Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for imitative fly fishers!
Matching the Hatch, in Pat O'Reilly's own words should be called Matching the Munch. As someone who is just starting along the road of imitative fly fishing and tying I have found this book an invaluable addition to my library. I is a superb guide to what trout may be feeding on throughout the year and most importantly it is written for the UK.
It is not what I...
Published on 21 Jun. 2002 by M R Livingstone

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
i am relatively new to the wonderful world of fly fishing and any information i can gather is appreciated. i bought this book judged on the reviews i read, however i wish i hadnt bothered! it's not a bad book good text and wonderful photos but the the book is very biased towards the river angler and not the stillwater fisherman. perhaps i am being a little harsh but my...
Published on 18 July 2009 by Peter Williamson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for imitative fly fishers!, 21 Jun. 2002
Matching the Hatch, in Pat O'Reilly's own words should be called Matching the Munch. As someone who is just starting along the road of imitative fly fishing and tying I have found this book an invaluable addition to my library. I is a superb guide to what trout may be feeding on throughout the year and most importantly it is written for the UK.
It is not what I originally expected in that it is not a fly-tying book. It is, however, superb! The book is made clear and is divided into the different seasons so you know what to look out for at different times of the year. For the fly-tiers among us, brief descriptions and photos are included of flies to use to imitate each beastie.
My own project over the next few weeks is to tie the Magnificent Seven and the Deadly Dozen from this book. Buy it, read it, and most importantly enjoy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Light of your Fly box, 26 Jan. 2009
By 
R. Hart "X1X Fly Fishing" (UK and CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I always smile when I see the name O'Reilly my mind goes back to Fawlty Towers, but that is where the smile ends, Pat O'Reilly's book Matching the Hatch dispels even more myths about fly fishing. Pat's magic twelve in four sizes of each pattern plus four other patterns in two sizes each pattern, should and will cover most fly fishing situations. Fiftysix flies in total, they will not make the medium size box look overfull.

Pat makes Entomology a pleasent experience, Chris Ogborne does the same, Oliver Edwards is the Doyen of Entomology they all make entomology an enjoyable experience and a well worth part of Fly Fishing, it ain't difficult and it does make for a much better fishing day.

Thanks Pat.

R.Hart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catch more trout, 24 Dec. 2008
This superb book should help you catch more trout. It lists the 7 best flies and then adds a few more to make 12 to aid you at the river side. It helps you tie them if you wish, or directs you in what to buy and in what sizes to cover most of the hatch. Helps you identify the bugs being eaten and match them from your fly box. With good information and great pictures. Read this book carefully as a beginner and you will catch more fish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gobble this one up!, 8 Nov. 2009
By 
J. Burridge "John Burridge" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a newcomer to fly fishing, this has been a great buy. It's relevant to the UK fly fisher, concisely written, very informative, well illustrated and lists a bit of extra reading if you want it. It's a great book to help you start a sensibly-sized collection of flies too and if I sold flies, I'd capitalise and sell a pre-assembled set of the author's Magnificant Seven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Matching the Hatch, 30 May 2010
By 
John Gibbs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are at least two respects in which I regard this book as excellent: it is well-written, and it addresses the subject of the behaviour of nymphs. I mention the former because I have done a lot of editing and notice immediately when a writer makes a grammar or syntax error; I can also see whether he has thought about his sentences. The writer scores highly on both of these counts and adds an occasional touch of humour. Well-written books are becoming a rarity nowadays, though fly-fishing books seem better than most.
But enough of this - the main reason for recommending this book is the information on nymph behaviour. Most fly-fishing books give little or no space to this and yet it is one of the most important things that a fly fisherman learns. A trout feeds mainly below the surface and is often put off by a nymph behaving oddly. Thus it is vital that a fisherman knows whether his nymph is a darter, a crawler, or a burrower - and how it makes its way to the surface.
There is, of course, much more information than this. If I have a third reason for recommending this book it is that it is available for a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable reference guide, 19 Jun. 2010
By 
D. H. Oliver "DHO" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the perfect book for those fly fisherman (like me) who just want an overview of the trout's diet and equivalent flies, without going into too much detail. Clear, well set out, and eminently readable. Just the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still young enough to learn., 2 Jan. 2011
I'm a retired Engineer of 71 years, and Having taken lessons in fly casting and learning to tie flies,this book was just what I was looking for. informative from the trouts view point,with good explanations of under water life cycles,clear pictures of both live and tied flies and small fish. I recommend this book to any one starting out fly fishing and also to those already hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great help, 9 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I having recently taken up fly fishing,I have had difficulty understanding which fly to use and identify. this book has certainly clarified it for me. Well writte easily understood along with plenty of illustrations and photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 19 April 2011
Just the book I was looking for. Easy to follow with loads of pictures. Ive made a collection of flys from this book and now need to try them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 18 July 2009
By 
Peter Williamson "pete1w" (south yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i am relatively new to the wonderful world of fly fishing and any information i can gather is appreciated. i bought this book judged on the reviews i read, however i wish i hadnt bothered! it's not a bad book good text and wonderful photos but the the book is very biased towards the river angler and not the stillwater fisherman. perhaps i am being a little harsh but my advice would be not to be too hasty in buying this book the advice of local fishermen and tackle dealers may be the best way of getting to know where and when the trout are feeding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews