Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music from the outer edges of our planet
After reading the very positive reviews and the fact it was recorded at an abandoned Russian mining village near the North Pole, i tried not to get too carried away before my first listen. I didn't need to worry.Q and Mojo mention hints of Talk Talk's Spirit of Eden which i hear, but i also hear The National. More importanly, this album has an identity all of it's own. If...
Published on 26 Sept. 2012 by Mark A. Burt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars nice
Irretraceable in their Danish modern folkloristic experiments, Efterklang can't really compete with the Irrepressibles, but follow their own path....interesting and pure.
Published on 31 Dec. 2012 by braam, ap


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music from the outer edges of our planet, 26 Sept. 2012
By 
Mark A. Burt "mark79724" (Paisley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piramida (Audio CD)
After reading the very positive reviews and the fact it was recorded at an abandoned Russian mining village near the North Pole, i tried not to get too carried away before my first listen. I didn't need to worry.Q and Mojo mention hints of Talk Talk's Spirit of Eden which i hear, but i also hear The National. More importanly, this album has an identity all of it's own. If you want your music to carry you away to somewhere beautiful. Look no further. It's Here. You will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than furniture music, 26 Jan. 2013
By 
Martin Fielding (Findon, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piramida (Audio CD)
The other reviews on here might lead you to suppose that this is more ambient than it actually is - the outstandingly good vocals won't permit you to leave this in the background for too long. As regards the music, I loved the use of brass which echoed David Sylvian's early solo albums and as a whole the album reminded me of Gramophone and Portishead and more recently of Wild Beasts. Take it from me that if you like any of the above you will like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mining The Melancholy, 29 Sept. 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Piramida (Audio CD)
Danish band Efterklang aren't afraid of going to some lonely places.
Their new album 'Piramida' is infused with the kind of melancholy
which could become a bit wearing were it not for the deft management
of their richly varied melodic material. There are far more than
fifty shades of grey here but still the music somehow manages to
sustain our attention and interest. The long winter nights of their
Northern home have served them well. There's not a little magic here.

Singer Casper Clausen has a distinctive and beguiling voice. Moody with
a capital M, it casts a long shadow over all ten of these fine songs.
The abandoned mining town of the project's title has clearly been a
rich source of inspiration for this talented ensemble. The tinkling
keyboards, skittering percussion and shimmering harmonies speak of life
in a cold and inhospitable place; a landscape of ghosts and broken dreams.

Take a song like 'The Living Layer' : moving at a snail's pace we sense the
evocation of vast frozen snowy wastes and an inhospitable and uncertain horizon.
So to with 'Sedna', a strangely affecting composition in which Mr Clausen
sings the faltering melody like a man hanging onto hope by the barest thread.
In contrast 'Dreams Today' has a sparking and enchanting fairy tale presence
which shines out like a beacon in the prevailing gloom. The elves are dancing!
Final track 'Monument' is the stuff of troubled dreams. A truly haunting coda.

Less is certainly more in Efterklang's world. A richly rewarding experience.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, atmospheric, haunting, 12 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piramida (Audio CD)
As a fan of Sigur Ros and the lesser known Jeniferever, Efterklang's latest release is, in my opinion, on a par with anything released by the aformentioned groups. The vocals are haunting, guiding the listener through the frosty landscape sculpted from the understated and magnificently constructed work of this group of talented Scandinavians. It all comes together beautifully to create an experience both chilling and heartwarming at the same time. Well worth taking a punt on if you're not familiar with them, and if you are, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 1 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Piramida (Audio CD)
This album is as interesting as it is beautiful. Can't get enough. I strongly recommend the vinyl edition as there are some stunning photos and artwork in the booklet. It comes with a CD too so you get your money's worth. Good work you lovely boys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a gas, 28 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr P G BUTT (Bradford on Avon, Wiltshire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piramida (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album, full of atmosphere, you get taken on a musical journey from which there is no reason to escape untill the last track has finished. A great find and a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, wonderful music, 16 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Piramida (MP3 Download)
I can't stop listening to this album. Beautifully constructed pop music. If you've heard previous Efterklang albums, this is a bit different, taking a more conventional approach to songwriting. Reminds me of 80s Talk Talk, which is definitely a good thing!

Highlights for me are "Between The Walls" and "Sedna".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not parades under giant trees, 14 Feb. 2013
By 
Richard J. Jardine "rjchardine" (the north) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piramida (MP3 Download)
Not parades under giant trees but still great stuff. i'm reminded of Blue Nile but miss the electronic brass and choral folklore magic of Parades and Tripper, not as original or broad/deep but this pared down warm yet bleak tour de force is to be reckoned with. Accessible Efterklang for beginners with stand out tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nice, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piramida (Audio CD)
Irretraceable in their Danish modern folkloristic experiments, Efterklang can't really compete with the Irrepressibles, but follow their own path....interesting and pure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piramida (Audio CD)
This has been stuck in my CD player for days now - such a sublime CD - fresh, crisp with an original identity. There are hints of Talk Talk as someone else has mentioned, but really this is new and original. As I said, sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Piramida
Piramida by Efterklang (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews