a Spider (2001). Unlike the latest installment, both were critical and financial successes and Morgan Freeman was fantastic.

The movie shows how Dr. Alex Cross (Tyler Perry) who is a Psychologist/Police Lieutenant, attempts to hunt down a cold blooded serial killer called Picasso (Matthew Fox).

On first look, the premise was appetizing as I've got a soft spot for crime-action features involving a serial killer. Unfortunately, the film turned out to be a damp squib with a predictable and boring story. Combined with awful performances, an uneven script and so many senseless scenes, the flop status had been cemented

Apologies, forgot to mention a positive aspect, not that it makes a difference, but the production values are up to the mark.

Tyler Perry is a total miscast in the role and in my opinion, his acting was cringe-worthy and really unconvincing. He deserves a Golden Raspberry Award. Matthew Fox looks the part as the villain even though his acting also fails him.

The direction by Rob Cohen is lazy and incoherent, almost like he didn't care when making the movie. A number of scenes are out of place, the pace is erratic and the characters are completely out of sorts.

'Alex Cross' is a clichéd mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alex Cross [DVD] (DVD)
Moderate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alex Cross [DVD] (DVD)
The quality of the DVD is as you would expect but the acting is diabolically bad - so bad it's unbelievable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alex Cross [DVD] [2012] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
3.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews