Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange and fascinating first novel
This is yet another coming-of-age novel, but don't let that put you off- the treatment is never less than original. A structural twist is added by the fact that the novel begins and ends with the heroine spending Christmas at the house of the same family- four years of the first world war have intervened, changing her radically. The themes of the novel include love,...
Published on 10 Nov. 2001 by hannah.cole@merton.ox.ac.uk

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brimming with typos
My enjoyment of this novel was marred, on Kindle edition, by the scores of typos, in some cases several on one page. I don't know how this happens, whether it is poor proofreading or a technical problem. For example the word 'the' was frequently replaced by 'die' and there are many other oddities; sometimes I had to guess what the word was meant to be. So it is difficult...
Published 15 months ago by Suzerne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange and fascinating first novel, 10 Nov. 2001
This review is from: The Beautiful Visit (Paperback)
This is yet another coming-of-age novel, but don't let that put you off- the treatment is never less than original. A structural twist is added by the fact that the novel begins and ends with the heroine spending Christmas at the house of the same family- four years of the first world war have intervened, changing her radically. The themes of the novel include love, marriage, madness, war, boredom, female emancipation, families and class. Elizabeth Jane Howard blends loving physical detail with an atmosphere which is at times compellingly sinister and at others weirdly beautiful or cosily reassuring. It's fascinating to read this if you've read EJH's later novels- the complete ease and relaxed wittiness aren't quite there (although the novel is often very funny) but the talent is palpable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite author's first book!, 7 Feb. 2013
By 
Barbara Bergmann (Claremont, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Visit (Paperback)
Elizabeth Jane Howard, one of 20th-century England's most gifted writers, creates characters that stay with us forever.The Beautiful Visit is her first novel, written when she was in her mid-twenties. The poignant story of a lonely young girl, it carries the reader along with a heroine who reminds us of ourselves when we were young, vulnerable, and confused. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brimming with typos, 29 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Visit (Kindle Edition)
My enjoyment of this novel was marred, on Kindle edition, by the scores of typos, in some cases several on one page. I don't know how this happens, whether it is poor proofreading or a technical problem. For example the word 'the' was frequently replaced by 'die' and there are many other oddities; sometimes I had to guess what the word was meant to be. So it is difficult to rate this book. There must be about a hundred mistakes in the Kindle version of this book, and although so many books these days have mistakes in them, this I think would be pulped if it were a paper version. Hasn't anyone else had this experience?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Beautiful Visit, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Visit (Kindle Edition)
A beautifully written novel with the characters well drawn and believeable. Elizabeth Jane Howard's prose is seemingly effortless and she furnished our imagination with her wonderful descriptions of places and people.

I really enjoy evrything I have read of hers so far; I shall be hunting down more! I can't understand why she is not 'current' and more widely enjoyed. Her own life is well woth reading and I recommend her autobiography, 'Slipstream' highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Beautiful Visit, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Visit (Kindle Edition)
Disappointing, mainly because of the typographical errors. The worst book I have yet had from Kindle in this respect. Some of the story is well written and quite moving, but at other times it seems disjointed and some chapters don't seem relevant to the overall story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely agree with Suzerne, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Visit (Kindle Edition)
I should enjoy this novel a great deal more if the publishers had not made such a complete hash of digitalising it. I can't stand the way publishers whinge and whine about e.books but are happy to profit from selling them when they have taken no trouble at all to produce a decent product. They have not done Elizabeth Jane Howard or their readers any favours with the production of this kindle edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely first section, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Visit (Kindle Edition)
The beginning was a journey to childhood idyllic experience,
Second half a bit drawn out, worth reading for the early chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Visit (Paperback)
Enjoyable and beautifully written. Dated and younger reader might not appreciate the way life was then and how books were written then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 24 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Visit (Kindle Edition)
A very well written book but not quite as gripping as some of her other novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Visit (Paperback)
didn't enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beautiful Visit
The Beautiful Visit by Elizabeth Jane Howard
£3.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews