Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure popcorn, in a good way.
I was lucky enough to see Die Walkure when I stayed in New York in April this year and I loved it in the theatre. I bought the blu ray set as a memento of the production but have some mixed feelings about the cycle over all.

Despite the visual impact of the Stage Machine, this is a very traditional production of the Ring, with very little in the way of depth or...
Published on 18 Nov. 2012 by david may

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The singing of Kaufman and Terfel is wonderful. Voight is a let-down
The production is at times very exciting (Siegfried's ascent to Brunnhilde, Entry of the Gods) but can be clunky at others (descent to N'Heim, Prelude Act 3 Siegfried). The singing of Kaufman and Terfel is wonderful. Voight is a let-down. Would never be a first choice (think the earlier Met, Bayreuth 1980, Copenhagen), but this production never intrudes on you; it is not...
Published 7 months ago by MR LINKS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much to admire, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner: Der Ring des Nibelungen [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
A rather controversial Ring i'm sure the others who have seen it will accept. There is much to admire.

The staging i thought was pretty incredible. Yes, there are times where it all looks a little boring and you'd think, surely they can do more than just that. But those moments are few and outdone by other times when the visual spectacle is pretty incredible. I would hi-light the end of Rhinegold, Walkure and the beginning of Act III Siegfried.

In general the singing is pretty good. Terfel makes a formidable Wotan, entirely watchable and plausible. The drama is very much there in his voice, which is other Wotan's (Theo Adam) is completely lacking. Not everything sounds like floating clouds, but his voice is still incredibly velvety and encapsulating. I would single out Hans-Peter Konig and Eric Owens, they were both incredible. Again, drama is not sacrificed for making everything sound like floating clouds.
But, the greatest disappointments were (unfortunately) Voigt and Morris in the leading roles of Brunnhilde and Siegfried. They weren't disastrous, far from it. But the mark of a great opera singer (and indeed singer in general) is trying to make whatever your singing, look effortless. Neither Voigt or Morris does it which makes listening and watching them slightly painful. It goes without saying they aren't singing easy roles, but sounding strained and having the glass ceiling effect is not very good. Both of then can see where they want their voice to reach, but the sound is not full or fulfilling meaning those key thrilling moments Wagner scatters around his sixteen hour epic, are lost. It's a shame really.

And now for the orchestration. Maestro James Levine conducts the score with a wealth of experience and the resulting effect is pretty thrilling. There are times where i think perhaps he could've gotten a more bombastic and 'Wagnerian' sound out of the orchestra without making it sound shouty or vulgar. Maestro Luisi conducts with understanding of the drama, more so i think than Maestro Levine. Therefore the more violent and dramatic moments are made more violent and dramatic, contrasted with the lyrical smoothness of more pastoral sections, of which there are plenty in Siegfried. I thought perhaps Gotterdammerung couldv'e been made to sound more haunting and dangerous. But in general, bravo!

To conclude, the staging; singing and music all have their moments where it's a little bit crap. But in general, it's all very marvelous. But tragically, the biggest let down is Voigt and Morris who in relative terms are not brilliant. They're pretty good, and that's about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ring Cycle That I Have Heard and Seen, 31 July 2013
By 
I. Zaneres (west midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some complement from me, The Ring is high on my list of favourites, I currently have 5 versions, having despatched two others to a charity shop.
I will not go into too much detail as I have individually reviewed each episode.
Firstly this cycle hangs together near to perfection. It actually seems an entity, this has a lot to do with the imaginative sets of Lepage.
I will concede that in other versions some characters are better presented, I can think of two better Loges, Westbroek as Sieglinde is supreme, Kaufmann is only equalled once, and there are more menacing Hundings. Zednig is further into the character of Mime. Tervel is equal to other Wotans, a role that always seems to be well done. Hunter Morris is even better than Jerusalem, he acts the part with more feeling as well as singing to near perfection. Voight is now my favourite Brunhilde, replacing Gwyneth Jones, particularly on the acting front. The lovers of Brunhilde and Siegfried do seem to have a raport above any other pairings.
To sum up although other versions have moments, or odd characters which are outstanding, the overall presentation of this cycle puts it ahead as an integral production.
I rest my case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to Ring Cycle, 31 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner: Der Ring des Nibelungen [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
Other reviews have criticised Deborah Voight as Brunhilde. Her voice is not powerful and forceful but she seems as good as most of the others I previewed on Youtube. I like that this is a traditional ring. I think its best to see a traditional one first. I really like the sets, the performers look okay for their parts and the voices are good (though I am not an opera expert). I have really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 3 Nov. 2012
By 
bookworm (Voorburg, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this DVD. A must for fans of the Ringcycle!Kaufmann and Westbroek are very good in their role as Siegmund und Sieglinde.
And a great Siegfried as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect balance between tradition and innovation, 25 Jan. 2013
By 
Dandy "Dandy" (Netherlands, Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heartwarming performance from a stellar cast. Grand stagings are followed by intimate scenes and vice versa. If you do not have time to fly to New York and watch it there, this is the best alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 27 Jun. 2013
By 
D. M. Jones (Malvern, Worcs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner: Der Ring des Nibelungen [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
I saw Der Ring des Nibelungen locally on the "Live From the Met" broadcasts at my local cinema and was bowled over by it. This DVD seems to be exactly what was broadcast and, as such, is a worthwhile reminder. The clever use of "the machine" to cover every situation was particularly impressive and provided excellent and believable backdrops for the first-rate cast. If you've never seen any of the Ring and need persuading, dip into the Ride of the Valkyries and you'll be converted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Met Opera's spectacular!, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw the entire Ring over two seasons of the Met Opera and just knew I had to own the DVDs so I could relive the magic moments. Superb performances by many of the great names in opera. It doesn't come better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new production in top quality amazing stage and singers, 17 Sept. 2012
By 
Nicolas Vazakas (Griechenland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This met production is a new way to present The Ring with high technologies is in mind of Richard Wagner the singers very good.
Something fresh and new for the spectator i
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Met |Ring, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just started to watch the Ring from the Met

the singing is great as is the quality of the recording

Very good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner: Der Ring des Nibelungen [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
greatest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wagner: Der Ring des Nibelungen [Blu-ray] [2012]
Wagner: Der Ring des Nibelungen [Blu-ray] [2012] by Bryn Terfel (Blu-ray - 2012)
£92.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews