Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kings of the Kingdom
This is a superb film, from before the days of our pathetically PC, materialist, sneering society. It tells of a Roman Catholic priest from a very poor scottish community who goes to China sincerely to do good. No modern cynicism here - and all the better for it. Well acted, well made. I must strongly disagree with the above reviewer who gave this just one star - it...
Published on 9 Jun 2010 by D. M. Evans

versus
8 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Differences in dvd's
The product arrived on time properly packed and in good condition however,it was for Region1 which is different to our Region(Region 2 inthe UK)So it was impossible to play.Moviemars USA would not change it as region faults was not a defect.So BEWARE check the region before ordering dvd's from abroad.There are 8 different regions in the world (A fact I was not aware of)I...
Published on 15 Jun 2009 by G. Taylor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kings of the Kingdom, 9 Jun 2010
By 
D. M. Evans (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superb film, from before the days of our pathetically PC, materialist, sneering society. It tells of a Roman Catholic priest from a very poor scottish community who goes to China sincerely to do good. No modern cynicism here - and all the better for it. Well acted, well made. I must strongly disagree with the above reviewer who gave this just one star - it deserves five. The fact that its a Region 1 recording is clearly indicated - not noticing this and then finding you can't play the DVD is no excuse for awarding a low score to the film. Watch it and be uplifted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont miss it, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A young gregory peck gives a great performance in a very heartwarming film.Follows the book which was a best seller .Gives a good insight to old china and its civil war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An old fashioned story, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keys of the Kingdom [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
Despite being nearly 70-years old, the film tells a story that is easy to follow but a series of disturbing occurrences show just how bad situations can become, mostly when in a country whose internal affairs are hidden to most of the world. Gregory Peck plays the missionary who seems to be able to keep calm in the face of untold horrors affecting the communities to which he has embedded himself with his work. Maybe his mental strength comes from his upbringing: he had suffered much in his childhood not least his parents. Unlike some films which leave you wondering what may have happened here there is a fast-forward of many years to show what occurred to him in later life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JUST SHORT OF 5 STARS, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keys of the Kingdom [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
JUST A FEW HISTORICAL INACCURACIES,AGAIN WELL MADE & SUPERBLY ACTED THEY DONT SEEM TO BE ABLE
T O MAKE FILMS LIKE THIS THESE DAYS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keys of the Kingdom dvd, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keys of the Kingdom [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
This was a Christmas present for someone who had seen this in the cinema many years ago. The dvd arrived promptly after ordering it & she was delighted to see the film again. Sadly no subtitles though which would have Bernard preferred as she is rather hard of hearing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT fILM, 18 Nov 2013
By 
C. McLoughlin (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Gregory Peck and he is excellent in this role in which he plays a humble priest in this dramatisation of the A J Cronin novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great film with a great actor and cast, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keys of the Kingdom [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
The story of the man of God who had struggles and went to China was really gripping all the way through to the end - I would recommend it, as I have done on facebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Keys of the Kingdom is a great movie, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keys of the Kingdom [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
I read the book many years ago and I've always wanted to see the film as well. But it was long time only available on dvd region 1. I'm really happy I could see it. Even if I have some "but" concerning the adaptation (script), the movie is just great; it is very strong (and the story is even somehow stronger because you realize it was turned during the WW2) and I love Gregory Peck in this role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COMPLEMENT INFORMATION DVD KEYS OF THE KINGDOM, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Rene Paquet (FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
COMPLEMENT D'INFORMATION DVD ZONE 1 LES CLES DU ROYAUME
AUDIO: ANGLAIS ESPAGNOL FRANÇAIS
SOUS-TITRES: ANGLAIS ESPAGNOL

TRES BONNE ADAPTATION POUR LA A.J. ROMAN CRONIN
Après avoir perdu ses parents et c'est l'enfance SWEETHEART à la tragédie, FRANCIS CHISHILM (Gregory Peck) REJOINT LE SACERDOCE et se consacre à une vie de service et de compassion ....... EN CHINE.
Gregory Peck EST DESIGNE MEILLEUR ACTEUR (ACADEMY AWARDS).
LES CLÉS DU ROYAUME DANS UN FILM Towering "bâclé avec la grandeur" (The Independent).
TRES BON FILM A VOIR ABSOLUMENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Differences in dvd's, 15 Jun 2009
By 
G. Taylor "Old Surfer" (Nottingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The product arrived on time properly packed and in good condition however,it was for Region1 which is different to our Region(Region 2 inthe UK)So it was impossible to play.Moviemars USA would not change it as region faults was not a defect.So BEWARE check the region before ordering dvd's from abroad.There are 8 different regions in the world (A fact I was not aware of)I have personally found a way around the problem after much searching on the internet,so I am quite happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac33b7ec)

This product

The Keys of the Kingdom [1944] [DVD]
The Keys of the Kingdom [1944] [DVD] by John M Stahl (DVD - 2013)
£9.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews