Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon's USB 3.0 Cable: A Critical Review.
Amazon's USB 3.0 Cable: A Critical Review.

I have several usb 3.0 cables since I upgraded my phone to a Note 3.

Believe it or not, the Samsung OEM cable is one of the worst of the bunch.

Of the cables I have, the Amazon is a very, very good cable when considering build quality and price.

1. CTI (tie)
1. Cable Matters...
Published 1 month ago by Andre Lawrence

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It didn't work for me
I received this cable and plugged it into my USB 3.0 external HDD drive. Unfortunately, I couldn't get a good connection. The HDD (a Samsung D3) was supplied with a very short cable, and I was hoping this would be a direct replacement. While the Samsung cable securely snaps into place at the HDD end, this one loosely plugs into the port and falls out all too easily...
Published 3 months ago by Jon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It didn't work for me, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics USB Cable - 3.0 A Male to Micro B 1.8 m (Personal Computers)
I received this cable and plugged it into my USB 3.0 external HDD drive. Unfortunately, I couldn't get a good connection. The HDD (a Samsung D3) was supplied with a very short cable, and I was hoping this would be a direct replacement. While the Samsung cable securely snaps into place at the HDD end, this one loosely plugs into the port and falls out all too easily. The connector seems shorter than the one supplied with the Samsung. Worst of all I couldn't get the computer to detect the drive while using this wire. It seems nicely constructed, but part of the problem is definitely that it's a bit too thick and rigid, and it almost falls out of the port under it's own weight. I am a fan of Amazon Basics items in general, but either I received a defective one, or it needs a design revision. Amazon service was good though and issued a refund without argument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon's USB 3.0 Cable: A Critical Review., 3 Mar 2014
By 
Andre Lawrence (Miami, Florida) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics USB Cable - 3.0 A Male to Micro B 1.8 m (Personal Computers)
Amazon's USB 3.0 Cable: A Critical Review.

I have several usb 3.0 cables since I upgraded my phone to a Note 3.

Believe it or not, the Samsung OEM cable is one of the worst of the bunch.

Of the cables I have, the Amazon is a very, very good cable when considering build quality and price.

1. CTI (tie)
1. Cable Matters
3. Amazon Basics
4. Samsung OEM
5. Generic (bargain)

And, at the moment, the price of $5.49 is a very good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars USB 3.0 cable for WD Passport, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics USB Cable - 3.0 A Male to Micro B 1.8 m (Personal Computers)
I bought this so that I don't have to keep getting under the desk to disconnect the cable at work and home when I take the external HDD to and from the office. It works perfectly and is just the right length to have the disk at hand on the desktop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best for Samsung Note 3, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics USB Cable - 3.0 A Male to Micro B 1.8 m (Personal Computers)
The cable is THICK, very thick. The "micro type B" connector is bulky and after you plug it in the phone(note3) it feels like an improvisation, like is going to come out; the match between the cable's connector and phone's socket is not perfect, need to move the phone around so that the connection is made and the computer detects it. Also as the description says the cable is 1.8m. Normally it wouldnt be a problem, but this cable is soooooo thick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality cable at a low price, 11 Jun 2013
By 
P. Willis (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics USB Cable - 3.0 A Male to Micro B 1.8 m (Personal Computers)
I wasn't sure about this cable based on the 'basics' name but it's not a cheapo bit of rubbish, it is a thick well made quality bit of kit. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AmazonBasics USB Cable - 3.0 A Male to Micro B 1.8 m, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics USB Cable - 3.0 A Male to Micro B 1.8 m (Personal Computers)
I needed one of these cables for a portable hard drive I purchased, as the cable that came with it was too short to reach to my computer. Thankfully, this AmazonBasics cable solves that problem; and it's USB 3.0. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars USB 3 Cable, 22 Mar 2014
By 
D. Storm (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics USB Cable - 3.0 A Male to Micro B 1.8 m (Personal Computers)
Well made cable, thick wire, works as it should. Don't hesitate to buy this if you need a USB 3 cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars May not be suitable for tethered camera operation., 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics USB Cable - 3.0 A Male to Micro B 1.8 m (Personal Computers)
I bought this cable for operating my Nikon D800e in tethered mode from my computer. Sadly it does not reliably maintain connectivity. Some subsequent online searching has revealed that a higher quality product may be necessary for this usage, so my mistake. It is, however, perfectly suitable for use with my external disc drives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality cable, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cable seems chunkier than other cheaper cables. I'm using it to charge my Sony Xperia Z and have had no problems. I would buy this cable again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Basics premium, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
That looks like a contradiction, but that's what the specification printed on the cable reads. I don't really know what it means, but I can report that this looks like a quality item, much more substantial and a more useful length than the one included with my new drive. Amazon's "basics" range seems to be well made and good value; this is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa952d9fc)

This product

Only search this product's reviews