Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little action but still a good read
There is little action in this book, however I still found it enjoyable and moving at times.

This is a series best read in order as it develops from book one. Although the ending of this book
was not a surprise - some not so subtle hints had been dropped in previous books.

I am thoroughly looking forward to the next book in the series;...
Published 20 months ago by John Ringo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liked it but lacked some pace
Furious continues the story and style from the Kris Longknife series. The familiar characters and the political plot builds further but I felt this episode lacked pace compared to someof its precursors.
Published 20 months ago by Peter Francis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little action but still a good read, 5 Jan 2013
There is little action in this book, however I still found it enjoyable and moving at times.

This is a series best read in order as it develops from book one. Although the ending of this book
was not a surprise - some not so subtle hints had been dropped in previous books.

I am thoroughly looking forward to the next book in the series; Defender

Below is a list of books in the series and best read in order;
Mutineer (Kris Longknife Novels)
Deserter (Kris Longknife Novels)
Defiant (Kris Longknife Novels)
Resolute (Kris Longknife Novels)
Audacious (Kris Longknife Novels)
Intrepid (Kris Longknife Novels)
Undaunted (Kris Longknife Novels)
Redoubtable (Kris Longknife Novels)
Daring (Kris Longknife Novels)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kris Longknife Just Keeps on Keeping On!, 4 Nov 2012
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Volume 10 (12 when you add on e-books) of the irrepressible Kris' saga finds her exiled to a backwater system in nominal command of a local patrol flotilla, and to begin with not so irrepressible. She's taken to drink with a smary XO to make sure she stays that way, and of her entourage; there are only surrogate niece Cara, the redoubtable Abby and of course computer Nelly who is by now scarily self-aware and taken AI to a whole new level. Kris is down on her luck, and pinning for Jack.
Up pops Penny the intel officer with news that the more shadowy of her relatives Grandpa Al is up to some sort of commercial skulduggery that does not bode well, also Kris is now wanted on 160, rising to 173 worlds to stand trial as the one person responsible for the loss of the fleet during the encounter with the monstrous and unnamed foes from `Daring'. With some straight talking help, the appearance of Jack and from way-back Col. Hancock Kris is back on her feet, sneaking out of exile, covertly going to home world Wardhaven outrageously over-riding and evading security to try and speak to Al. Then follows a typical Kris ploy, by means of escape from her family and Wardhaven authorities she places herself in the custody of the planet Musashi (populated by Japanese descended settlers) to stand trial for aforementioned crimes; this planet still has a death penalty by the way. Yes for those of us versed in Kris Longknife ways, a typical episode of her life. No more detail in case of major spoilers.
As you will gather, this chapter varies from earlier volumes, Kris and her folks are fugitives and very much reliant on their wits and the good-will of others, she is also quite, quite broke and cannot buy herself out of some scrapes. Romance with Jack is now a feature and yep, in a very discreet way `fulfilled'.
Mike Shepherd keeps the pace, the humour and the serious in good balance, and of course when you least expect it the very dark undertone; a short segment confirms those Peterwalds are not a nice bunch at all. There are some very wry parts such as the pursuit by a very competent and dedicated Wardhaven security team always one step behind Kris and her crew; the use of Kris' arrival by the political rival establishments on Musashi to suit their own ends to name but two. Very funny episodes such as trying to fit six-foot (or two metre) tall Kris into a kimono, comments by the security team after their CSI people confirm what Kris and Jack have been up to. Nelly's replies to any human interruption and Penny's seemingly limitless patience at being hauled through one scrape after another.
The events of the previous novel form the basis for the trial on Musashi, and I have to tip my hat to Mike Shepherd for the way he engages the reader, for there was I getting quite the wrong impression on Kris' judgement at the time, and when I read this volume in the trial setting I realised I had made the same mistake as Kris' fictional detractors! Oh my any book that draws you in to one side or the other has to have very much going for it! And I found myself saying `Sorry Kris I doubted you'- I love it when you become that engaged.
Quite a few surviving characters from earlier works turn up, and you now have the impression that Mike Shepherd is truly comfortable and very familiar with the universe he created, for I have seen no evidence of breaks in continuity.
If you wish to find out how Kris Longknife started you are advised to go to the first book `Mutineer' otherwise you will be lost, if you've not read all the volumes it would be best to have read the previous one `Daring' to get the full impact of this book. If such as me you've been reading them since the onset then you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kris Longknife keeps on being fun, 25 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shepherd, Mike: Kris Longknife - Furious (2012)

Mike Shepherd has really shown his gift for writing this time. Furious is one of those read-through novels that just grips you and does not let you go. The whole Kris Longknife serious is fun to read. It leaves you with a sense of having enjoyed a tale of adventure bringing Kris (the main character) into some incredibly unlikely scenarios. But if you take away all of the science fiction and just focus on the story, it is about the age-old question of peace and war. How do you keep the peace between nations when there are so many conflicting points of view and goals?

Well, history has shown us time and again that we don't. Not unless we find a common enemy, someone we can join together in fighting. So the circle of war and peace becomes a neverending process that gives us a breather every once in a while.

Kris is now being punished the events and her decisions in Daring. I just discovered I haven't written anything about Mike Shepherd yet. I'll just have to remedy that.

Anyways. Kris and her crew have been shipped off to undesireable places in the Union in an attempt to castrate their ability to create trouble. But trouble isn't something that avoids Kris. Rather it tends to send its tentacles off in search of the princess in an attempt to place her in life-threatening situations. There are a couple of those in this novel. Saving her own life and the lives of others seems to be a fate that Kris simply is not able to avoid.

Furious was a fun read. There was tension, humour, romance and a sense of enjoyment from the author's side.

Mike was super-adorable when he wrote about "that" arriving in this novel. The way he avoided the word "period" was sweet. I don't know if that is a US trait, but it is kind of cute when people avoid words dealing with bodily functions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kris Longknife: Furious (Kris Longknife Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great series of books.... nice light read ...fast paced and lots of twists and turns ...great holiday read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting progression of story and character life, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kris Longknife: Furious (Kris Longknife Series) (Kindle Edition)
I thought it was interesting the ways that things are getting more complicated for Kris Longknife as she grows older and more experienced plus it was good to see development in her own life. The ending of the book was a surprise, and does make me look forward to the next book in the series. More complications! Recommended to Kris Longknife fans and Science Fiction readers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally gets her 'Day in Court", 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kris Longknife: Furious (Kris Longknife Series) (Kindle Edition)
Great change in pace.

Interesting change in direction, compared to her previous adventures, as Kris finds out she that she isn't some "Damn Longknife", but rather she has gathered alot of friends along the way.
Also she finally gets her 'Day in Court', where she can explain her actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liked it but lacked some pace, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Furious continues the story and style from the Kris Longknife series. The familiar characters and the political plot builds further but I felt this episode lacked pace compared to someof its precursors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not sterted, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have not started to read this book yet as i am waiting to get the whole set of books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kris Longknife: Furious (Kris Longknife Series) (Kindle Edition)
I've enjoyed this series so far, but this is weakest of the bunch. The protagonist now never faces with significant adversity, plus everyone who meets her automatically thinks she is the most wonderful person and gives her what she wants. By the end, without effort, she has exactly what she needs for the next book and everything is wonderful.

This felt like a shorter book than previous ones and a filler. I suspect the author has lost any fire for his creation and should maybe move on to something completely fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Hunter Schmertzing (Santurce, San Juan Puerto Rico) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed the preceding books and was disappointed with this one.
The opening third of the book was confusing even though I knew the background.
It felt like it had been thrown together to meed a deadline rather than crafted. Lets hope
the next one is better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews