Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and Evocative
The timing and setting of `Highland Surrender' is mid 16th century with James V on the throne in a turbulent Scotland, and it largely involves 2 feuding clans. The story begins with an arranged marriage between Myles Campbell and Fiona Sinclair to hopefully seal a truce, with the Campbells supporting the King and the Sinclairs seeking his downfall. Not unsurprisingly...
Published on 21 Mar. 2013 by D. Elliott

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A highland romance
Highland Surrender is a romance set in the time of James V of Scotland. It has as its background the intrigues among the warring scottish clans which leads a little depth to the story. It started well and finished pleasantly but in the middle I lost interest. The characters are the usual feisty heroine and the brooding handsome hero. There are lots of other characters...
Published on 23 Nov. 2012 by Mrs. A. Wright


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A highland romance, 23 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Highland Surrender (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Highland Surrender is a romance set in the time of James V of Scotland. It has as its background the intrigues among the warring scottish clans which leads a little depth to the story. It started well and finished pleasantly but in the middle I lost interest. The characters are the usual feisty heroine and the brooding handsome hero. There are lots of other characters some of which are real and others fictional. There is some description of life in castles at that time which is quite enlightening. It is not a bad book and quite readable but somehow I failed to engage with any of the characters. Although I enjoy historical fiction this is not one of my favourite novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and Evocative, 21 Mar. 2013
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Highland Surrender (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The timing and setting of `Highland Surrender' is mid 16th century with James V on the throne in a turbulent Scotland, and it largely involves 2 feuding clans. The story begins with an arranged marriage between Myles Campbell and Fiona Sinclair to hopefully seal a truce, with the Campbells supporting the King and the Sinclairs seeking his downfall. Not unsurprisingly for a `romantic novel' the newlyweds are a handsome hulk and a feisty female, and initially with the wedding night coming early in the narrative as one of the most `steamy' sections it appears `Highland Surrender' may be just another `chic lit'. However author Tracy Brogan skilfully ensures these 2 main protagonists are credible and their emotional relationship is one of substance.

With less emphasis on Myles' and Fiona's physical skirmishing and lovemaking `Highland Surrender' could have been described as a good `historical' novel with evocative descriptions of Scottish culture and lifestyles at the time, and with insights to issues such as love and hate, cruelty and tenderness, loyalty and treason, trust and deception, honour and disgrace, power and subservience, etc. Nevertheless it would have been a magnificent `historical' novel if it could have embraced the period leading up to events described, and perhaps also a glimpse into the future discord and hostility over Scottish and English thrones. `Highland Surrender' is a good story that is well written with some humorous dialogue, and as it stands it makes for an entertaining read - but a minor criticism - supposedly to reflect the period is the author's irritatingly usage of "'Twas" and "'Tis".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the romance?, 19 Oct. 2013
By 
Stella (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Highland Surrender (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This has such a lovely cover and I was hoping that the story inside would be equally appealing. Turned out that it didn't really do a lot for me though, unfortunately. Overall I'm left with a feeling of frustration.

Historical Romance, set in Scotland in the reign of King James. First problem: considering it's a period piece there doesn't seem to be a lot of actual History here. If the romance had been stronger I might have overlooked this but at least give me one or the other, if not both Biggest problem however, was that I didn't actually like the leading lady, Fiona. She and Miles (from an opposing clan) are forced into marriage by Royal decree and it's hate on first sight (from her point of view) even though there's nothing actually wrong with Miles (or his family). He bends over backwards to try and make the marriage bearable for Fiona but she seems bratty for the sake of being bratty to him. Her family hated his family so by proxy she's going to make his life miserable, just because she can, not because he gives her any reason to. This goes on until well past the half way point by which time I was thoroughly sick and tired of Fiona and her constant negativity. Almost two thirds of the book before I got any romance, which incidentally was so sudden a change in attitude from Fiona that I almost got whiplash...

Instead of of hoping they'd sort out their differences and get it together I actually hoped Fiona would make a run for it or that Miles would ditch her. I don't think that's the desired reaction for a reader of romance. The story got a bit more interesting from that point on but by then it was too little, too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable story, 17 Dec. 2012
By 
Sarah Lambert "Book addict" (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highland Surrender (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enjoyed this story of Fiona Sinclair and Myles Campbell. They are from enemy clans and their families force them to marry to seal a truce. Reared to hate the Campbells, Fiona is determined to fight her husband but as she begins to get to know Myles and his family questions are raised about some of the stories she has been told since childhood. Can she find out the truth about the death of her mother? Can she and her new husband overcome their differences and find happiness? This is a good read with two very likeable main characters and an interesting historical setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Highland Fling, 8 Jun. 2013
By 
Mrs. D. J. Smith "eowyngreenleaf" (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highland Surrender (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In the reign on James V (son of Margaret Tudor, the sister of Henry VIII, and father of Mary Queen of Scots) Fiona and Myles, representatives of two feuding clans, are told by the King that they must marry and form an alliance.....

Sadly, Fiona, the heroine, appears as a right Little Madam for most of the first part of the book. Even after feeling betrayed by her brothers, she is unable to reasonably question anything beyond the clan indoctrination and acts simply like a spoilt child. It's quite hard to see why Myles falls for her at all.

That said, overall this isn't a bad book. I think a bit more on the history side would have made this a more solid and exciting novel, as the ending was really rather good, but it seemed that it couldn't decide if it wanted to be an historical novel, with a romance element (think Elizabeth Chadwick) or something more akin to a bodice ripper (and nothing wrong with that!). You started off feeling there was a bigger plot at play, but this seemed to get a bit lost in the middle, before a quite exciting ending after all.

Not sure it's worth a second read, but I'd consider this author again in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clan life in C16th Scotland, 6 Dec. 2012
By 
Val Birbeck (Sunderland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Highland Surrender (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Set in the time of James V of Scotland (Mary Queen of Scots' father), it's the story of a girl married to the son of the Chieftain of an enemy Clan which has been exiled to the Highlands for treason. She's been living in poverty and goes to a wealthy clan where she's welcomed and her husband wishes to make the marriage work.
A good read, with an insight into clan/Scottish life at the time. Like the epilogue which finished the sotry nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enough accurate history, added to a decent hero and heroine, 24 May 2013
By 
Joanne K. Pilsworth (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highland Surrender (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The romance between the reluctant bride and the equally reluctant groom is a standard romance. What lifts this story out of the 'same-old' bracket that the author has done her research, and set the book at a period not often used, that of King James at the time he marries Marie de Guise of France.

The Bride of the story is faced with the prospect of marrying into a rival clan, such that she would end up with the man she believes to be her mother's murderer as her father-in-law. It is either marry, or see her younger sister married in her place. Not knowing anything of her groom or his family, she agrees. At the time, what she doesn't realise, or is not told, is that the two families go back more than just having been on opposite sides of trying to secure the person of the young King for their own gain.

The Groom had been thinking that he would marry a sweet young thing from the French court, and instead finds himself marrying a woman who quite clearly hates him from a clan he believes to be grubby Highlanders.

As a fan of historical accuracy, I liked in particular that the author had described the difference between a Highland landowner's living standard, and that of a family 'in' with the Royal family. I also liked the twist that made King James so unusual in his knowledge of his people. That the author pulled history with an excellent story makes this one of those books that you can't quite put down for any length of time.

This is one of those books that I would have on my 'read again' list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Stirring MacRomance, 5 May 2013
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Highland Surrender (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It is said that all stories are permutations of about half a dozen underlying themes (Christopher Booker, for example, argues seven http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Seven-Basic-Plots-Stories/dp/0826480373). As a result, one could say that all of Shakespeare is clichéd.
Cheese and tomato omelettes, Gilbert & Sullivan, Gin & Tonic - it isn't so much the ingredients but what you do with them.

Forced into marriage is a well trodden story line handled effectively by Tracy Brogan. However, it is her first historical romance and she will hopefully learn that 'twas, 'tis, my Lord, and Aye are unnecessary props. I get that it is Scotland and five centuries ago and if I didn't I am not sure that such syntax (which can get in the way of imagination) would convince me.

That aside, the plot, pace, characters and backdrop combine to develop the theme into a romp that is enjoyable to read and does not tax. Tracy won an award for her first (non historical) novel from the Romance Writers of America Trade Association and was also a finalist with this book. The novel has a breezy tone and with enough pulses, strained bodices and flushed cheeks to keep the reader riveted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highland surrender, 24 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Highland Surrender (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this tale of love and lust set in the highlands if u enjoy reading the likes of Philippa Gregory then this book will appeal to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Angela" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Highland Surrender (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For the genre this book is, it delivers. If you dream of gruff but sexy Highlanders with a good heart then you will like this book. I had read reviews on other sites about the sexual content being over the top. Sorry, but this is a bodice ripper genre and it comes with the territory and it was pretty tame and tastefully written. I have read much steamier than this (Try Amanda Quick & Lisa Kleypas for comparison)

The heroine perhaps does come across to some as a bit spoiled, but she is only 17 years old. Fiona Sinclair is given in marriage to a family she has been raised to hate. She is to marry Myles Campbell, they had been promised in marriage since her birth. Fiona had been told that Myles' father was responsible for the violent death of her mother. She goes into the marriage, fighting and ready to resist her husband on everything. However, certain facts come to light and she has a change of heart.

Treason, plotting, adventure, in Scotland. A quick and entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Highland Surrender
Highland Surrender by Tracy Brogan
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews