Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2010
This is a superb film, from before the days of our pathetically PC, materialist, sneering society. It tells of a Roman Catholic priest from a very poor scottish community who goes to China sincerely to do good. No modern cynicism here - and all the better for it. Well acted, well made. I must strongly disagree with the above reviewer who gave this just one star - it deserves five. The fact that its a Region 1 recording is clearly indicated - not noticing this and then finding you can't play the DVD is no excuse for awarding a low score to the film. Watch it and be uplifted.
33 comments|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
Despite being nearly 70-years old, the film tells a story that is easy to follow but a series of disturbing occurrences show just how bad situations can become, mostly when in a country whose internal affairs are hidden to most of the world. Gregory Peck plays the missionary who seems to be able to keep calm in the face of untold horrors affecting the communities to which he has embedded himself with his work. Maybe his mental strength comes from his upbringing: he had suffered much in his childhood not least his parents. Unlike some films which leave you wondering what may have happened here there is a fast-forward of many years to show what occurred to him in later life.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
A young gregory peck gives a great performance in a very heartwarming film.Follows the book which was a best seller .Gives a good insight to old china and its civil war
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
JUST A FEW HISTORICAL INACCURACIES,AGAIN WELL MADE & SUPERBLY ACTED THEY DONT SEEM TO BE ABLE
T O MAKE FILMS LIKE THIS THESE DAYS
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
Wow!
Seriously inspiring! Not so much a weepy as a box of Man size job!!. Don t watch in company as (if you re anything like me ) uncontrolled sobbing is not sexy. Written by A. J. Cronin, a man clearly inspired, by which I mean he knew/ knows that God exists, ( for Christians don't die - don' t you know!)
It is one of the best films ever made as far as I' m concerned. Inspired casting - Gregory Peck! What an effortless and truly convincing priest! Don t miss this film! It will always stay in your head in the best sense.
A real Christmas Day film.
One to buy and keep and re watch regularly!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
This was a Christmas present for someone who had seen this in the cinema many years ago. The dvd arrived promptly after ordering it & she was delighted to see the film again. Sadly no subtitles though which would have Bernard preferred as she is rather hard of hearing!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
This is a wonderful film for people who remember the good old Sunday afternoon movies ,a real tear jerker ,About a Catholic priest who is sent to China to open a mission , It starts when a priest finds his diary and tells the story of his life ,there is some wonderful moments and great acting from a good cast ,the nun sene is very moving ,and also the cardinal sene ,This is a must for those who want a great story and good acting at its best ,A young Gregory peck is at his best and it launched his career ,not to be missed ,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
Lovely old movie with Gregory peck One of his early ones but if you like religious based films is Worth seeing
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
I read the book many years ago and I've always wanted to see the film as well. But it was long time only available on dvd region 1. I'm really happy I could see it. Even if I have some "but" concerning the adaptation (script), the movie is just great; it is very strong (and the story is even somehow stronger because you realize it was turned during the WW2) and I love Gregory Peck in this role.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
Cleverly devised Film format with beginning and Film ending linked in beautiful amazement. I was humbled, reinvigorated and moved by Spiritual honesty and directness we never hear or see in 2015. Please see for yourself traditional values as valid today as 100 years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)