Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Self-examining country rock, 12 Jun 2003
This review is from: Exit O (Audio CD)
In contrast to its predecessor, the purist "Guitar Town", "Exit 0" is an unmistakable country rock album. Its stand-out tracks (angry young man, San Antonio girl, I ain't ever satisfied) makes it an essential record for Earle fans and country rock enthusiasts alike. As with the best songs on its successor, "Copperhead Road", almost all songs on "Exit 0" survive the inevitable imprints of an eighties production. Musically and lyrically, the album is unitary. With the releases of "Guitar Town" and "Exit 0", it must have seemed as if Earle were on a secure path to fame and fortune. Luckily - for us - the path has been anything but secure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Town Part 2! Brilliant!!!!, 17 May 2009
By 
Michael Nicholl (Derry. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit O (Audio CD)
It is rare for any recording artist to debut with a classic album, but Steve Earle achieved this with Guitar Town, only to follow it up with the equally good EXIT O. This continues where Guitar Town finished off, with more stories of blue coller hardship (The Rain Came Down); escape and dreams of a better life (No 29, I Ain't Ever Satisfied and Angry Young Man) souped up cars and running moonshine (Sweet Little 66) with echos of Springsteen's 'Racing In The Streets'; escape from the hum drum of everyday working (The Week Of Living Dangerously). It is all here. Even if the first nine tracks in this 10 track offering were of a poor standard, the entire album would be worth buying simply for the stunning closing track 'It's All Up To You' which for me is probably his finest ever song, and the list of great Steve Earle songs is long! This is essentially a country rock album, with strong flavours of Springsteen, John Couger Mellencamp and a touch of Buddy Holly hinting at Steve Earle's early rockabilly roots. If you are into Steve Earle but are unfamiliar with his early offerings then this album is essential listening. Buy it. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great start., 3 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit O (Audio CD)
Bought this album on the strength of a taster I had by way of greatest hits package and 'I aint ever sstisfied' which I heard years ago. Each song is a gem from the Dylanesque / Grittier than Springsteen but at the same time individual troubador. As a recent convert to Steve Earle I can highly recommend this albumn to anyone who is curious but has not ventured yet into the Alt Country / country singer songwriter genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is more like it, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Ms. E. J. Baker "Elle" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit O (Audio CD)
I love Steve Earle and this is the Steve Earle thats worth listening to. A good rock/country sound and songs that are memorable. If your new to him this, Copphead Road and Guitar Town are the best by far and the ones I am happy to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit O (Audio CD)
Steve Earle is the man! Probably not as popular as copperhead road or guitar town but still a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid country rock., 11 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Simon Todd "GingerTomMusic" (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit O (Audio CD)
I added this to my collection because I am Steve Earle fan, and because my friend Mike McAdam plays lead on it. Not Earle's greatest collection of songs by any stretch of the imagination, but good enough if you like this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delivery better than expected., 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit O (Audio CD)
A good country sound from a legend and matched by the delivery of original written songs. Still the best to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 10 Aug 2014
By 
Susie Bear (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit O (Audio CD)
Bought for brother, assume good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exit O
Exit O by Steve Earle & The Dukes
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews